We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained, clean, pleasant hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well maintained, clean, pleasant hotel in central location”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I was very pleasantly surprised with the Crowne Plaza Harrisburg. (It's not near Hershey; I don't know why that's in the name.) The reception area is nice, and the reception staff is extraordinarily welcoming and friendly. The rooms are small but commodious, with great beds and fine linens. The bathroom is small too, but it has a granite counter and nice fixtures. Best of all, there's great reading light next to each bed, and you can actually reach the lamps to turn them on and off without getting out of bed. All in all I am very pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: The reception staff suggested a room away from the elevators, which was probably a good idea, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patbiswanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    173
    163
    88
    69
See reviews for
141
107
40
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Yes, that's their mato, a place to meet. It's really not a place to stay. The hotel is dirty. They said that it has been renovated but it might only be the lobby. The carpet is dirty. The bathroom is small and old. We didn't enjoy our stay. We would choose a newer hotel down the road before deciding. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leek99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for sharing your personal experience. I am sorry that you had an unexpected mishap. I would love to speak with you over the phone to learn more about the challenges you encountered so that we may better train the staff member(s) who were responsible for your room cleanliness. Training is key! As for the bathrooms, we did inherit an "intimate" space....47 years ago people didn't spend as much time in bathrooms as they do now. The Hotel was indeed renovated in 2008, lobby, restaurant, lounge, guest corridors. Last week, we completed all flat screen TV installations. Next month, we begin our brand new bedding upgrades including coverlets, bedskirts and other decorative components. Many guests of Crowne Plaza Hotels ask where they can buy our beds as they are so comfortable; and we've even upgraded the thread count for our sheets. The building might be nearing "50", but the charm of the staff and the continuous upgrades do make it a great place to meet and stay. Please call me at 717-920-1781 so I can learn from your experience and make it better for others. Thanks, Stephanie Foose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Harrisburg because the nearby Hilton was full. I was suprised at the $199 rate but was willing to pay that for a good hotel. However, rhe room/furniture/bathroom were out of date and run-down. There was inadequate hot water, many of the channels on the TV were too fuzzy and/or the audio was very poor, and the AC was incredibly noisy. There was no room service menu in the room so I went to the front desk to get one. I was told that there was none in the lobby and that one would be sent to my room. I waited for over an hour and finally gave up and went out to dinner when it got past 8 PM.

On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location and the staff was very friendly. Long story short, however, is that the hotel isn't worth the inflated price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittReisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Crowne Plaza chain is a reliable outfit and we were very pleased with their place in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. It’s located just blocks from the state capitol, around the corner from the river and its great bridges and just down the street from so many of the the restaurants the town has to offer.

Harrisburg is a beautiful place to visit, even as bankruptcy threatens the comforts of those who live there. One after another, great churches and historical buildings line all the streets feeding into the huge capitol grounds. It’s a beautiful scene and worth a stroll. The hotel is clean, well-run and very comfortable. Its rates are reasonable and you have the feeling of being in the mioddle of things — notably so in the Civil War anniversary year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I recently chose Crowne Plaza Harrisburg/Hershey for my host hotel. We had a lot of people traveling into Central PA for our wedding and the Crowne Plaza has a great central location to many attractions in the Harrisburg/Hershey/Camp Hill area. You can walk to restaurants and bars on 2nd Street. I was extremely impressed with how friendly the front desk staff and concierge was and received many complements from my guests on how nicely they were treated. The rooms were clean and updated. After the wedding, the solo bartender at the hotel bar found herself with a full bar and was extremely nice and they accommodated our guests until much later then they normally stay open. Our Sales Manager, Amy, was also extremely friendly, attentive and responsive to work with through the planning process. We also hosted a brunch which worked out well and was executed well by the catering department. I was definitely happy with my choice to have my guests hosted by the Crowne Plaza for the weekend!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinR884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I brought a group of just over 100 attendees and we had a very positive experience. I came stayed 6 nights felt right at home. Smart, friendly, customer-service oriented staff members in every position. Terrific location. I can't think of when I've had a more positive experience.

I want to especially mention Sales Manager Amy Shadday. Fantastic! I wish I could tote her around from city to city!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FaffyTheDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel a total of 4 nights this year. I've been very happy with the service the facilities and the food. The rooms are average size and very clean and well appointed. The bathroom while on the small side is more than adequate and kept very clean. My only reccomendation would be flat screen televisions and a larger menu for the restaraunt. Hotel is within walking distace of just about any downtown attraction and very close to numerous restaraunts and lounges. Overall I am very pleased with cleanliness, staff and facilities and would reccomend this hotel to anyone traveling to Harrisburg.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTomo170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#28 of 50 in Harrisburg
325 reviews
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#13 of 50 in Harrisburg
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey

Property: Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Address: 23 S 2nd St, Harrisburg, PA 17101-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and see what s new at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg Hershey! We are proud to announce the completion of a $3M renovation throughout all areas of the hotel. The friendliest and most welcoming hotel in Harrisburg PA now features new décor and amenities from top to bottom. Discover all that downtown Harrisburg has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Crowne Plaza Harrisburg. You are at the heart of everything, including shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance of Restaurant Row, Harrisburg s Capitol Complex and State Museum, the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and the Susquehanna River s picturesque waterfront. Whether you re coming to Harrisburg for business or just for fun, your room at the Crowne Plaza is your personal retreat. Our intimate rooms welcome you in cozy Boutique fashion, and amenities such as luxurious Sleep Advantage Bedding and complimentary HSIA mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Centrally located between Interstates 83 & 81, we're only minutes away from PA's biggest attractions, including Hershey Park, Historic Gettysburg, Lancaster Amish Country and Carlisle. Less than 2 miles from the PA Farm Show Complex & Expo Center, we're the hotel of choice for the annual Farm Show, Sports & Outdoor Show, and Horse Show. Stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and discover all that Harrisburg has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing