We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour...signage bad!”

Pennsylvania State Capitol
Ranked #2 of 53 things to do in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Teddy Roosevelt declared that this Italian Renaissance-style building was “the handsomest building I ever saw”. Indeed, the State Capitol, with its vaulted dome and grand staircase and the murals and painted floors inside, is thing to behold.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great tour...signage bad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

You need to figure out for yourself where to go to get in. They do not make it easy for you. They will say "go to the back" and you have no idea which is the front or back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdeanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    129
    28
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
614 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“The molst beautiful state capital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I travel a lot. We always make it a point to go to the state capitals. Hands down this is the most beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
164 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I took a short tour of the Capital and it was great. I've visited maybe a couple dozen capitals and the PA capital is simply outstanding!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It was fascinating.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went there on a weekend,so did not see everything i would have liked.But,The things i did see were VERY neat indeed!! Do check it out....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Underway1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Truly a wonderful piece of Pennsylvania History. The building itself is gorgeous and ornate and I felt comfortable walking around on my own. I narrowly missed the tour time but still enjoyed my self guided visit. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natnik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennsylvania State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Pennsylvania State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing