We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B&B stay won't be beat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hanover B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This was my first time at a B&B and I could not believe how wonderful it was.We took a chance and booked the last room that had a bath tub no shower. A giant claw foot tub in our spacious Midsummer's Night Dream Room with a balcony too. And a special effect after you turn out the lights. The home is magnificent with stained glass windows, a fountain room and delicious breakfast. The hosts are congenial and it is a great location for Gettysburg and York area.Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizbet66-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 9, 2011

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences with this marvelous review!
When one has the time, we think that staying at Bed and Breakfasts are the way to go. Each one is unique and memorable. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your first B&B stay with us and we hope that you always have good B&B experiences. If you're ever in the Hanover/Gettysburg area, please keep us in mind. It was a joy to meet and host you and we'd love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Shining Dawn several times, and love it more and more. It is a great place to celebrate special occassions such as birthdays and anniversaries as well as weekend getaways. The home and rooms are beautifully kept. Clean, comfortable, and full of stained glass windows. Helen and Bruce are wonderful hosts and very attentive. I feel pampered and at home at the same time. I can't wait for our next visit!

Risheena and Eric

Room Tip: Each room is unique. The ones we have stayed in have all been very cozy and comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schvamla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 26, 2011

You are a lovely couple and it is always a real pleasure to see you two. We're happy to know that you count on us when you're making plans to celebrate special times together. Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Great location if you are going to the Maryland wine festival. The B & B is a historic home and decorated in period. Beautiful stained glass windows. My room was immaculate as was the entire home. Bruce and Helen are gracious hosts and made us feel welcome. Helen's breakfast was absolutely delicious. The town is small & quiet. Not may resturants to choose from. We ate at The Landing, the food was good. Everything is closed on Sunday morning. Historic areas are a short ride away. Would go back

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Francesca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 21, 2011

We're happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Shining Dawn in Hanover, PA. With a population of just over 15,000, Hanover definitely has small town culture with many conveniences of Corporate American businesses located in or near the borough. However, we are still able to enjoy unique choices and experiences offered by many locally owned and operated businesses like "The Landing" which you've mentioned. While it is true that some of our local businesses are closed one day a week, usually Sunday or Monday, there is still a lot to do if you have the time to slow down, relax, explore and enjoy. We're always happy to make suggestions to our guests.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Helen and Bruce are delightful hosts.

We opted for "The Phoenix" room, it was very well appointed and oh so comfy and cozy.

We stayed four nights and each morning we were greeted with an exciting and delicious breakfast. Helen is a magician with fruit, her rum and brown sugar grapefruit, the baked apple and hot pear were all so scrumptous. Bruce's yogurt parfait was "lick the glass" yummy!

The location is so convenient, maybe a thirty minute drive to York and Gettysburg. We found Hanover to be a very quaint little town.

The home is filled with history. We would highly recommend the Shining Dawn, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank punkinlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 26, 2011

We're are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to meet you and to be able to provide you with a comfortable base of operations. When our guests are well rested, well feed and ready to start out on another full day of their precious vacation time, we feel like we've done our jobs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write such a marvelous review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The house was completed in 1903 (I asked!), and all the fine detail work has been exceptionally well taken care of, gorgeous common areas much nicer than any hotel, with stained glass windows, antiques and grandfather clocks; Felt like home, actually felt like I was visiting my grandparents' old house, from the old architecture, to the angel statues around. VERY CLEAN; and in the room, it was immaculate, bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was modern and new, the water pressure was awesome, so even though it was a business trip for me, I was able to really relax and recharge my batteries for real, as well as, if not better than at home!!! Its a place I'd like to return some time as a romantic get-away. MUCH better than any hotel, and more beautiful details and more welcoming than the other b&b's in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad_work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 21, 2011

It was an absolute joy to meet and host you! We are always happy to know that our guests enjoyed their prime-getaway-time while staying with us and we want you to know that you're always welcome here. Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This was the first B&B my husband and I have stayed in, and we weren't disappointed! The owners, Helen and Bruce, were the nicest people you could ever meet. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable there. (In fact, the other people staying there said this is the best B&B they have ever been to with the best owners!) The location is great - right on a main street in the heart of Hanover. The house is beautiful and historic, our room was also beautiful and CLEAN! Our bathroom was also very clean. Their breakfasts are to die for, we had such great breakfasts that we stayed full for a good part of the day. Good variety of food, things we've never eaten before (but delicious). Also, the price was great, we found it was cheaper than many of the other B&B's and hotels around! Overall, great experience! We will be back!

Room Tip: Book early if you're coming on a big weekend (i.e. Gettysburg events)
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca1484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 21, 2011

Guests like you make being an Innkeeper a wonderful experience! Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your first B & B stay. We hope that all of your B & B experiences are enjoyable ones and of course, we truly hope that you'll choose to stay with us again at Shining Dawn. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Proprietors have taken a large and unusual property in the historic district of Hanover, PA and turned it into an exceptionally high quality restoration. Each room has a distinct personality. Large public spaces on the first floor. Lots of stained glass throughout the house. Nice garden. Several rooms have private, garden facing, second floor porches. We enjoyed a walk through the historic district, examining the old buildings. If you have time after breakfast, ask Bruce for the grand tour explaining their restoration.

Room Tip: We are fond of Jewel of the Heart room.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbhdassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 2, 2011

We really enjoyed meeting you and hosting your visit to the Hanover/Gettysburg/York area. It was a challenging pleasure to convert this large, turn of the century home into our Bed & Breakfast Retreat. The large common areas on the first floor and the gardens are very useful and relaxing for retreat participants as well as our B & B guests. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay by making use of some of our best features. Thank you for staying with us and please stay again if you are ever in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
416 reviews
11.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Hanover
Super 8 Hanover
#3 of 5 in Hanover
525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hanover Hotel & Banquet Center
11.1 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center

Address: 224 Broadway, Hanover, PA 17331-2501
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range: $115 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable stay in our magnificent 1902 Queen Anne brownstone. Stained glass windows, in-laid oak floors, beamed ceilings, carved mantles, and a bright, airy ambiance. Take Civil War Battle of Hanover Walking Tour from our front door. Minutes to Gettysburg or York. Five elegant guest rooms with private baths. Delicious full breakfast. Whether you are looking for the perfect romantic getaway, business accommodations, or a rejuvenating retreat, you will find it at Shining Dawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing