We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Labyrinth-like Entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Groveland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Another Labyrinth-like Entrance”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We do like our Hampton Inns because they are usually very close to the highway exit. This was the case with this Inn in North Harrisburg. We could see it off in the distance in the night sky, but getting to it was another story entirely. When we were following directions into a quiet residential neighborhood, we were sure we were lost and turned around. We drove straight at the hotel through a gas station parking lot, but that took us to a dead end at a field. I stopped at the gas station to ask directions. The clerk laughed and told us to go back through the residential road and go up hill and turn left. Sure enough, there was the HI, next to another hotel and an office park. That must have been one interesting zoning meeting to get all of that built up there! The hotel is VERY close to the highway. The on ramp almost touches one corner of the parking lot. The desk manager was happy to get us a room, one of the last remaining, and we went up to the 4th floor.We did have an odd numbered room and it was very loud. A few times during the night I thought a truck was coming into our room. I would definitely request an even numbered room if you want to sleep peacefully. The breakfast room is incredibly large and was fully stocked at 7 AM. The large group of guests all had plenty of room and food to choose from, and the cheerful staff kept everything stocked and cleaned. By 7:30 we were finding our way back to the highway, with the help of daylight and we were heading for home. This is a very good hotel that just needs better signage and some noise cancelling glass in the rooms. Have fun!

Room Tip: Get a room with an even number for less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Harrisburg North. We appreciate your comments as it offers us insight on the service and accommodations that we provide. Our location is conveniently located off of I-81 but you do travel through a residential neighborhood to get to our corporate/business park where we are located. We are glad that our staff kept the breakfast area stocked and clean with such a full house. We would welcome the opportunity for you to stay with us again when traveling through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    167
    52
    18
    11
See reviews for
237
166
30
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
richmond va
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Front desk very helpful and pleasant. Rooms new and bathrooms great. Our request for room next to elevator was provided.......did not experience any noise. Comfortable beds. It's newness was apparent. Great outlets for recharging the electronics. Easy free WiFi. The breakfast offered hot entrees, but the scrambled eggs left a little to be desired. We were given a sack of fresh fruit, muffins and water bottle when we checked out.

Room Tip: For travelers with handicaps, their handicap room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cracklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Harrisburg North. We value your feedback as it offers us insight on the service and accommodations that we provide. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our eggs. Our breakfast menu does rotate on a day to day basis. We would welcome the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

While I did not have a room facing the highway, I still thought the hotel was noisy. I could hear the person in the room next to me - talking on the phone, watching TV. Turning on the fan helped drown out the noise, but not completely.

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esg510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hotel is very nice with new furniture and amenities. Located immediately adjacent to I81 it was very noisy in the room facing the highway. Plenty of nearby restaurants. Free breakfast was good with several hot entre's offered .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Harrisburg North. We appreciate your comments as it offers us insight on the service and accommodations that we provide. We are sorry that you felt our hotel was noisy. We are located right off of Interstate 81 which makes us a convenient location. We hope to have the opportunity for you to stay with us again. A request can be made to be on the side of the hotel away from the highway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebersburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel was very clean and customer friendly/welcoming. Would definitely stay there again. I had requested the side of the hotel not facing the highway so it was quiet. Was not able to adjust heat higher but that was fine. Complimentary breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Harrisburg North. We appreciate your comments and certainly would welcome the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel open in June, 2013. It is clean, beautifully appointed with very comfortable beds and rooms. We asked for and were given a handicap room. The bathroom had all the necessary handicap amenities. The room smelled fresh and it was clean. Breakfast was the usual Hampton Inn hot breakfast which we enjoyed. The manageress came around and greated all the guests at breakfast. She asked how we enjoyed our stay and if we had any suggestions. More managers should meet and greet the guests. I would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay in the Harrisburgh/Hershey, PA area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 117gildas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Harrisburg North. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our Staff strives to offer a clean and comfortable product along with great service. We would welcome the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The staff and hotel were very nice, everything was very clean and staff was very helpful. Only problem was I personaly thought the mattress was too hard but that is a matter of opinion. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends and will stay here on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Harrisburg North. We appreciatey our comments and certainly would welcome the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
5.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Address: 30 Capital Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is brand new with 106 guestrooms and suites. A full hot breakfast is included with your stay. We offer a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and a suite shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing