We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wingate - inexpensive getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wingate - inexpensive getaway”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was planning on visiting Hershey Park and Chocolate World for a few days but wanted an inexpensive getaway as this was a fairly last minute trip. Although I really wanted to stay at the Hershey hotel or lodge, I found it was a bit too expensive for the few days I was going to be there. I found the Wingate by Wyndham on Expedia and the total cost of the room for two nights was even less than it was to stay one night right at Hershey. The hotel is about a 20-25 minute drive from Hershey, but fairly easy to get to. The hotel was very clean and the front desk staff very polite and helpful. The room was huge! We had a king bed room on the second floor. The room had a large TV, desk, refrigerator, chair, and there was still more room. The view from the window wasn’t anything spectacular, just a view of the parking lot, but I have no complaints about that. The only complaint that I have about the room is the toilet. It was very slow to flush, and everytime you flushed, even if it was empty, I felt like it either wasn’t going to flush all the way or it was going to overflow. Thankfully, it never did. The hotel also offered a continental breakfast (cereals, milk, fruit, danishes, bagels, toast, English muffins, juices and coffee, and a waffle maker). There is a very small gym and a small hottub on the first floor. I am not sure if there is a pool or not. I did not see one, but I never really went looking for it either. Overall, I thought this was a very nice stay, great hotel for the price paid, and not too far away from the action of Hershey. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    153
    126
    95
    62
See reviews for
191
110
27
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville Ky
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Wingate and Wyndham hotels tend to be above average and the room rates reflect this.
Overall a nice stay for one night. Some minor problems including a door that was out of alignment and a non-working exhaust fan in the bathroom.
The room was clean and nicely furnished. Staff was attentive and helpful.
Breakfast was the usual cereal and waffles plus hot sausage-egg-muffins. The photos were taken with my phone.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skychief2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

First room door lock was broke and got locked out. Second room had door molding falling off, frame for mirror missing, dirty cup from previous guests, moldy tub and handles, dirty toilet.

We left and went elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amenia, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked online and got a great rate. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking lot was well lighted. We would recommend this facility for a brief stay. It is fairly close to Downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

A bit below the average Wingate. Though rooms seemed clean, the upkeep was below average - grout and ceiling in the bathroom needed attention. The breakfast area was a mess and poorly stocked, and the gal working there was moving slow and uninterested in her job. There's a motel adjacent to the property that looked like a great location to hide a meth lab.

I don't think saving about 30% by staying here vs nearby hotels was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbobpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel was nice and clean. We slept very well. Visted Hershey Park for the day so the location was about 11 miles from Park, which was good. My only disappointment they did not have a pool, i should have looked further but they had a jacuzzi??? So my son was a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdt14613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrisburg
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
3.4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East
#1 of 2 in Middletown
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hershey
7.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#19 of 50 in Harrisburg
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites
Address: 1344 Eisenhower Boulevard, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2319 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Harrisburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Wingate Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing