We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It IS Official!”

Official BBQ & Burgers
Ranked #27 of 541 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: We serve central PA's best BBQ specializing in Carolina style pulled pork, the juiciest sliced beef brisket and scratch-made sides.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It IS Official!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This place is "off the hook!" Best burger I've EVER had! Service was perfect. Explained menu options as I was a brand new customer. Food was SUPERB!!! Above and beyond is the best way to describe this place. Sits in a quiet area, ample parking. Perfect for a casual lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrandonM376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    32
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Has Potential”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night. They were out of French fries, Mac n cheese and sweet tea. They should be prepared for the business especially on a weekend. Pulled pork and hot dog were good. Ribs were smoky, but very tough and fatty. Wings were too spicy. Trash cans were overflowing with trash. The official BBQ sauce was good.

Helpful?
Thank jenba97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RexD717, Manager at Official BBQ & Burgers, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
I'm very sorry that you had a negative experience. The night you visited was the busiest night in the restaurants history and that is no excuse but we definitely were not prepared for the business we received that night. I hope you give us another chance and appreciate the constructive comments about the dishes. When you return, please identify yourself so we can make things right with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hard to find but well worth the search”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Not located on the way to anywhere, and in the middle of a suburban neighborhood sits the best Carolina-style Bar-b-que place in the Harrisburg area. Pulled pork and smoked brisket can't be beat and they have my favorite hamburgers (made with angus beef and brisket together). The fries are twice fried (just like 5 Guys), and the sides are also worth trying. The hands on owner is always there and does nearly all the cooking. Immaculately clean a comfortable place to eat (BYO) and great value. There is even ice cream for the kids (or in case you tried the hot sauce). Take out or eat in, either way you can't go wrong.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Carolina Style BBQ Up North”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I've been to this little (out of the way) restaurant several times and it never disappoints. The Carolina style pulled pork and brisket are top notch. Quite honestly, they can stand on their own without any sauces. Fries are tasty. Cornbread is terrific. I also like the gourmet sodas that they offer.

If you are in Harrisburg area and are craving BBQ, this is the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiterOfCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good sandwich”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Service very nice. Order at counter. Was not busy for late lunch. Food out in 8 minutes. Homemade Cole slaw excellent. Brisket sandwich good. Sandwich Bread rolls fresh daily from Philadelphia. Cornbread great flavor and nice muffinlike texture. Located out in the boonies. 1st time - I would go back.

Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Official BBQ & Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Official BBQ & Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing