We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Nashville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our "lay-over" night on our drive from Nashville to New Hampshire. the room was a great value, very reasonably priced and in a great location - right off of 81 (literally less than 3 minutes). It is nothing fancy, but very clean, the beds were comfortable, the shower was clean and had plenty of hot water, the staff was very nice. We arrived late (around 10:30 pm) and they had us checked in and in our room within minutes. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustDucky923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest(JustDucky923)

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, clean, Comfortable room and courteous staff. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
19
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in mid August 2012.
It may look a little old from the outside, but the hotel deserves two thumbs up. Both the receptionists that I have met during my stay there are very friendly and helpful. They also pay great attention to little details. Toilet is clean, which I think that is the most important. Beds and pillow are comfy. My mum and I had very good nights. The room has all the essential. Dryer, kettle, refrigerator, etc. No complains on the location. 10-20mins drive to almost everything if u have a car. Good price! Perhaps, breakfast could be improved? But it can fill your stomach if u are not picky. Overall, it lives up to its name. Americas BEST VALUE Inn! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellejanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear michelle janelle

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, courteous staff, comfortable room and amenities like Microwave, refrigerator. we are still working to improve to outside area. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you're visiting Hershey Park. The park is about 20 miles away, a very easy drive. This motel was clean, quiet & tucked away on the banks of the Susquehanna River. A new "Giant" grocery store is about 5 miles away. There was a very reasonable diner within walking distance with an inexpensive breakfast. If we visit that area again, we will stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear S P

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, clean and comfortable room. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The owners obviously care about their hotel and it shows in the well kept grounds. Carpets are new with fresh paint. Furniture is older but solid. Firm mattress and good clean newer bedding. Breakfast is spare but all we need is cereal or some toast and I would not expect lavish at budget prices. We stayed during Corvettes at Carlisle weekend to avoid the hotels there that really jack up their rates. It's very close to I81 which was very good for us. Some of the guests were a bit rowdy but fortunately did not keep going into the night. Our bottom line is that it is a good quality budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest(z0607)

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Firm mattress, clean and comfortable room. I apologies for that rowdy guests. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed back in February 2012. We were satisfied with the room based on the rate we paid. This is a very affordable hotel. Although, you shouldn't expect super high quality. The bed was not as comfortable as I would have preferred. Also, there wasn't much to choose from as far as breakfast goes. With all that being said, we were satisfied enough that we would stay again based on the affordable rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Alhpgh
Thank you for taking the time to share a review about our hotel.During the time of your stay, the property was in the process of being renovated. Since that time, we have added all new rooms including new bedding, bathroom floors , furniture, carpeting, painting, new lobby and breakfast area, landscaping, parking lot. We do have recent photos posted on Tripadvisor if you would like to see the upgrades. We hope that these corrective measures will enhance the overall experience. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I booked a room at this place after reading the great reviews. Our experience was not as great. The first room (non-smoking) smelled and was in a terrible location, at the junction of two wings, so guaranteed lots of foot traffic. Plus there were people leaning out of windows shouting to each other, so I knew we would get no sleep here. The woman that checked me in did agree to move us up to the second floor on the side by the office. That room was noticeably cleaner, and being on the second floor would be quieter. It was fine with the air fan on high, but once we turned it down, we could hear everything from the room next to us, it was like they were in our same room. Plus we could hear lots of road traffic. The fan was noisy too, so I did not get much sleep. Our sheets were worn, and there were cigarette holes in them, and also the blanket on the bed.

Breakfast was very basic, two kinds of cereal, instant oatmeal, bread for toasting (but the toaster did not work), undrinkable juice, a few small pastries, and some bad coffee. I would probably not bother with it if I should ever stay here again, which is unlikely.

The price was right, as we were only there for sleeping, but otherwise not a place I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear greecer,

Thank you for taking your time to share your views. I sincerely apologize for any negative experience you encountered at our hotel. There is never an excuse for providing anything less than an excellent stay. You noticed that our staff do best, she can do. we are trying to improve the breakfast. Thanks for mentioning that room was clean and price is ok for service you got. At Americas best value inn Harrisburg we take pride in our high standard of guest satisfaction. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when obviously we didn't meet your standard. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton/Cincinnati OH
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you could drive up to this place blindfolded, and have someone put you in your room, it would be GREAT.
NOTHING "wrong" with this hotel ROOM at ALL.
The rooms were JUST remodeled in Oct/Nov 2011.
Microwave and Refrigerator in room.
BIG room with LOTS of extra floor space.
Nice and CLEAN inside.
The outside of the hotel is kind of scary and pretty run down looking though...
For a 1 night stay while passing thru on our way to NYC it was GREAT.
Only about 7min drive down to the Appalachain Brewing Company downtown !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Driver8rws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Driver8rws,

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, you are right motel is completely remodeled few months ago. I am glad that you like amenities like Microwave, refrigerator, clean ,comfortable and wide room. we are still working to improve to outside area. we are going to put new bright lights in all the parking lot and green lot. Next time you will feel the difference. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrisburg
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
#37 of 50 in Harrisburg
276 reviews
7.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
6.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
#45 of 50 in Harrisburg
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#28 of 50 in Harrisburg
325 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#31 of 50 in Harrisburg
126 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Enola - Harrisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg
Address: 4125 N Front St, I-81 Exit 22,, Harrisburg, PA 17110-1616 (Formerly Super 8 Harrisburg North)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, conveniently located off of I-81 Exit 66 in Pennsylvania's capital city. Our exterior corridor hotel overlooks the beautiful Susquehanna River. We are close to Hershey Park, National Civil War Museum, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center, and Harrisburg University. Take a short drive to nearby Gettysburg National Military Park or The Amish Village. Enjoy a delicious meal at one of the local restaurants including Sisco's Pizzeria and Spaghetti, Jade Buffet, or Cafe Fresco. Whether traveling through or staying for a relaxing getaway, Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg offers ideal accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour front desk staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access in our public areas and guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO, hairdryer, desk with lamp, clock radio, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisburg
Harrisburg Super Eight
Harrisburg Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing