We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had fun at the Inn of the Dove”
Review of Inn of the Dove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn of the Dove
Ranked #3 of 7 Harrisburg B&B and Inns
Chambersburg, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had fun at the Inn of the Dove”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I had heard bad reviews (and read some!) prior to arriving (but after reserving), so I was pretty worried. Seeing a sign out front that said "luxury motel" was, well, different. There were some weird things, like having to check out your TV remote when you get your key and return them together when you left. The room was somewhat cheesy/dated. There was some wear and tear in the room as well. It wasn't a five star place, for sure.

Now, with that being said, let me say that we had a FABULOUS weekend here. While there was no room service, food delivery was fast and cheap (and great). Your "rooms" are kind of in their own little buildings, and your door exits to the outside. Because of this, food delivery came right to your door and you could get it there. That was even better than room service since there was no room service price.

The staff here was incredibly helpful and friendly. The wifi was free. There were even three channels (free) of "adult entertainment." The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was large and a great deal of fun. The shower room was amazing. I say room, because it looks like something you would find in a gym, with two shower heads and a sitting area against a whole wall. It was great. You could have two shower heads coming from opposite walls, hitting opposite sides of your body at the same time. Fabulous.

My husband and I spent the whole weekend in the suite for some grown-up alone time. We ordered delivery for all our meals. The room had a refrigerator, which was also nice. There was a table with chairs for two.

If you're looking for a romantic weekend away, and if you don't mind a bit of dated/cheesy decor, go ahead and take the plunge! You might just have a very fun time. There's even one theme room here that has an, ahem, swing for intimacy. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pabooklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to write a review ,sharing your experience of your visit with us.
We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed whirlpool tub and shower with two shower heads.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanking you,
Manager,
Inn of the Dove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    9
    18
    69
See reviews for
2
122
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Ok how do I start.I wanted to take my wife some where really outstanding. A friend told me about Inn of the Dove. So I went online to look at pic's. I liked a couple of theme rooms they had but the one that stuck out was the Romance suite because of Valentines Day.It was an amazing experience. When I first walked in I wanted to set up the the atmosphere just right. The room had a lot of perks to make it happen. Fire place Hot tub Heart shaped bed with drapes and mirrors in every place you ll need them to be. They gave me a Complementary Champagne Bottle(nice size) chocolates and a Rose I set it all at there little table set for 2 by the fire place.Pluse The manager gave us a complementary Fire wood which last us the whole night. (Thank You). I got rid of a few little throw carpets that were around the room by putting them in the closet they didn't match the scenery to well. Lol. Laid rose pedals around the hot tub. And in it while the tub was bubbling. Also spelled out "I heart u" in front of the bed and sprinkled the rest of the pedals around the heart shaped bed. Lit the log (lights up easy,quick & safe) turned the lights off. Then I went out to my patiently waiting wife blind folded her and brought her in and unveiled her eyes. Let's just say I appreciate having Inn of the Dove so close to home. She ABSOLUTELY LOOOOVED IT. It was the best Valentines Days "NIGHT" ever. Thank you do much guys.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSantiago13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg for your stay and taking time to write such a fantastic review.

We are delighted to know that you had amazing experience and our service and facilities were
to your satisfaction as we take great pride in the service that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanking you,
Sincerely.
Ken,
Manager
Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

When my husband and I first arrived there, I had to laugh. It was cheesy and kind of porn-starish, but I decided to not let that ruin my fun night out with my husband. Later on that night, we were enjoying the very clean shower. It smelled like they had just cleaned it prior to our check in. The jacuzzi was also very clean, and I kind of smelled like cleaning solution when I crawled out of it. I was kind of expecting it to be moldy and dirty, but it wasn't. If you're going for more of a Hilton feel, then go to the Hilton. But once you get past the decor it's actually pretty fun. Oh, and the bathroom looked recently updated. It was a really fun night. I'll be going again hopefully for my birthday or our anniversary, hopefully to one of the swimming pool rooms. :]

If I had to give any tips for making it better...
-Update the decor
-Clean off the candle holders... they had a little wax on them. Lol

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments regarding your stay at Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed at Inn of the Dove.We look forward to welcoming you
back on your next visit.

Thanking you
Manager,
Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We would like to say that the Inn of The Dove is a great getaway. I read the reviews before I booked, and I must say that some people just can't be happy. Fellas.. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel but don't want to spend your hard earned money this is the place to stay. We stayed in their Romance suite it was the first bed I ever really saw which was in heart shape and it was very comfy and the ceiling had a mirror, the hot tub was clean and worked great, Guys, this place is more for you than the girls, but even my wife loosened up and had a great time. We'll definitely go back. I really loved the staff who explained me different suites and helped me with the events in the town. We're glad and pleased we stayed there and had ecstatic time. Can't wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thanks for sharing your review about Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg.

We are pleased to learn that you had the best experience during your stay with us.

We appreciate your generous compliment which is truly inspiring for our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Thanking you
Ken
Manager
Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were completely blown away by the decor of the room plus the landscaping of the grounds. The staff was more than helpful and even went a little further by bringing extra towels and ice back to our room after we checked in. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway of any sort. Not far from other venues if you wanted to go to the casino or catch a movie within 20 minutes of both. Will definitely be going back in the near future!!!!

Room Tip: Luxury suites with swimming pool are both great. Whether deluxe or beach room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for posting your review about your experience at Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg.

A feed back is always healthy and it encourages our staff to continue striving for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Ken
Manager
Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I must admit that I was extremely nervous about visiting this motel because of all the negative reviews. Isn't it weird how we are quick to embrace negativity over positivity??? But anyway, I had a wonderful time. My boo and I stayed Friday and Saturday night and were able to get a special rate for staying for the entire weekend. The bed was humongous. I like how the jacuzzi was literally steps away from the bed. The double shower was AMAZING. The water pressure was powerful and the temperature was hot. The staff was friendly and nice and quite accommodating. It so happened we were there on a snowy weekend at the end of October so it was quite romantic. We burned firewood in the fireplace and enjoyed ourselves. The room was clean and there were plenty of fresh, clean towels. I would definitely go back again!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCherene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to thank this guest for their feedback.

My staff is delighted to know that you had enjoyable stay.We are very happy to learn that you
enjoyed jacuzzi,walk in shower with two shower heads,and a fireplace.
Everyone at this location works very hard to make your stay enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ken
Manager
Inn of the Dove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had a great stay. Such friendly staff. The made the night better. Perfect place for a special night away.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmhboyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoveH, General Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to write a review.My staff is delighted to know that you had a great stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely
Inn of the dove,management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#33 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Dove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Dove

Property: Inn of the Dove
Address: 2225 Kohn Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of the Dove 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn of the Dove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Dove Hotel Harrisburg
Inn Dove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing