We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hanover B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great B&B!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Bruce and Helen were great hosts for our 5 night stay during the 150th anniversary of Gettysburg address, They are friendly and attentive and happy to deal with any questions or problems during your stay. The have done a wonderful, sensitive restoration of their historic home. Nice bath, comfortable bed, and solid wifi connection. We were in the Rising Sun room, which was a spacious retreat for our extended stay. Hanover is a great alternative to the crowded tourist zone of Gettysburg, but just a short scenic drive way from the Civil War sites and other attractions such as the Steam Into History railroad and area wineries.
We definitely hope to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10DaysOrLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear 10DaysorLess,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shining Dawn and for writing such a fabulous review. Depending upon the weather, Fall and Winter are great times to visit. It's quiet, less crowded and there's just a nice, calm energy in the Hanover/Gettysburg area. Thanks again for your review. Please come again.

Best regards,

Bruce & Helen, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have had nothing but the best of times staying at Shining Dawn
two separate times. The physical space is beautiful , comfortable,
spacious, quiet and most peaceful. Bruce , one of the hosts/owners,
couldn't be nicer or more accomodating and is an excellent
cook. The breakfasts are elaborate and exceptional.
Bruce and Helen aim to please in any way they can to make
one's stay perfect in every way and most memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jasmine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I recently spent two nights at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center. It was just what I was looking for. I wanted a peaceful place to get away for the weekend to write and rest. The atmosphere of this B&B is so peaceful and welcoming. The room (Peacock Room) was very comfortable. I spent time in the Sun Room, the Living Room, and the Meditation Room. Each room has its own uniqueness and I enjoyed each one. The breakfasts were out-of-this world. I really enjoyed my stay and will be back again. My only problem will be deciding if I want to try another room or return to the Peacock. Helen and Bruce are wonderful hosts who made me feel very special and I look forward to seeing them at my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FindingPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose Shining Dawn B&B after initially checking B&Bs in Gettysburg (where we actually were visiting). Shining Dawn is about 20 minutes from Gettysburg in Hanover, a quaint town along nice country roads. Shining Dawn is a beautiful place - great lighting, welcoming, just an overall good feeling. Helen and Bruce both greeted us, showed us around, and were gracious enough to answer the numerous questions we had about their home (we love old homes!) and the area and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. They are extremely accomodating. Our room was neat, clean, and very comfortable. The bed was wonderful and had lots of fluffy pillows. Breakfast was heavenly. The first morning we had a full breakfast of baked pear with caramel sauce, scrambled eggs with bacon, and an German apple pancake - delicious! The next morning we were served a phenomenal baked apple, cheesy scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, and blueberry pancakes. Again, fantastic. Each morning we were served fresh orange juice in chilled glasses and were able to help ourselves to coffee and a selection of teas. Additionally there were soft drinks, a selection of tea and hot chocolate, and Utz chip products (the Utz factory is in Hanover) always available. We would definitely stay there again. It was nice to be away from the extremely packed, hustle and bustle of Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Rooms towards back are a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sulla62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear sulla62,

You stated that "Shining Dawn is a beautiful place - great lighting, welcoming, just an overall good feeling.". That is exactly the experience we hope to provide to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your visit to the Hanover/Gettysburg area is memorable for all the right reasons. We hope that you'll keep us in mind should you ever visit the area again. Thanks once again!

Sincerely,

Helen & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

From the moment we set foot in the stately front foyer, my husband and I were treated like royalty by our gracious hosts, Helen and Bruce. And it felt like we were staying in Windsor Castle. The lovely, elegant old mansion, appointed and kept to perfection by our hosts' tender loving care, created a romantic, peaceful environment. Our room was gorgeous, spacious, and comfortable...and we enjoyed perfect nights' sleep on the wonderful bed. The delicious breakfasts made us want to linger an savor the food and the moment. We loved the stained glass windows, the ornate woodwork, the period furniture...everything first class. We found the sun room, with the lulling sound of the running water in the fountain, to be especially peaceful. We spent part of an afternoon sipping tea and reading there. Helen and Bruce were the essence of hospitality, accommodating, always accessible, yet never intrusive. We plan to make Shining Dawn our anniversary tradition.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rising Sun bedroom, which was bright, airy, and spacious. The other rooms were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueRidgeExecCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear BlueRidgeExecCoach, We enjoyed our opportunity to meet and host you. We appreciate the significance of the date and we're always very happy to hear that our anniversary guests have had a nice time at Shining Dawn. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your very kind review. We hope that you'll keep us in mind as we look forward to seeing you again. Our very best wishes to you and your family. Helen & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The house is amazing, with its subtle grace and beauty...each room has something different to offer. We have stayed with Helen and Bruce 4 times over the last few years and will continue to keep coming back. From the wonderful breakfasts, to uniqueness of each room, you won't find a better place to rest your head...or fill you stomachs! (If you can, request the german apple pancakes, they are TO DIE FOR! I promise you you won't be disappointed)

The B&B is only 20 minutes from Gettysburg, and is very much worth the short drive to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city and the tourists...its so nice to come back to your own private escape after being on your feet all day!

Hanover itself has a lot to offer as well, with its rich history and pretzle factory! I've been a die-hard hanover pretzle fan since I can remember though, so I may have a little bias, hehe.

On a scale of 1-10 I give the Shining Dawn (and above all, its owners) a 20 :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrap54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Scrap54, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a gracious review of your stays with us. To us, the greatest compliment is the fact that you've returned to stay with us so many times. You're a wonderful, young couple. We've really enjoyed your visits and the opportunity to chat with you. If you're ever traveling in the Hanover area, we truly hope that you'll continue to keep us in mind. Thanks again! Sincerely, Helen & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here with a wedding party, excellent service and value! Centrally located for a very convenient stay. Owners were prepared and highly hospitable. The home is elegantly decorated and very well kept.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Christopher M,
We were very happy to know that members of the wedding party had everything they required to help ensure that such a special occasion would be memorable for all the right reasons. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We hope that you'll keep us in mind should you ever be traveling in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
11.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Hanover
Super 8 Hanover
#3 of 5 in Hanover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center

Property: Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Address: 224 Broadway, Hanover, PA 17331-2501
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable stay in our magnificent 1902 Queen Anne brownstone. Stained glass windows, in-laid oak floors, beamed ceilings, carved mantles, and a bright, airy ambiance. Take Civil War Battle of Hanover Walking Tour from our front door. Minutes to Gettysburg or York. Five elegant guest rooms with private baths. Delicious full breakfast. Whether you are looking for the perfect romantic getaway, business accommodations, or a rejuvenating retreat, you will find it at Shining Dawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing