We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful building anywhere!!!”

Pennsylvania State Capitol
Ranked #2 of 53 things to do in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Teddy Roosevelt declared that this Italian Renaissance-style building was “the handsomest building I ever saw”. Indeed, the State Capitol, with its vaulted dome and grand staircase and the murals and painted floors inside, is thing to behold.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Most beautiful building anywhere!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This tour is FREE. Take it.

The Capitol is one of the most beautiful in the USA, and I've seen many. Actually, it's a beautiful building even if you don't have a special thing for Capitols! The entry area is grand, but again, be sure to take the tour because they let you in to rooms that actually made me gasp (dramatic, but I'm not kidding!) Our tour guide was not that great (couldn't understand her, overly dramatic, just reciting the same-ol, is it time for me to be done yet, hurry hurry hurry move on!) but I still give it a 5 because it was free and magnificent.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    129
    28
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Beautiful State Capitol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

If you've been following municipal bond news lately you know that the city government of Harrisburg is in trouble. The city of Harrisburg is drowning in a mountain of debt amid legal wrangling over whether the city can declare bankruptcy or not. Regardless of the outcome, the one shining jewel that Harrisburg has is the State Capitol complex. The State Capitol building is an official US National Historic Landmark. I used to work in the Keystone building just to the North of the complex and every nice day during the warmer months I would take my lunch out to the rear of the capitol building and eat in view of the fountain. I also took a walk around the capitol building every afternoon to get some fresh air. It's a really beautiful piece of architecture and a great place to visit if you are in the Harrisburg area.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatShawGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“nice place to visit...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

we walked around strawberry mall and the park and it was nice and clean. lots of people in a hurry though. the hot dog venders were cool.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
347 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“skip it, look at pics online”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Save the effort of going and look at the pics online.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BandwagonPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Capitol is definitely worth a look, both inside and out, the grounds and the facade are lovely and welcoming, and the inside of the building is awesome with its dome, staircase, artwork and architecture.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennsylvania State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Pennsylvania State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing