We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a wedding!”

Pennsylvania State Capitol
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Teddy Roosevelt declared that this Italian Renaissance-style building was “the handsomest building I ever saw”. Indeed, the State Capitol, with its vaulted dome and grand staircase and the murals and painted floors inside, is thing to behold.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for a wedding!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were here for a wedding and it was amazing! From the decor to the ambiance, this was the most perfect location for an air force officer and his bride to be married!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    133
    29
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and Efficient Tour”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We took the 30 min tour of the Capitol building, and it was a great brief overview--not too long for my two young children. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, and shared a wealth of info in a short time. The building is gorgeous and well kept up. Worth a stop if you are in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ErinRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is the first capitol building we've visited and we understand it is the most impressive from others who have seen many. It was amazing in its decor. Very ornate. Be sure to take the free tour; it was informative and we had questions that the guide was able to answer.

Tip - there was plenty of street parking in front of the building at meters. Bring quarters.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank longandshortofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
197 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful Capitol Buildings in the country”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were absolutely shocked by the beauty of the sate capitol. We had a tour and the docent was very knowledgeable. We are able to see the senate, house and state supreme court chambers. Most impressive was the artwork throughout the entire building. This one rivals out nations capitol.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FenwickBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You might feel you have been here before”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Government building with dome. Pennsylvania people,but usual capitol format. Can be interested if government is in session. You might see a national political figure or news event.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KDW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennsylvania State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Pennsylvania State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing