We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Western near Hershey Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
1 review
“Best Western near Hershey Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just a few miles from Hershey Park. Easy to get back and forth to the park. Very clean and comfortable accomodations. Staff was friendly and courteous. THe continental breakfast had a nice variety of breakfast items and were available past 9 a.m. until the guests were finished.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 0janets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear miss Janet Dear thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717 652 0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    92
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
153
68
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My in-laws booked a bank of rooms for us for a short family vacation, so I knew that it would not be the type of hotel that I would normally book for myself. This hotel was necessary because Hershey was booked solid because of a very popular concert. This hotel was not up to my usual standards, but I wanted to note some conveniences: they try VERY hard to get you into your room as early as you need. I was extremely surprised when they had a clean room ready for us at 10:30 AM. In all my years of travel in 4 and 5 star hotels, this is the earliest I have ever got into a room. The flat-panel TV, large mini-fridge, in-room microwave, and proximity to Hershey Park were a plus. That's about all I can say positive about this hotel, and I really wanted to say more, as the management seems very nice. However, the pool is tiny, and the cleanliness is not not up to my standards. The drawback to rooms being ready early is that the maids run vacuum cleaners in the halls at 9AM! Speaking of noise, the A/C is pretty loud, but at times you would probably rather hear that than other loud guests. Yes, this is a family hotel, with typically loud families. Not a place for romance. Case in point, our sleep was interrupted by a fire alarm that was pulled at 1AM by a child in the hallway. I realized that is not the management's fault. However, be forewarned that this hotel is frequented by families that would let their children wander the halls unsupervised at 1AM.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Paul,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 7176520101.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Sincerely,
Sean
39129 Property
Front office manager
BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horn Lake, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Comfortable Beds, Good Breakfast. The only issue is the guard rail in the middle of the street which makes it inconvenient because you can only exit to the right and you have to go left to get back to the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Mr james thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717 652 0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed two nights and had two rooms. Both rooms had stuff on floor left from other people. We lost power for four hours and had no lights, a/c or anything. Breakfast area was right outside of pool area and smelled like chlorine and was so small you couldn't eat there. Elevators were not working. Pick anywhere but here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Mr Gary thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Our hotel is one of the cleanest and the best in the area but unfortunately it was one of those nights when things went wrong first electricity and then elevator electricity problem was caused by the tornado and elevator was shut off by the fire Marshall. I can assure you that you would have an excellent stay if you considered staying with us again. I apologize again and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717-652-0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our extended family -- 3 generations, grandparents (us), adult children, spouses and grandchildren stayed at the this property on July 3, 2014 for a family trip to Hershey Park. We emailed the General Manager the letter below on July 6 (we are not providing the photos we sent with the original letter). After no response, on July 8, we contacted Best Western corporate who opened a complaint folder, upgraded our Best Western status to Gold Elite and gave us 5000 points. We still have not heard from the General Manager.

Unlike the other posters who commented on the low cost of the property,, as this was a holiday weekend, we paid about $145 per room.


"This is in reference to our family’s stay at your hotel on July 3, 2014. We had rooms 114, 116, 118. Housekeeping and general maintenance were dismal and unacceptable. Room 116 had a t-shirt in a drawer and a feminine hygiene panty pad in another drawer and filthy carpets. Doesn’t housekeeping check the drawers before the rooms are rented to new guests? Frankly, it was disgusting. The long mirror in room 118 was coming out of the wall. My daughter placed in behind the dresser so her young daughters didn’t topple it onto themselves. The hardware on one of the dressers was broken. And the carpets were filthy. (attached are photos of these problems)

We rented 3 rooms for a short 3 generation family vacation to Hershey Park. I expected a clean room without other people’s objects in the dresser and working furniture. I expected better from a Best Western. While it did not ruin our vacation, your hotel detracted from our enjoyment. Our grandson summed it up best when he said, “This was not the best Western.” We expected more from your facility because we researched area hotels on Trip Advisor and you had acceptable reviews.

As your hotel fell far below meeting our minimum expectations for a hotel property, I would request that you refund what we paid for rooms 116 and 118. (There was nothing remarkable about Room 114 so we are not asking for anything for that room.)

We raised these concerns at checkout and the front desk employee gave us your card, but did not offer any apology for our problematic stay."

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aslaw516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear guest ,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7176520101.
Sincerely,
Anil
39129 Property
GM
BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

You will save about one hundered dollars a night rather than staying at another like quality hotel at Hershey Park. This hotel is only five miles from Hershey Park - very clean, good parking, helpful staff, and breakfast was great. Large King beds in the rooms. Great little pool and work out area. Truly value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear, Miss Diane thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717 652 0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in late June for a trip to Hershey Park. Location is pretty good as it is only about a 10 minute drive using backroads to the Park. The price was about the average for other properties at the same distance, we paid about $140 a night with taxes. There isn't much to do or eat in the vicinity of the hotel, but that was okay for us as we spent most of our time at the park. The room itself was clean (aside from the solied rag we found as we walked in on the ottoman, I really hope it was a cleaning rag). As other reviewers have stated though, the walls seem to be paper thin, you will hear everything going on around you, that was a little rough. There also was an unidentified light buzzing noise in the room all night, which was annoying, but not overbearing. The free breakfast was nothing great, not much of a selection, and they seemed a little slow to restock items. Also the breakfast eating area is tiny, so plan on eating in your room. The staff seemed friendly and willing to help, so no complaints about them. Overall, I doubt I'd stay here on my next trip to Hershey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvingardens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear scice thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. On busy days sometimes because of kids it gets noisy but our team constantly tries to keep everything in order. I apologize again for inconvenience and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717-652-0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrisburg
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#18 of 24 in Hershey
3.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
6.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel
Address: 7500 Allentown Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17112-4233 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrisburg, PA, hotel sits just off Interstate 81 at Exit 77. Newly decorated and renovated hotel,everything has been upgraded, new lobby and furniture, more space for breakfast, new business center, new carpet in rooms and hallways, new amenities in rooms , new flat screen TV's, coffee machines, iron and ironing boards and new mattresses, upgraded fitness center and bathrooms as well.We provide handy amenities like a microwave, refrigerator and heated indoor swimming pool.Close to Hershey Park, Hollywood Casino, Pennsylvania State capital Building Skyline Diner, and Aroogas sports bar Add value to your adventures at our Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey Park hotel. Work easily with free Wi-Fi from your room or in our business center.Our hotel in Harrisburg, PA, is minutes from several popular attractions like Hershey’s Chocolate World, Hershey park,Hershey Giant center, Hershey outlets, farm show complex,civil-war museum, Indian echo caverns, close to restaurants, shopping stores and malls,40 minutes to Gettysburg Amish county Lancaster and outlets. Enjoy your free Super Start continental breakfast before heading off on your Pennsylvania adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey Nw Hotel Harrisburg
Super Eight Harrisburg
Harrisburg Super 8
Harrisburg Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing