We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My family and I recently stayed 3 nights while visiting the Hershey area. The hotel was new and seemed to be furnished by Ikea. The rooms were small, the only thing making them a suite was a small desk between the sofa bed and the king bed. There was only a stand up shower and no tub. The breakfast was disgusting. The eggs were cold and there were no attendants replacing items or cleaning. There was cereal all over the counter and floor. I went to the coffee 4 times and found it empty. After the first day we went elsewhere for breakfast. The rooms did have a microwave and refrigerator which was nice. I would stay here again if the options were limited, but wouldn't seek it out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey. We are apologize for the challenges with breakfast. That is certainly not the norm for our facility. We hope to have the opportunity for you and your family to return so that you can experience what we really are about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    141
    52
    18
    14
See reviews for
180
75
15
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean, staff was helpful, location was central.

On the negative side- bathrooms offer little privacy and the breakfast buffet was crowded with little room to sit. On the positive side- I asked for extra towels and got an armful. Rooms were quiet and it was easy to locate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjaV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the SpringHIll Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey. We appreciate your comments. Our bathrooms do have a unique type of setup with the frosted glass doors. We hope to have the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a typical newer Springhill Suites hotel. It was very convenient for our particular needs, so we hoped it would be someplace we would want to come back to often.

Staff - front desk, cleaning, breakfast, everyone we came in touch with - was warm and welcoming. On paper, everything was what I expected:
1. Very usable exercise room
2. Plenty of convenient parking
3. A not horrible walk to a convenience store and Arby's and a mile or so drive to a mall with more restaurants.
4. Wireless Internet worked with a minimum of problems - except Hulu reported that it detected an anonymizing proxy server and wouldn't let me watch programs.
5. The bed was very comfortable.
6. Although off the main drag, good signage leading you there.

But there are "suites" and there are "suites". You can't close the door to the living area here and keep light and sound out of the bedroom area. The sliding doors to the separate toilet and shower areas (the division is an interesting concept) let light through (and ours opened by themselves at inopportune times). The fridge, unlike the Tardis, was much smaller on the inside than the outside, and couldn't hold some of the things we hoped to put in it. The shower door leaked no matter how carefully you closed it. I see from other reviews here and on other sites that this was not an unusual situation.

The complimentary breakfast had numerous options (dry cereal, hot cereal, make your own waffles, hot food, pastries, fruit, yogurt), but scrambled eggs and sausage patties every day for the primary hot meal. The crowd at 7:30 was somewhat manageable; later on, people were waiting in rows of 6 to get to each of the serving stations. (I've never seen anything like it) And what was well stocked over the weekend was sparse on Monday - no yogurt, limited fresh fruit.

For a single, early riser, you could do much worse. For people sharing a room, read the other reviews and make a decision.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XBRL_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the SpringHIll Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey. We appreciate your comments and will certainly keep them in mind when we are going are talking with Marriott and getting ready for a renovation. We would welcome the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Really enjoyed this family-friendly hotel on our recent trip to Gettysburg and Hershey Park. Extremely well-designed rooms that comfortably fit our family of five (2 queen beds and the most comfortable sofa-bed on which my 9-year old son claims to have slept!) - this included a separate small room for the toilet and a spacious bathroom. [HInt: ask for extra shampoo and lotion if you have a larger family.] Good choice of television channels as well.

Pool and exercise room about what you would expect, so perfectly adequate for your short-term needs.

The only disappointment (and the one real reason for the 4-rating vs. a 5) is the breakfast. Eggs were not that good and the hard-boiled eggs (our preference) were not replenished after they were all taken. Very carbohydrate-focused, so prepare accordingly.

Price we paid was excellent on Thursday night, but jumped considerably on Friday night, so plan ahead.

Cheerful service, who were only too happy to accommodate your needs to the best of their ability - always greeting you in the hallway and elevator, etc. Their attentive help to get me to a Starbucks certainly helped my morning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey. We appreciate your comments on our facility. Our hotel is centrally located to both Hershey and Gettysburg with easy on and off access to I-81. We hope to have the opportunity for you and your family to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went in mid-July for a family trip to Hershey Park. The hotel itself was very nice - modern lobby, accommodating front desk, good size room. I liked the extra shower heads, made it seem more upscale. However, the noise from the nearby highway made sleeping very difficult for my family. We turned up the A/C to try to drown it out, to little avail. It's about 15-20 minutes to Hershey Park, easy drive. Not much in the immediate area. Free breakfast is a perk although I'd stick to the bread and fruit items (eggs were very watery).

Room Tip: We were in room 305 - lots of highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessF26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey. We are sorry that you did not get a good night sleep. Our hotel is close to Interstate 81 offering a convenient location with easy on and off access. For individuals that are light sleepers, we certainly can put in a request to be away from the highway. We hope to have the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

One of the not so good Marriott properties which was disappointing. As soon a I walked into the lobby and saw the front desk staff folding towels at the front desk, I knew I had made a mistake. The entire hotel looked as if it needed a good vacuuming and cleaning. Our room had balls of hair all over the carpet. The doors were smeared with something all over - not sure what that was (see pics). The breakfast buffet was a joke and the lady who was responsible for keeping it up was doing a poor job with an even poorer attitude. The place was overrun with small children. Would not stay here again - ever. This hotel need to step up its service to be more in line with what most people expect from a Marriott property. Truly sorry that I wasted my points and actually paid $125 to purchase more points for two rooms for one night here. In my opinion $125 would have been too much. Just being honest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WKMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the SpringHIll Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. Our hotel is located less than 20 minutes from Hersheypark and during the summer, there are many families that are also staying with us. Once our breakfast is concluded each morning, we have our staff go through and clean the lobby immediately. At that time, we may also have our front desk assisting with folding towels. This is completed well before our check-in time of 3pm. If you may have had a early arrival, this would have been why it was not completed. We will certainly address the service side of your comments for our Staff strives to offer excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean and big room, relatively new. Nice complimentary breakfast, with a nice variety. A very nice place to stay although the the area around is kind of ugly....we were on our way to Pittsburg and it served the purpose perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhashmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the SpringHIll Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey. We appreciate the comments and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#14 of 50 in Harrisburg
420 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
8.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey

Property: SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 15 Capital Dr, at I-81 Progress Avenue Exit 69, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing