We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Brookville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had a conference at the Hilton which is a block away and decided to stay here to save some money. The Hilton is a better hotel, but this is a better value. The staff is friendly. The room was clean, but dated. The hotel itself does not have as much to offer, such as Starbucks, as the Hilton, but saving nearly $100, I figured I could walk the block to get coffee.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. However, if the prices raise and are similar to that of the Hilton, then I may decide to go there.

Room Tip: I had room 701 and it was fine and near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Sal_Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your most recent experiences with us. Our team is committed to providing each guest with outstanding accommodations and will use your comments to improve our service.

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Harrisburg and we certainly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back during future visits to our area.
Regards,
Toni R
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    172
    162
    88
    69
See reviews for
139
107
40
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed 2 nights for a conference there. Rooms was spacious although we were missing the glass door off the clothes closet but were informed the hotel is looking into replacing them cause they are easily cracked by opening door. One elevator was out of service and we thought it would be a problem but we experienced no problem at all. The parking garage was completely filled one night but because we had been staying there and had a parking voucher they did valet our vehicle. The second floor conference was nice and they had a nice indoor pool. However it is o n the same level as the meeting rooms.

Very convenient location close to Restaurants and a short walk to the Baseball Stadium.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your most recent experiences with us . We value our guests’ feedback, and appreciate your constructive observations regarding your experiences. Our team is committed to providing each guest with an excellent experience while staying with us.

We certainly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back during future visits to the Harrisburg, Hershey Region.

Best Regards,
Toni R
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located right on second street, approximately one block from "restaurant row". We got free parking across the street, so we saved on that. The hotel bar was nice, with typical prices ($14 for one beer and a glass of wine). We enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmilyFarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in our area. I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We value the feedback we receive from our guests and use it to improve our service and reward our employees for providing excellent service to our guests. I look forward to sharing it with the team.
I hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you to our area.
Enjoy your summer,
Toni Rieber
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

While the room wasn't huge, it was extremely well appointed with lots of room to hang things, plugs for charging (so many hotels don't think of these things). The staff was extremely friendly and made great restaurant recommendations. The parking is a bit expensive, but it is a city, so I suppose that's to be expected. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff takes pride in the excellent service they provide. I look forward to sharing your comments with them and appreciate that you took the time to post them.
I hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you to our area in the future.
Best Regards,
Toni Rieber
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the CP on our way home from the East. The hotel is in a good downtown location and has some nice potential. The staff is friendly and the valet parking ($18) is in the entryway. This is cheaper than the self park garage across the street @ $25. There was an issue with an elevator at a bad time so waits were long for the one and only remaining elevator. By the time we got back from dinner, it was fixed and operable so I appreciate the rapid response. Our room was not bad but the bathroom floor appeared to not be as clean as it should have been. The thermostat did not work properly as we tried to raise the temp (on AC) and it did not respond. We shut it off and were comfortable. The next morning, it worked OK, allowing us to raise the temp. One nice lagniappe was a "Grab and Go" breakfast between 6:30 and 8:00 that had coffee and light pastries. This saves having to eat in the dining room or running around outside looking for food items. Checkout was easy and the valet had the car up quickly and we were on our way.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your most recent experiences We value our guests’ feedback, and appreciate your constructive observations regarding your experiences. I assure you that we have discussed your disappointments during your stay and we will use your comments to improve our service in these areas. I appreciate your acknowledgement that our team resolved your problems quickly and that our team provided you with a friendly atmosphere . Our team is committed to providing each guest with outstanding guest service while staying with us.

We certainly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back during future visits to the Harrisburg, Hershey Region.
Enjoy your summer,
Toni R
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warm Springs, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Walking distance to most everything in the downtown area! Front desk staff very helpful in giving information on local sites. Check in and out was quick. Parking is valet only but is pretty fast. Rooms have older furniture. Pillows were very good. Internet slow to average speed (won't be streaming movies). Room had a lot of space. Free breakfast started at 7:00am.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 8th floor have view of surrounding area. Rooms on the inside of building have air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear e h,

Thank you for leaving a feedback about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know that you found our front desk staff helpful and informative and that your check-in and check-out experience met your standards.

However, we apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced due to the internet connection. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you have to go to Harrisburg for business, this is a great choice. Walking distance to the state Capitol Complex. An onsite restaurant, gym and indoor pool are added amenities that really enhanced my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippygrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
I appreciate your taking the time to post your positive comments about your stay with us while in Harrisburg. We encourage all feedback and share it with our staff to help their continued effort to provide excellent service to our guests.
We thank you for choosing our hotel and are pleased it was a convenient location for your business travel needs. We look forward to being of service to you next time your travels bring you to our area.
Enjoy your summer!
Toni R
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#28 of 50 in Harrisburg
320 reviews
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#14 of 50 in Harrisburg
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey

Property: Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Address: 23 S 2nd St, Harrisburg, PA 17101-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and see what s new at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg Hershey! We are proud to announce the completion of a $3M renovation throughout all areas of the hotel. The friendliest and most welcoming hotel in Harrisburg PA now features new décor and amenities from top to bottom. Discover all that downtown Harrisburg has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Crowne Plaza Harrisburg. You are at the heart of everything, including shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance of Restaurant Row, Harrisburg s Capitol Complex and State Museum, the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and the Susquehanna River s picturesque waterfront. Whether you re coming to Harrisburg for business or just for fun, your room at the Crowne Plaza is your personal retreat. Our intimate rooms welcome you in cozy Boutique fashion, and amenities such as luxurious Sleep Advantage Bedding and complimentary HSIA mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Centrally located between Interstates 83 & 81, we're only minutes away from PA's biggest attractions, including Hershey Park, Historic Gettysburg, Lancaster Amish Country and Carlisle. Less than 2 miles from the PA Farm Show Complex & Expo Center, we're the hotel of choice for the annual Farm Show, Sports & Outdoor Show, and Horse Show. Stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and discover all that Harrisburg has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing