We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service in spite of a snow storm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stock's on 2nd

Stock's on 2nd
Ranked #69 of 533 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great service in spite of a snow storm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had our Christmas party here this year, and the service was fantastic. Our server was excellent. Food was good, nice options for parties under 20 people, we had a nice private room.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank M3Mechanicsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    38
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were staying in the Harrisburg area and decided to drive into Harrisburg for dinner. We finally found parking and too a walk down 2nd. This restaurant seemed good so we tried it. Glad we did. My husband got the surf and turf which he was happy with. I got the chicken Cobb salad with the modern twist of strawberry dressing. It was delishious and huge! Oh, and the hot wings were good, could have been crispier for my taste, but the blue cheese was super quality ! Great service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Food was above average, but service was nearly perfection. Waiter name was Mike, and he knew everything you could ask about the menu, did not hover, super efficient and very congenial. I eat dinner out about 325 times a year, and this is the best service I've had in probably two years. Vety impressed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UncleBud77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Stock's on 2nd, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for your excellent review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your server, Mike. He has been with us for 16 years, since we opened Stock's on 2nd, and is a huge asset. Hope to have you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
290 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good but sometimes 'stuffy'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We enjoy the drinks and food but depending on the time of day/night, the clientele can make it seem somewhat stuffy. I am a professional businessperson and was with some colleague’s a few weeks back and another group, suits, came in and acted as if they owned the place. Then, the bartender catered to them and practically ignored us. Hey, we may not be regulars but one becomes a regular by the way they are treated!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Stock's on 2nd, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review of Stock's on 2nd. I am not sure which bartender was working the evening that you were in, so I have addressed all of our bartenders on your comments and hopefully this will not happen again. Look forward to having you here again soon. We are known for our top-notch service and excellent quality of food and all of our guests should be treated the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
“Our Prom Dinner Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had an exquisite time. You made our CV Prom even more special. You accommodated
our group of 10 in the mezzanine room. The food and service were excellent. We will be back!
We can't thank you enough!
-eden klepper-

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LiveLoveLaugh757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Stock's on 2nd, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Glad you had such a great experience before your prom. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stock's on 2nd also viewed

 
Harrisburg, PA
 

Been to Stock's on 2nd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing