We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

While a located a couple of miles from the interstate, this hotel was worth the time to get to.

We found this hotel in a coupon booklet, and the nightly price listed was $69 for the night. The coupon also listed that the hotel had been newly renovated. Given our recent travel experience at another hotel, we were a bit gun-shy but decided to give it a try.

Walking into the lobby, we were greeted by a friendly young man and clean and newly appointed surroundings. When asked to see the two rooms that were available to us, our request was happily fulfilled.

The rooms are, in fact, newly renovated. The bathroom sink has slow draining, and there wasn't much for counter space; the toilet paper holder dusty. The bed was comfortable and clean, the carpet new, and the AC worked.

With the entrance of the exercise room immediately off of the pool, the area was very warm and the water cooler was empty. The equipment, older, needed minor servicing, but worked. Towels and antibacterial wipes were readily available to guests.

The breakfast area is small and intimate. The waffle maker worked, scrambled eggs made available, and other dry breakfast items and yogurt ready for the taking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear, Miss Sally, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Please call us at hotel front desk for any questions our front desk reach is 717-652-0101.
Front desk manager
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    98
    55
    19
    13
See reviews for
163
76
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
auburn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel was very friendly. The hotel was very nice and very clean and it was close to places we wanted to go without having to pay an arm and a leg. I would stay again. The kids enjoyed the pool. This is a great place to stay with your family. If your looking for a place to stay as a couple with romance, this isn't it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear, Miss crystal thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Please call us at hotel front desk for any questions our front desk reach is 717-652-0101.
Front desk manager
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Stay was OK. Not worth the $$. Newer decor was nice. Breakfast was a disaster. Total chaos. Not enough seating, no high chair for infant, food all over the counters, floors and tables. It didn't appear that there was an attendant anywhere near the breakfast area. Disappointed there was no hot tub in the pool area. Heated pool felt very chilly. Pool bathroom already gross at 10am. Clogged sink drain smelled of sewage. Room itself was clean. Not much soundproofing... Could hear people walking above us and coughing/talking in adjoining room. Narrow parking spaces.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wifemamanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear wifemamanurse thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Our hotel's breakfast area has enough seats according to best western requirements and we do have breakfast attendants. On busy days sometimes because of kids it gets noisy and certain common area can get rough but our team constantly tries to keep everything in order. I apologize again and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717-652-0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Every year a group I belong to holds it conference here. It is in a very nice location. The pool is the biggest attraction, winding and large with a Jacuzzi above that has a waterfall below. It was nice they allowed us to watch the basketball game from the pool! The room was very comfortable with fridge and microwave, which I always use. The large-screen TV was also nice but they should get HD channels. The hotel is spread-out, so parking and getting from your room to the conference rooms is a bit of a walk. I asked for an hour extra for check out. Whenever I need this and ask, at almost all hotels, they give me no problem. But here, they said only 1/2 hour extra and were not very friendly at check-out. Overall, though, a very nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear, Mr Michael thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Please call us at hotel front desk for any questions our front desk reach is 717-652-0101.
Front desk manager
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Clean hotel; close to my destination. Would look for a cheaper room next time I am in the area. After researching while staying over the weekend, I found hotels in the area offering the same service at a much lower nightly rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear, Miss Melissa thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Please call us at hotel front desk for any questions our front desk reach is 717-652-0101.
Front desk manager
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I would not choose this hotel ever again it is not convenient to anything but Hershey park. Food was ok but not great, not enough seats in eating area for everyone. Things were just to close together keep bumping into other people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Judy thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Our hotel's breakfast area has enough seats according to best western requirements.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717-652-0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Quite hotel that is close to Hershey park. Nice heated pool with sitting area. Enjoyed the pool several nights after the park. Free breakfast every morning to get your day started. Shopping and food within a short drive of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferl248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear, Miss Jennifer thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Please call us at hotel front desk for any questions our front desk reach is 717-652-0101.
Front desk manager
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#28 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel
Address: 7500 Allentown Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17112-4233 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrisburg, PA, hotel sits just off Interstate 81 at Exit 77. Newly decorated and renovated hotel,everything has been upgraded, new lobby and furniture, more space for breakfast, new business center, new carpet in rooms and hallways, new amenities in rooms , new flat screen TV's, coffee machines, iron and ironing boards and new mattresses, upgraded fitness center and bathrooms as well.We provide handy amenities like a microwave, refrigerator and heated indoor swimming pool.Close to Hershey Park, Hollywood Casino, Pennsylvania State capital Building Skyline Diner, and Aroogas sports bar Add value to your adventures at our Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey Park hotel. Work easily with free Wi-Fi from your room or in our business center.Our hotel in Harrisburg, PA, is minutes from several popular attractions like Hershey’s Chocolate World, Hershey park,Hershey Giant center, Hershey outlets, farm show complex,civil-war museum, Indian echo caverns, close to restaurants, shopping stores and malls,40 minutes to Gettysburg Amish county Lancaster and outlets. Enjoy your free Super Start continental breakfast before heading off on your Pennsylvania adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Harrisburg Hershey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey Nw Hotel Harrisburg
Super Eight Harrisburg
Harrisburg Super Eight
Harrisburg Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing