We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
New Jersey
2 reviews
“Filthy”
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Our family paid a higher price to stay here only because of the convenience to Hershey Park. The lobby area is nice to come in to, however, our room was not. Although the bedding and towels were clean, the bathroom was not. The vent on the bathroom wall was filthy and coated with dust and dirt. There was toothpaste left on the wall and also on the bathtub. Carpet was not clean. Also, they promise a Suite Deal package which is to include a discount coupon for TGI Fridays. They had none and just said they were out of them, without offering to mail them or make other compensation. There are tables outside the entrance where you can sit and eat your breakfast, however, it is not swept or hosed down. It was dirty every day. We checked out after our Hersheypark visit and drove to Lancaster to spend our last day in Amish Country. We stayed at a Holiday Inn Express which was very clean, like night and day compared to the Country Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golf66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    197
    121
    78
    77
See reviews for
468
120
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
long island ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Probably the best looking place, with the worst service we've ever seen.They overbooked our room,had to wait over an hour to get in to a room.The room was noisy on the side we stayed,with the interstate facing our window with lots of big trucks wizzing by at all hours.The free breakfast was horrible,with watery cold eggs and no seating.The wafflehouse two blocks away was great! The indoor pool wasn't heated either.As for the overbooking, we never got an apology from the manager and when we went to talk to him about it, he had no idea and just gave us a lousy 20% off for the one night. Hershey was great, the weather was perfect, people from all over were very sweet, but stay away from that hotel.Looks are deceiving!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfamily516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I recently spent 3 nights at the hotel with my family, including 2 kids ages 10 and 8. I was most impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel. The carpets throughout the hotel were in good conditon and the furniture in the lobby area and in the room was in good shape. The hotel is located about 5 miles from Hershey park which made the trip to and from the park and hotel very brief. The hotel is located right off the highway and near a gas station, but I didn't hear any highway noise or noise from the gas station either. The free breakfast is great.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed here for two nights. The lobby was clean and the staff friendly. Our room, on the third floor, was clean and nice. However, the remote for the TV did not work and one phone was also out of order. Free internet was nice. I thought the free breakfast was great. My kids loved the waffles and sausages.

I think the hotel was in an OK location and was a pretty good deal for the money. Didn't use the pool nor the exercise room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIMom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The breakfast area is so small and overcrowded that we had to go out to breakfast.
We were told they had connecting rooms but upon check in were told that they had a very limited amount and they were booked.
The fire alarm went off at 3:30am. You wouldn't think to hold this against the hotel, but read on. Customers were left standing in the parking lot for over an hour. Fire engines never came and management never came out to tell customers what was going on. Customers started trickling back in to the building and management said that it was a system malfunction, that it has happened before, and that they do not know how to turn it off.

Management NEVER came out to tell customers what was happening. Not knowing whether there was an unsafe condition inside, customers were left to GO BACK IN to find out what was happening. We went to bed with fire strobes still flashing.

When management was asked why they did not come outside to update the customers for the entire hour, we were told "we did not get a chance to". Is this acceptable?

On the way back to the room we saw a roach scamper from the hallway to under another resident's door.

The indoor pool area is small and crowded. The towels at the pool area are the size of hand towels. The pool itself was clean and heated.

Other than the roach, the rooms and the hotel seemed pretty clean. Towels were changed out and beds were made up nicely. Air conditioner worked very well.

Location is off the beaten path but still convenient. Less than 10 minute drive from Hershey Park.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustaTesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Rooms were roomy and clean. Could not hear rooms beside us - big plus with small sleeping kids!! Free breakfast was more than anticipated!! Pull out couches were more like full size and extremely uncomfortable - suggest putting mattress on floor!! Nice size fridge. Would recommend and return. Straight shot to Hershey only 6 miles down the road!!! GREAT VALUE!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOMOFCRAZYKIDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We have stayed in this hotel for the past 5 years and I can honestly say that I would not stay at any other hotel.. The staff is very friendly and very helpful and the rooms are very cozy.. The breakfast is an A plus, they have alot of choices to choose from. I can't wait till next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrisburg
7.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Address: 8000 Jonestown Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112-9716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey) 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey) Hotel Harrisburg
Country Inn Harrisburg Ne
Harrisburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing