We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, nice hotel - typical HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, nice hotel - typical HI Express”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

As another review this suggessted, this is a good alternative for Gettysburg visitors. Friendly staff, decent location, and clean room. This is just what you expect from HI Express.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 45viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Great Day 45viking!

Thank you for your wonderful remarks and it was great of you to point out the positives you experienced with our Holiday Inn Express.

Please do let us know should be arriving in town and I hope we have another opportunity to serve you and your family in the future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    29
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
30
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ayer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

As stated in prior reviews, I'm partial to the Holiday Inn brand. The Hanover property is another fine example of why. We were visiting the Gettysburg area, and while this property is about 15 miles away, it was less expensive than other closer hotels, plus I got another fine Holiday Inn experience.

The staff was wonderfully friendly, the hotel was clean and undergoing renovation, which was only a minor inconvenience - we had to walk around a crane while men worked on the roof. The work area was clearly and safely marked off with yellow tape.

The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. The two queen beds each had two firm and two soft pillows, and the mattresses were just right. Wifi provided a solid signal for my laptop. The bathroom was spacious and functional, with a very nice adjustable shower.

I would absolutely return to this hotel on a future visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hi JohnnyGeez

Thank you for your kind comments and we greatly appreciate every feedback.

Our aim is to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and we are very sorry for the inconveniences you had encountered with the construction during your stay. The outside renovations is almost complete and hope your future stay will be a better experience.

Please be sure to let us know when you will be arriving so we can have your favourite room ready. Looking forward to see you again soon.

Have a great Summer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Belvieu, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

If you are visiting Gettysburg, this is a good place to stay. It is about 15 miles from the battlefield, but less expensive than staying closer. The staff is friendly and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. The rooms aren't gigantic, but they have everything you need and are very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emale73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaniM305, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Hi Emale73,

Thank you so much ! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express, Hanover-PA.

We hope you travel again to Holiday Inn Express to experience our newly remodelled lobby and great room. We have some new fixtures in the guest room and still many more changes to come. Please be sure to let us know when you are coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you and your family.

Again thank you and looking forward to see you soon. Have a Great Summer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in Hanover to visit Gettysburg on the way to Washington DC. What started out as a 2 day stay turned into a 3 day stay when we all got the flu. The staff was wonderful! They checked on us, got us extra linens/towels and sent a rollaway bed (so I didn't have to sleep next to my sick husband!).

The hotel is convenient to the Gettysburg battlefield and also has a Rite Aid drugstore and Texas Roadhouse restaurant across the street (walking distance). A large shopping center with Target, Subway, Petsmart, etc is located just down the street. Very convenient for families.

The hotel does not have a pool, yet they have an arrangement with the local YMCA. The hot complimentary breakfast each morning was very nice. They also have free wi-fi. The staff is extremely friendly and caring. If we go back this way, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaniM305, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Hi Tiggmom,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your recent experience with the Holiday Inn Express, Hanover. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

I hope you and your family are well and had a great trip to Washington, DC. We are looking forward to see you again in near future.

Have a fantastic Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times, for extended periods of time...with many future trips planned. I must say that the staff is extremely friendly and enjoy striking up conversations. On these long trips, they make the stay seem "home-like". Although one staff member "lost" the bottle opener, she pointed me in the right direction to get one. lol

On the down side, the laundry equipment was a bit lacking in effectiveness.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaniM305, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Good Day Mr Jeremy F,

Thank you for your kind comments. We love to hear what our guest have to say and sharing your comments with our employees and seeing a smile on their face felt very much appreciated.

Currently, we are remodelling our interior and lots of fixtures and equipment are being changed. We are getting new washer and dryer soon besides a vending machine for the detergent. Hopefully by your next trip we will have everything ready.

Again, thank you and we are looking forward to see you many more times. Have a Great Weekend !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

A very welcoming hotel with pleasant. Reception staff and friendly management. Bright and cheerful.On our visit, a large party with many children was allowed to let their children spread themselves all over the breakfast area, and play and run about, which was a bit annoying esp at that time of the day.
Good access to main road and facilities although the hotel isa bit hidden and not easy to spot when driving along it and some extra signs are still needed to help to get there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Good Morning Vicky249

Thank you for your comments and sharing your concern. Please accept our sincere apologies for inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We are still working on having a directional sign placed on Eisenhower Drive. I hope this does not hinder you from staying with us again.

Again, thank you for taking your time to write the above and looking forward to see you again in future, don't let us wait too long. Have a fantastic day !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield, Maryland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great place to stay. Wonderful location, close to everything you need access to in Hanover. It is an older hotel and our room kinda had a musty smell. But, no big deal. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Good Evening Mr. Keith T.
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We rely on what our guests tell us and we enjoy hearing what our guests have to say about us. I am sorry that you encountered the musty smell in your room and will have maintenance look into it right away.
Again, thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay and we hope to see you again! Thanks and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
10.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#13 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hanover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hanover

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hanover
Address: 305 Wilson Ave, Hanover, PA 17331-5228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hanover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express, the newest hotel in Hanover. We are conveniently located between York & Historic Gettysburg. Our upscale limited service hotel offers free high speed Internet, guest laundry, fitness center, express start breakfast, local phone calls, USA Today newspaper & 24 hour guest service. With the Hospitality Promise program you are sure to be satisfied. The Holiday Inn Express Hanover is the place to stay, we have value pricing and friendly service for the business, leisure, or group travelers. We are less than 1 mile from the UTZ potato chip factory, and less than 2 miles from the Synder's Of Hanover factory. Other attractions include the Harley Davidson plant (16 miles), York Fairgrounds (15 miles), Baltimore Inner Harbor (45 miles), and Gettysburg National Park (14 miles). Remember to stay smart when visiting Hanover stay at Holiday Inn Express! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hanover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hanover Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing