We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Ranked #33 of 543 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Whether with friends, family, or business acquaintances when you fondue together, you stay together. Come Savor Every Moment at The Melting Pot.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved it! Waitress spilled a glass of wine, knocked over an empty bottle of beer, but it might have been her first day or week or something & we're relaxed people so it was no big deal, she was really nice. I had the most amazing mixed drink, "love martini", I've ever tasted. The food was out of this world. Can't wait to go back, I could go and just have the cheese and be satisfied. Don't order a 4 course meal unless your starving because it is a LOT of food! Very romantic, gorgeous decorations, I saw a few pieces of art on the walls that I really wanted! But yes, definitely love this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjacquelinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    32
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing every, single time.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I love coming here for special occasions and we usually spend Valentine's Day here as well. They have special menus from time to time and we almost always choose one of those options for our meal. Go with the intention of spending money, as nothing here is cheap. Also make sure you have room in your stomach because we always feel as if we need to be rolled out to our car after our meal. Everything is outstanding, every time. The servers are also top notch and are also very knowledgable about the cooking methods and all the different techniques. Very good. You MUST go if you haven't already. I highly recommend making a reservation if you plan on going because walk-in availability is rare.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curlycueku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simply Fabulous”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went to the Melting Pot for dessert on our Anniversary. It was wonderful, as usual. Our server was very attentive and helpful. We chose two different kinds of chocolate fondues. The Flaming Turtle was great. Then we did the Original Milk Chocolate with Peanut Butter. Yummy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice for an occasional treat!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It is very expensive for what you receive. It's nice to try for a different experience. It's great for a date night. The sauces they serve taste really good. The drinks were awesome. The dinner for two did fill us and we couldn't finish dessert. The chocolate covered strawberries are delicious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big gimmick, total rip - off.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Over priced, marginal quality, barely enough food for two. $126.00 ???? Big bonus - you
get to cook your own food Huh ? Dessert was also a joke. I do not wish to sound like a grump, but
this was, without a doubt, the worst restaurant experience my Wife and I have ever had.....
The owner has to be laughing all the way to the bank while they serve product that is sub-par to any average restaurant.

Example - 4 small chicken chunks, 4 small pot stickers, 4 really small shrimp, 4 super - thin slices of steak, and 2 4 ounce lobster tails for (2) people ?? Really ?

Dessert - Super thin (1) slice of cheesecake, (2) small pieces of cake, (6) small slices of strawberries, and (2) small marshmallows. Huh ? Really ? $126.00 ? No drinks,
(1) iced tea, and (1) water.

Last but not least, you and your table mate have to agree on what you want to share, and what sauce you can prepare it in. Huh ?

We had high hopes that this would be a unique dining experience and it was ... IN A VERY BAD WAY. My Wife and I would NOT go back even if it was FREE.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing