We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay far far away!! Loud & like to charge even when they shouldn't!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Well first off we had kids and a ton of kids running up and down the hallways, yelling, screaming, banging on the walls from 7pm until the late late into the morning! Called the front desk and the boy sounded none quipped to handle the children. Called several times more to the front desk but really wasted my breath. Next morning I got a refund for my stay and went on my merry way. OHHHH BUT WAIT even though I paid advanced purchase for my room each day after I left I continued to get a charge of 96 dollars for the next 3 days!! I had to freeze my account and it took 1 week to get it fixed! The hotel claimed they weren't the ones doing it even though each day it said harrisburg pa comfortinn on my account. I would avoid this hotel like the plague it's not worth the overall headache.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelStayer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara K, General Manager at Comfort Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We appreciate your feedback. With our location close to Hershey Park, we do host several sports teams and other events throughout the summer. I am sorry for your experience. We were happy to refund the nonrefundable rate and apply extra points to your account. When you provide a credit card at check in for things such as incidentals, banks do authorize funds to be held. Hotels have no real control over what they hold, how much they hold or for how long they hold the funds. We can and did work with your bank to ensure that we were not holding any funds from your account. Again, I am truly sorry for your experience and that we could not satisfy you after taking all the steps that we did. I hope that you will still give the Choice Brand of hotels a try on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked 2 rooms for a weekend trip to Hershey, which is only about 10 mins away. We chose this hotel for location, price and reviews on Tripadvisor. We arrived a little over an hour before check in time and both rooms were not ready. At check in time 1 room was ready and had to wait another 45 mins for the 2nd. Both were good sized rooms with a fridge and microwave. Housekeeping should have delayed us another 15-20 mins to actually clean the rooms. Both had the floors filthy, garbage under one of the beds, microwaves disgustingly left with old food both inside and out. We bought clorox cleaning wipes and wiped down both rooms, leaving most of the used wipes black with dirt. The bedsheets were clean and fresh but the padding underneath was stained and dirty with hairs. Various pieces of food crumbs were found between the bed and nightstands. If the hotel was extremely busy, it is still no excuse for having dirty rooms, especiall by how long and how late it was it took to prepare them. We pay good money, we dont expect the taj mahal, but a clean room would be nice.
Breakfast selection was usual standard hotel fare, eating area way too small but the staff here were excellent to keep food stocked, the area clean and even offering us a tray to take food back to our room because all the tables were used up.
We did not use the pool area.
Front desk staff told us the hotel was booked up completely but funny how the parking lot was less then half full each night. The only time the front desk was helpful to us, we had an emergency and had to to get a hospital and gave us directions to 3 in the area.
If we come back to the area we will be looking for another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKS4242, General Manager at Comfort Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate the feedback. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Our front desk agent remembers giving you directions, and hopes that everything worked out for you and your family. Please call the hotel directly.

Barbara Kozak-Sellers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

While it was nice to stay a little apart from the central Hershey Park hub of activity, and it was convenient to stay on a road with a lot of commercial stores and shops (Giant grocery store, Starbucks, etc.), there were cons. It is very difficult to access this hotel because of the median. The U-turn from the opposite side of the road, and the merging traffic from the cross street make the access somewhat hazardous. The rooms are quite basic, and during peak summer days, the place is really packed (don't try to eat the free breakfast after early morning times).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKS4242, General Manager at Comfort Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate the feedback. We do have rooms are that a bit larger than the average hotel room, which is always a plus when traveling with a family which is why we are such a popular hotel with families visiting Hershey Park and you are correct the breakfast area does get a bit busy at times, but we are committed to making sure that everyone leaves with a hot breakfast. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Barbara Kozak-Sellers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here as a part of a group event that was booked at this location because of the reasonable value for the area. The room was very spacious and clean, including a microwave and fridge.
I found the bed a bit hard for my preference,but those who prefer firm mattresses will sleep well. The air conditioning system was noisy, so turning it off ensured a restful sleep. Since we stayed during a holiday week, the breakfast room was likely more crowded than at other times. The breakfast itself was adequate, and well stocked. This property looked to be popular with families and has an outdoor pool. Other amenities included free WiFi and computer available in public area.
Very convenient to Hershey Park and other area attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickie-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel June 22-24,2013. When I first walked in the hotel it looked a little outdated. Once we were in our room, it was very spacious and overlooked the pool. The location was located within minutes of restaurants and Hershey Park. The breakfast was OK. The thing I like best about the hotel and what would bring me back is on our last night, we received a phone call from the front desk, letting us know that we had left our inside car light on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKS4242, Manager at Comfort Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate the feedback. We do have rooms are that a bit larger than the average hotel room, which is always a plus when traveling with a family. We completely renovated the entire building a little over 2 years ago including all the rooms. We are happy that you found our location convenient; it is sometimes hard to describe just how close we are to everything. This review has been printed out and shared with the desk associates who you found so helpful. Amazing service is something we strive for with each and every guest who walks through our door. We look forward to seeing you again next tournament.

Barbara Kozak-Sellers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The pool was great. Breakfast was over crowded without enough room and food choices were bla. Thankfully theres a mcdonalds a few buildings down. Location and staff were very nice. Also loud noise traveling through vents.
It was a place to stay near Hershey.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slapshot33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKS4242, Manager at Comfort Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate it. We are happy you were able to enjoy our pool. It is quite a large pool for a hotel, and we are quite proud of it. Unfortunately with the summer season and our location so close to Hershey Park our breakfast area can be crowded at times, but we try to make sure that everyone leaves with a hot breakfast in them. We will be sure to pass your thoughts on the breakfast choices to the compliance folks with Choice hotels as they are the ones who decide on what we can serve. I do have to say that our two flavors of waffles are generally a hit. If you are ever in the area, we hope you consider choosing us again.

Sincerely,
Barbara Kozak-Sellers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were driving from Indianapolis to the east and stayed in this hotel for one night. We didnt make any reservation, so we just drove to the hotel. Found this hotel from Tripadvisor and thought it would be good stay, and it was! Woman in the reception was nice and luckily there was vacant room for us. Room was big and there was 2 big beds. Room was clean and perfect for one night stay. Hotel was quite quiet and in a good spot, it was easy to continue driving to the east.
Breakfast was okay, nothing special, but okay. Loved pancakes!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiera-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Comfort Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you found our front desk welcoming and our rooms large and comfortable. We take pride in our wonderful front desk staff and our newly renovated guest rooms. If you should ever find yourself traveling through the area again, we hope you will keep us in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#30 of 51 in Harrisburg
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#18 of 51 in Harrisburg
322 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 51 in Harrisburg
239 reviews
5.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Harrisburg

Address: 5680 Allentown Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17112-4040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: $61 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Harrisburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Harrisburg. Our charming hotel is situated in a convenient location between Hersheypark and the Pennsylvania State Capitol and easily accessible via I-81 and I-83. Travelers can choose their own adventure at many nearby attractions, whether it's exploring the simple life of the Amish in Lancaster County, getting behind the wheel at the Carlisle car shows or enjoying "The Sweetest Place on Earth." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing