We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great buffet.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jumbo Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jumbo Buffet
Ranked #330 of 535 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Central Mass
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great buffet.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

A really good Chinese buffet. Massive variety and one of the bigger buffets I have seen. Went on a Friday at 9:15 and the food quality and quantity was good. Let's face it, if your looking for true Chinese food and your at a big buffet place, your an idiot. Putting that aside, I found the food to be good quality and hot. Had some of the fruit and it was fine. Only ate some California rolls and the like from the sushi side. Why only 3 stars, it's a buffet not a food wonderland. But when your looking for good variety, especially in a group, here's the place to go

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PackaBagJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You Will Never Go Away Hungry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Jumbo's has a variety of food, smorgasbord. Can get fish prepared fresh. American foods along with Asian flair. They offer things like shark's meat, octopus, things I have never tasted nor care too but some people like trying new foods not normally offered most places. I have visited this Jumbo several times. Have had a birthday party there with friends and loved ones. I like it because it has enough variety that no-one should ever walk away hungry....and yet everyone can choose to eat what they like.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank daja2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where is the food inspector when you need one?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My family is a fan of Jumbo however not even the free meal is worth ever going back to this dump! The only reason I've dined here is because it is a favorite get together for our large family when we all gather and my in-laws pick up the bill. But last weekend was the final straw. I will no longer join them for dinners if they go here again. I had to ask 3 times before getting a glass of water. I realize English is not the first language for anyone working there, but not understanding water? Then there is the food. The meat at the hibachi station looked as if it had been sitting there at least a few hours. So that was out! The few crab legs I managed to grab after waiting for 10 minutes were gray...yuck! The worst though was the one thing I did enjoy was the egg rolls.. which they did not have!? What kind of chinese place doesn't have egg rolls?! Like I said...not even someone else footing the bill will get me through their doors again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kat1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The fries are delicious. chicken is great.he bath rooms are alway clean. The ice cram is the best!! The drink are good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, pa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cold- dried up and nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Sorry to say it but we go to the jumbo at least once a month sometimes twice.. despite all of the shutdowns due to roaches and rat feces in kitchen, we figure that it could be better since they are now allowed to be reopened.. although we hate it every time with go because we must stand at the crab legs for 20 + minutes to actually get a few and then after they come out they are water logged and cold and sometimes brown. eww... but we continue to try it over and over.. well tonight was the final straw.. we went at 5 pm after an exhausting day at work.. lets start with the crab legs.. gross because they sat there in water for over an hour.. then we waited 25 minutes for more.. same.. they were also cold and water logged.. ok so lets try normal food, the pizza.. behind health hazardous.. it was brown under the cheese, not burnt but gross because it most likely sat there for 5 hours cooking under the steam and hot light..... ok the lo mein.. , every make pasta and cooked it for an hour too long and it just tasted like mush in your mouth, ew and cold mush not to mention the hibachi buffet guy decided he would turn my food for a minute or two and gave me the plate back with the food still frozen together.. needless to say we left and we will never go back.. very disappointing!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleHeilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumbo Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Jumbo Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing