We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and friendly bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hanover B&B and Inns
Tiverton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful and friendly bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at Shining Dawn while on my way to Vienna, VA from Allentown, PA. This was a perfect stopping spot, and I was so impressed with the tranquility of the bed and breakfast. The accommodations were clean and homey, and the small patio off the bedroom provided a tranquil place to enjoy. The luminous stars on the ceiling were a delightful surprise, lending another aspect to the stay. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts were about the best that could be asked. The house itself is a gorgeous old homestead with beautiful accoutrements, including stained glass windows and antique fixtures. There is a lovely outside garden in back that is lovely to relax in. Highly recommended for anyone!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fine to me, but I chose the MidSummer Night's Dream Room and was very sati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear "S",

Being able to host guests like you is a big part of what makes Inn-keeping enjoyable to us. You describe our facility and peaceful and friendly. We're very pleased that you found some of that here during your stay. We couldn't help but notice that you brought a lot of that with you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your stay. Please keep us in mind in your future travels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jonesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at Shining Dawn for seven days while we enjoyed the Gettysburg 150 events. The home is spotless, the room was very pretty and comfortable...and the food was "extraordinary." We were there an entire week and every breakfast was different. The pear with caramel sauce was amazing and the German Apple pancake was to die for!

Helen and Bruce are wonderful hosts and have created a serene and peaceful place to get away. Only 25 minutes from Gettysburg this is the PLACE TO STAY!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaGillespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
R. & J., We can't begin to tell you what an absolute pleasure it was to meet you two and to host you as our guests. Things were pretty hectic during the Gettysburg 150th Commemoration and you maintained a very busy itinerary so we didn't have very many opportunities to chat, but when we did, we really enjoyed your delightful conversation. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your experiences with us. We're extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for helping some of our other guests navigate the heavy traffic and crowds in and around Gettysburg. We hope to see you again and we're wishing you the very best always. Helen & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Shining Dawn is a lovely bed and breakfast. We stayed at the Inn while visiting Gettysburg. It allowed us to get away from the tumult of Gettysburg, yet not be too far.

The home is beautifully appointed and well maintained, with an aura of calm that surrounds it.

The host was most delightful, and breakfast was terrific.

I would recommend this Inn to anyone who happens to be passing through the town, or nearby towns.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank algedneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our B & B. As you mention Hanover is mostly a very quiet and peaceful little town. It's a good place to host retreats, which we do, as well as to get away from it all and relax as you have noted in your review. Thanks again, and please keep us in mind should you ever be traveling through the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband & I stayed 3 nights and enjoyed 3 delicious breakfasts! They were completely different each morning and included a first course of baked apple one morning, pears with Carmel sauce another, and fresh fruit with five different fruits on the plate the last. The historic home is beautiful & lovingly maintained. The spacious public spaces on the first floor include a solarium where refreshments are always available; a large sitting room; a dedicated meditation room and the dining room. The rooms are decorated, each with a unique theme. We stayed in the "Phoenix" and found it very comfortable. The hosts live on the third floor and are always present to accommodate guest's needs. They suggested several good restaurants and local sites. We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Phoenix room has a bathroom with just a shower stall, but we didn't miss having a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tooie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Tooie N, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your experiences with us at Shining Dawn B & B! It was our pleasure to meet you and to host your visit to the Hanover/Gettysburg area. We're very happy to know that you were able to enjoy your valuable vacation time as you stayed with us in the Phoenix Room. We sincerely hope that you'll consider staying with us if you ever visit the area again. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I have never been moved so quickly to review an establishment before this moment. As my husband drives us home to our awaiting family (3 kids, 1 dog, 1 cat, 2 soccer games, showering, homework for tomorrow, meals, etc) I am spending my last few "peaceful" moments reflecting on our fabulous hosts, Helen and Bruce, the gorgeous physical-ness (if that's a word) of the B&B, and the gifts Helen blessed us with through the Portals to the Present retreat we attended during our stay. Everything about the entire experience was the PERFECT way to spend our weekend.
I would highly and confidently recommend Shining Dawn for anyone of any age seeking beauty, relaxation and positive energy. We will definitely be returning...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sammybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It was so very good to spend the weekend with such lovely and inspiring retreat guests. One of the best things about hosting retreats is the opportunity to get to know some of the nicest people in the world. Thank you both for all of your good energy! Helen and Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were in Hanover last week and selected this fabulous B & B based on the previous reviews. Bruce and Helen were so welcoming, even when we showed up a few hours early! The home is stunning and the rooms spacious and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was delicious and Bruce was kind enough to share the history of the home and restoration stories as we lingered over coffee. The period furnishings are just stunning and the sun room was perfect for a enjoying a glass of wine and a snack. We hope to get back and stay again while visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Gail M,

It was very nice to meet you and your family. It was our pleasure to host you during a difficult time. We're glad to know that you were comfortable and that you all were able to just relax and enjoy your time together here. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We would love to see you again.

Sincerely,

Helen & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hosts were kind and friendly. The house was AMAZING! And the Breakfast was incredible. I'm not sure anything could be improved.

The room was extremely comfortable and decorated in a traditional way with a modern twist.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear D S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here with other B&B Travelers! We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your Anniversary get-away with us. Congratulations again! Please keep us in mind if you're every traveling through or to the Hanover area. It was our pleasure to meet and to host you during this very special time in your lives.
Sincerely,
Helen & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
11.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Hanover
Super 8 Hanover
#3 of 5 in Hanover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center

Property: Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Address: 224 Broadway, Hanover, PA 17331-2501
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable stay in our magnificent 1902 Queen Anne brownstone. Stained glass windows, in-laid oak floors, beamed ceilings, carved mantles, and a bright, airy ambiance. Take Civil War Battle of Hanover Walking Tour from our front door. Minutes to Gettysburg or York. Five elegant guest rooms with private baths. Delicious full breakfast. Whether you are looking for the perfect romantic getaway, business accommodations, or a rejuvenating retreat, you will find it at Shining Dawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing