We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we were looking for in a Bed & Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hanover B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We were very, very pleased with the quality of service we received at Shining Dawn...the innkeepers are extremely friendly, accommodating, and very knowledgable about the historical significance of the Hanover/Gettysburg area in which their establishment is ensconced. Built on a pre-existing foundation in the early 1900s, the entire house is permeated with the elegance and sophistication one would expect. Our room was very comfortable, and the bed itself quickly lulled us into a much-needed slumber. The breakfasts (we stayed 2 nights) were uniformly outstanding--the presentation was top-notch and the taste was scrumptious both mornings. We definitely would stay there again, and hope to do so very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adcraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner/Partner/Innkeeper at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2009

Dear Denise and Andy, It was wonderful to host you as you celebrated your wedding anniversary. Your witty and humorous conversation at breakfast was enjoyed by all.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Shining Dawn but most of all thank you for choosing to stay with us during that very special time in your lives. We are overjoyed that you found what you were looking for here at Shining Dawn Bed & Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 74 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2009

The Shining Dawn was a real treat! The house is just gorgeous and is set up so beautifully with attention to detail and a warm and peaceful atmosphere. I stayed in the Tree of Life room which had a gorgeous, intricately carved head and footboard and opened onto a lovely screened-in porch that overlooked the garden. It was relaxing and beautiful. Breakfast was served to me on the porch (at my request......the dining room was lovely, but I love being outdoors) and it was delicious. Bruce, one of the inkeepers, was a delight and very helpful in terms of what to do and how to get around. I spent a day in Gettysburg which is about a 25 minute drive and felt I had the best of both worlds..... a day out sightseeing and the Shining Dawn to return to which was just a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilenet1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner/Partner/Innkeeper at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2009

Dear Ilene, We appreciate you taking the time to post this marvelous review of your experiences at Shining Dawn. We are very happy that we could contribute to your enjoyment of rare and precious getaway time. Thank you again for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

The Shining Dawn B&B is in a lovingly restored brick and brownstone mansion. Our room was immaculately clean and wonderful architectural details abound throughout the house. Bruce and Helen are warm and welcoming people who made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomenicaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner/Partner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2009

Dear Domenica, Thank you for your review. It was an absolute joy to host you and we are extremely pleased that you were happy with your stay at Shining Dawn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

My husband and I just got back from a weekend with Helen and Bruce at the Shining Dawn. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! From the very start, it's a great experience. The window for check in is extremely broad, and it's late enough in the day where you don't feel rushed trying to find it and get settled. From the second you ring the bell, Helen and Bruce are kind and knowledgeable, and provided us with one of the best tips we received all weekend (they recommended an excellent Italian restaurant called La Cucina for dinner). The inn is absolutely breathtaking! They also make sure to have a thoroughly stocked snack area, complete with tea and hot chocolat e(with marshmallows), cold sodas, and snacks - all complimentary. The room we stayed in - the Midsummer Night's Dream room - was almost perfect. The bathroom was huge, the claw foot tub fantastic. The daybed was large enough to relax, the porch was wonderful. Our only complaint was that our bed was a little creaky, but that's pretty minor.

The food - made by Helen and Bruce - was delicious and inventive each day, and they truly go out of their way to make you feel not at home, but like a truly welcomed guest.

We have no reason to return to the area, but we will - just to stay here again. We'd recommend it to everyone we know! While it's a little more expensive than the local Super 8, it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jessicav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Came to Shining Dawn B&B with some friends from college and loved every minute of my trip. The house and the room where we stayed were beautiful and the innkeepers were friendly and helpful. I especially liked the stain-glass windows. I stayed in the Mid-summer night's dream room and it was beautiful at night. We took a day trip to nearby Gettysburg and relaxed in the sun-room in the evening. I would highly recommend Shining Dawn as a beautiful and peaceful place for a weekend getaway or retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StructuresGuy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed at Shining Dawn for a couple of days. We had a wonderful, and relaxing time in this beautiful turn of the century home in the midst of an historic neighborhood. Our hosts, Helen and Bruce, made a fantastic breakfast and were gracious and welcoming. Their peaceful calm demeanor, and comfortable conversation made us feel more than welcome guests. They also have a strong knowledge of the rich history of the area, providing us with helpful insights for getting the most of our visit. The artistry of the house’s detail alone is worth the visit – Helen and Bruce are the perfect complement.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aviator63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

I am from the Republic of Georgia, and I was traveling with my American fiancee who loves this B&B. We were only able to stay for a short time due to our itinerary, but the time we did spend was relaxing, rejuvinating, and comfortable. It was a treat to be taken care of by Helen--such a wonder innkeeper. I look forward to our visit again. Batumi, Republic of Georgia.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rjohns68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
416 reviews
11.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Hanover
Super 8 Hanover
#3 of 5 in Hanover
525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hanover Hotel & Banquet Center
11.1 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#7 of 23 in Gettysburg
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center

Address: 224 Broadway, Hanover, PA 17331-2501
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range: $115 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable stay in our magnificent 1902 Queen Anne brownstone. Stained glass windows, in-laid oak floors, beamed ceilings, carved mantles, and a bright, airy ambiance. Take Civil War Battle of Hanover Walking Tour from our front door. Minutes to Gettysburg or York. Five elegant guest rooms with private baths. Delicious full breakfast. Whether you are looking for the perfect romantic getaway, business accommodations, or a rejuvenating retreat, you will find it at Shining Dawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing