We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, informal atmosphere”
Review of Arepa City - CLOSED

Arepa City
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Venezuelan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, informal atmosphere”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Arepa City is a wonderful break from the standard bar fare usually found in the area of the Pennsylvania State Capitol. The understated exterior and informal ambiance of the small interior gives a comfortable feel where you feel as though you can really "get into" the food. The Arepas are great and if you have never had one they are a must try, but I am a real fan of the entrees.The pork shoulder is superb perfectly seasoned and the spicy cabbage is extremely addictive. If you love good food, need a change in cuisine, and are looking for a place that is casual and doesn't "put on airs", then this place is recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wardell_ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great. Just Great.”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

First off, anything BYOB is an automatic plus in my book. What's more, Arepa city is well-located on 2nd street downtown, and the arepas are fantastic.
Arepas are a Colombian-Venezuelan sandwich, where the buns are made of pressed corn (think a slightly less sweet, and more dense, cornbread) and grilled, and the inside filling is made of magic (seriously, thought, they have great choices for ingredients).
For an authentic arepa, I recommend the Pabellón, or any of the ones that have the little flag next to them on the menu.
This place is open until 3 am on the weekends, and features kebabs on the street for drunk revelers. However, beware of the sketchy, drunk crowd that will pass around 2:30 am on Fridays and Saturdays. My friends and I were enjoying some beers (purchased at the MicroPub nearby) and arepas at a table outside, when a fight broke out nearby, and a girl (woman?) grabbed one of our beer bottles suddenly and smacked someone over the head with it. We were sprayed by pepper spray from a cop breaking up the fight as well. Well, it's a good story at least.
Also a prime location to watch people who don't speak Spanish pretend to be Latino.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank circustiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good & gluten free”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I never had arepas before, but they were delicious. I ordered the 3 for $12 special & could only eat 2, so I took the other home. The pork shoulder was so tender. At 4:15 on Fri., I was the only one there. About 1 block from the capital.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindym123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Latin American Cuisine!!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I absolutely love this place!!! If you aren't familiar with arepas or South American/Venezuelan cuisine - just ask the staff. The appetizers are important to sample several.

Best of all, it's BYOB and the prices are very reasonable.

Go here and enjoy a different experience!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank EdgeStrategic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unique and so good”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had never had arepas before, but I suspect this place does them right because they were delicious! We brought in our own beer and enjoyed the menu full of new and interesting foods.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arepa City also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing