We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Capitol Diner

Capitol Diner
Ranked #11 of 541 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great classic 50's style diner - good food, quick service, it's what PA diners should be about. Good for all ages.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladykierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    223
    87
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our second time trying this diner during our trips to Harrisburg. There was a huge difference from our first visit. Our first try found the AC not working on a hot day and the service extremely slow. The food was excellent, but it was not a very good experience. This time the service was excellent, despite a packed restaurant, and swift and the food was delicious. The tremendous variety of menu options can please anyone. We were very pleased we tried the Capitol Diner again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank slick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

. . . and GREAT desserts! Its a classic event - a real diner. The omelets are excellent. I highly recommend the cheesecake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive, poor service, but great if you want diner food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Service is terrible 99% of the time and prices are pretty high for dinner. Breakfast always rocks. Lunch/dinner is hit or miss. Everything is either perfect or its totally messed up, but its the best diner food around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

To start with, this is the shiniest place you will ever eat at! Chrome and mirrors everywhere and it was so clean.
The menu is huge. They serve breakfast all day and have a senior menu. The first time we went I got the broasted chicken with tater tots. It was FANTASTIC! The chicken was crispy and the tots were cooked to perfection. We got some buffalo wings and they were crispy and delicious too. My friend got the Philly chicken sandwich and it was huge and delicious as well. My other friend ordered off the senior menu and got chicken and stuffing. It came with veggies and cranberry sauce. She loved it and said it tasted just like home cooking. For the 3 of us to eat dinner, including the appetizer, the bill came to $32.00 which is very reasonable.

The place was so good that we went back the next day for lunch. I got the fish platter with tots, my friend got the same chicken sandwich and my other friend got eggs and toast.

The location was perfect. We were camping for the night at the Harrisburg Campground.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Diner also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing