We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so dog friendly/ tiny pillows”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Littleton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not so dog friendly/ tiny pillows”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We selected this hotel as it was listed as pet friendly. They allow you to bring your pet into the hotel, but don't leave them to go eat. Our kids were staying across the street at a suite hotel with the grandkids. We could not go over for more that a few minutes as every time we went over we felt like we neede to sneak out the back as the man at the counter reminded us not to leave our pet unattended. Fortunately Hershey Park has pet accomadations which are great.

We had asked to not be put near the exit door as our dog will run to our room door every time someone goes in and out of the hotel.
The clerk said that was all that we could have with a pet and yet there were other pet owners who checked in later than us and they were placed away from the exit. Needless to say our dog was up and down all night.

The beds had 4 tiny soft pillows on them which went flat as a pancake when you lay on them. A small bar of soap and lukewarm coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
35
16
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This motel was definately cheap and easy to get to, and I loved that I got to pull up right in front of the room, and the hi-speed internet, but that is where it ends. It was so NOT CLEAN that I couldn't sleep in the bed. I was nervous about what may be lurking. The staff was friendly enough.

Room Tip: Any room is good enough if you don't mind the dirtyness. This motel has many rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The price was okay considering the holiday! The overnight staff was not very friendly. The room was motel status, my first time at a motel and last. There was a bug in the bathroom, the bathroom I, the amenities were very cheap and bare, the beds were uncomfortable, the micro/frig were needed, the iron was questionable, floors well keep your shoes on, the entire 1st floor smelled like Indian food. never went to the basement????.......breakfast.....?????didn't see nothing but a coffee maker. The best was the morning staff (young gentlemen) was very nice and attentive. Not far from Hershey Park attractions. $61 for the night

Room Tip: Higher floors for thin ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LILLIAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in town to visit bass pro shop. Hotel is plain, basic, but clean which is my biggest must. Hotel advertised breakfast, but they do not actually serve it. That was my only complaint.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Staff was very friendly. Pool room had the heaters on during a 90+ day, felt like a sauna. Couldnt connect to the wifi, ended up with a cold shower, and parking is nonexistent when the hotel is full. Other than all that, everything was ok. About expected for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the hotel side facing away from the truck stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weezulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteson, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

First night 3/29; $41.39 (TH) + $44.99 (FR, SA) = $131.37, plus 11% tax; Micro-fridge, Free WIFI though I didn't try it. Parking lot didn't have enough spaces if all rooms were booked, but there were empty spaces when I was there. I've had good luck with Motel 6 and this one was clean, spacious, and new. Didn't like the higher weekend rate but it wasn't a killer increase. It was an easy 3.34 miles drive on interstate to Keystone Conference at Sheraton Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, so I definitely saved money not staying at Sheraton.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank linda1lee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

In general this is a nice, clean new hotel. Unfortunately (for me), my non-smoking room smelled like a smoker had lived there for about a month. Since I checked in so late at night, I didn't bother switching rooms as I just wanted to turn down for the night. Otherwise it seems like a nice hotel. Reception was cordial as well.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Themilkmaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
#36 of 50 in Harrisburg
270 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
#32 of 50 in Harrisburg
91 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#28 of 50 in Harrisburg
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1006 Briarsdale Rd, Union Deposit Road Off I-83, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5901 (Formerly Motel 6 Harrisburg/Hershey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a brand new property centrally located between Harrisburg and Hershey. All of our rooms have free WIFI and micro-fridges. Fitness center and meeting rooms are available. Free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing