We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dry and overcooked” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stock's on 2nd

Stock's on 2nd
Ranked #69 of 533 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“dry and overcooked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went to Stocks for a pre-symphony dinner, as they participate in a program offering 20% off if you dine in conjunction with a show. We'd eaten here several years ago, and did enjoy it at that time. On this visit, the atmosphere was very nice and the service was excellent. Unfortunately, the food was nowhere near up to the standard expected for the price.

Our table of 4 shared 2 appetizers: the spicy shrimp tempura had good flavor and everyone else at the table enjoyed them, although I thought the creamy sauce over the fried crusting really didn't work; and the chicken quesadilla spring rolls were excellent -- good flavor, nice and crunchy, fresh accompaniments. The crispy flat bread and dip that came for the table were great, and we also enjoyed the Cesar salad. The rest of the meal was far less successful. Our entrees were a NY strip steak, a pasta farfalle dish, roasted peppercorn shrimp, and chicken parmesan. All 4 were dry and overcooked! The pasta had nice fresh veggies but was barely sauced and surprisingly bland -- even the sausage was devoid of flavor. The chicken parm was dry, topped with a spoonful of red sauce and melted cheese, and sat atop a bed of dry, unsauced pasta. The shrimp were dry and overcooked, sitting unadorned on a mound of mashed potatoes, and desperately in need of some sort of sauce or glaze. The steak... well, same thing. Without the symphony discount, this meal (which included 5 glasses of wine) would have come to around $200. We've had far superior meals at half the price. Because the first half of the meal was good and the service excellent, I'm rating this "average." If I were rating on entrees alone, it would definitely be "poor." Sad to say it, but I can't imagine going back, even with the discount.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suburban-gourmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    38
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
720 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise right downtown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

A group of us arrived in town for a business meeting a bit early, so we looked for a lunch spot using Google maps on our iPhones. A number of places popped up around 2nd street, including this one, so we found a parking structure nearby and walked 2 blocks to this storefront locale. Inside, we found a very contemporary and sleek interior, light jazz playing on the sound system, and a well-dressed business clientele. Lunch offerings included innovative pastas, sandwiches, and salads with prices around $10 each. They make their own root vegetables "chips" on site daily, and they were great as a starter!

Our table had the crab melt with house salad, lump crabmeat sandwiches and salmon BLT sandwich with cilantro mayo. The latter was huge and could have easily served 2 people. For an impromptu lunch, we couldn't have done better and would highly recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CleopatraBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Just about perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had dinner here tonight, and I was a little surprised that the place wasn't busy at 6pm on a Saturday night. I suppose it's because it was early. Started with Valet parking, $10. We were seated right away, and offered drinks. The Martini was cold, well made, and served promptly. The bread was an interesting flat bread, served with a spicy bean dip. We enjoyed 2 orders! My Steak was excellent, prepared exactly as ordered, and my wife's steak was just as good. My daughter had the Ruben, and it looked delicious, served with colorful chips. Servings were large. Dessert was free for my daughter for her birthday, and we also enjoyed wonderful cheesecake. Service was excellent. Waiter talked with us, was attentive, not too pushy with suggestions. He even went outside and had the valet retrieve our car before we got up. The atmosphere was relaxed, and I enjoyed the new age/jazz like music playing over the speakers. A wonderful respite from having loud sports blazing from bar televisions. I suppose about the only thing I'd add would be a few more people to make it a little more lively, and maybe an aquarium for more visual interest. The waterfall wall is very nice. We will return .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hogandoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
164 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Visited Stock's last night with some business associates. It is an upscale place with an open atmosphere. They have a good selection of drinks and we had an enjoyable time. The others I was with are from Harrisburg and Stock's is their place of choice for happy hour and I understand why if you are a professional. At any rate, it is pleasant and quiet enough to carry on a conversation!

Helpful?
Thank Dan1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

One of the best american fare restaruants in Harrisburg. The owners are there all the time, the staff excellent, and the menu delicious. The menu changes with the seasons, and the adjacent piano bar/restaurant has great home cooking italian.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank h b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stock's on 2nd also viewed

 
Harrisburg, PA
 

Been to Stock's on 2nd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing