We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Place.....It was fine, nothing Great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for one night. The rooms were a bit dated, but it was fine for the night. It was a bit difficult to regulate the room temp.
Ordered room service and it arrived within 10 minutes and the Steak and CHeese was quite tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RincenaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the culinary delights of our Chef Bob! I apologize for the temperature regulation challenge, I hope you still had a great night's rest! If you would like to share any more feedback - I am always available at 717-920-1781.

Safe Travels,
Stephanie Foose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 614 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

We needed a place close to Capitol. This was perfect. Room was comfortable and clean. Yes, small bathroom, but water was hot and it was workable. Lost a star for view, but we were out most of the day. Friendly staff and very helpful. Valet parking made it easy in and out. Good restaurant onsite and walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your fun response! We are pleased you had a great time. Our team was happy to read about your experience! Have safe travels!

Stephanie Foose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

As an Commonwealth employee working a very late evening shift, I found myself through a third party booking agency at this hotel....what a very pleasant surprise. This older hotel has made done well in making the rooms clean and modern....Wonderful night's sleep with great bed, easy to access table for night items, prompt LG flat screen TV, no noise from the street.
Bathroom products were above average even for a Crowne Plaza. Honestly I only encountered one staff member and she was totally professional with a delightful helpfulness that I needed after my long day.
Did not eat in hotel....but it was availble.
Checked in late and out early so I could park on the street for free.
Highly recommend this hotel based on my most recent experience.

Room Tip: The water in my room was very hot....I have advised the management team and they assured me it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaunatkPortRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello LaunatkPortRoyal !

Thanks for staying with us recently and I truly appreciate your review! I am so glad you had a great night's rest and felt comfortable in our hotel. Bathroom amenities are new - Temple Spa products from Gilchrist & Soames !!! Glad you liked them. And, great tip about parking on street !


Best wishes for 2013!

Stephanie Foose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I had a kid free night and wanted to have a mini getaway. We found a great rate on the web and called the hotel to ask a few questions. Tess at the front desk was courteous and helpful so we decided to book the room. Being a weekend night, we were able to park on the street for free. When we arrived, Tess greeted us with a smile and gave us some great advice on where to eat dinner. (Thanks to Tess for going above and beyond to make our stay perfect!) We took our bags to our room and checked it out. The room was large, clean and updated. It had a king sized bed, sofa bed, refrigerator, microwave, etc. We were very pleased with the room so we dropped our bags and headed out for dinner. The hotel is withing walking distance of many restaurants and attractions. After a great dinner, we headed back to the hotel and decided to have a few drinks at the hotel bar. Max, the bartender, was outgoing, funny and mixed a mean Bay Breeze. We had a great time and hope to return in the future. Maybe then we'll have time to check out more of the amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello Mindee S !
Glad you loved everything! Kid free night??? What's that like? Good for you !
Tess is amazing and Max - he must have told you he has his own Comedy Show in town. Very funny guy! Please do visit us again - even with the kids!!!! :-)

Safe Travels and Thanks !!!
Stephanie Foose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Really want to recognize the entire staff of this hotel for their attention to detail, and customer service. Cannot ask for anything more from a full-service hotel! Lobby, the entire place is very clean, rooms are spacious, clean, and have all the amenities. Restaurant and bar are excellent, food was great! Bartender was fun, and provided a lot of local information. Lots of smiles, and people willing to help! Great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hi CamPITGM !

Happy New Year and thanks for staying with us recently! Your comments are so nice! The staff is so proud that they served you well. Thanks for recognizing them - it means so much that their efforts are noticed!

Safe travels,
Stephanie Foose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed one night at this older hotel in downtown Harrisburg, PA. The government rate is reasonable and it includes breakfast. Lux and bagel was a pleasant suprise. Parking is an additional $18 per night, but I would have to pay to park downtown anyway. There is an easy 15 minute walk from the hotel to PADOT offices. Easy hotel check in and check out. Staff is helpful and knowledgable of the area. King bed was very comfortable. Room and bathroom are small, but clean. Some of the furniture was worn beyond the norm. The hotel was very quite. I was comfortable here and would stay again when doing business downtown. I agree with AAA's three star rating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OffseasonTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello OffseasonTripper !

Thank you for visiting with us and your great feedback. Love the Lox & Bagel myself too!! Glad you enjoyed yourself. Apologize for the furniture, we are refinishing furniture this month. Fun project actually ! Hope to have you visit again soon !


Safe Travels,
Stephanie Foose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Reasonably priced, great staff, very clean/well kept and near all of the good restaurants. It is an older hotel and as such the rooms tend to be smaller than some of the newer hotels. Not a big deal for a solo traveler like me; may be an issue for a family of four staying in one room. Fancy lobby and onsite restaurant/bar.

When I return to Harrisburg I'll be staying here again for certain.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biztraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Hello BizTraveler999 !

Thanks for the great notes about your experience! Glad you enjoyed the lobby & bar areas. Hope you had fun in town !!!

Safe Travels!
Stephanie Foose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#30 of 51 in Harrisburg
338 reviews
2.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#13 of 51 in Harrisburg
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 51 in Harrisburg
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey

Address: 23 S 2nd St, Harrisburg, PA 17101-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: $97 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and see what s new at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg Hershey! We are proud to announce the completion of a $3M renovation throughout all areas of the hotel. The friendliest and most welcoming hotel in Harrisburg PA now features new décor and amenities from top to bottom. Discover all that downtown Harrisburg has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Crowne Plaza Harrisburg. You are at the heart of everything, including shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance of Restaurant Row, Harrisburg s Capitol Complex and State Museum, the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and the Susquehanna River s picturesque waterfront. Whether you re coming to Harrisburg for business or just for fun, your room at the Crowne Plaza is your personal retreat. Our intimate rooms welcome you in cozy Boutique fashion, and amenities such as luxurious Sleep Advantage Bedding and complimentary HSIA mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Centrally located between Interstates 83 & 81, we're only minutes away from PA's biggest attractions, including Hershey Park, Historic Gettysburg, Lancaster Amish Country and Carlisle. Less than 2 miles from the PA Farm Show Complex & Expo Center, we're the hotel of choice for the annual Farm Show, Sports & Outdoor Show, and Horse Show. Stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and discover all that Harrisburg has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing