We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay for Gettysburg Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Awesome stay for Gettysburg Area”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Came to Gettysburg area for my nieces graduation at Gettysburg College. Awesome hotel, clean, friendly, great rooms. Verani at desk is wonderful...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKnSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I will let Vani know what a wonderful job she did. Thakn you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    30
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
31
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Reception staff outstanding. We hit the hotel at a time of a deluge and they proved very involved in our experiences coping with it.Our original three nights extended to four as the staff let us know of a last minute vacancy for a Friday nightl.
Difficult map to find the hotel and it took us ages inthe early twilight and darkness. Wilson Avenue is a long road, either side of a main road and we were originally looking at the wrong end, due to an innaccurate map. We used the hotel to visit York, where there are interesting historic homes and good museums in the centre and to visit a friend in New Oxford. Did not visit Hanover as such.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel the year prior and it seemed decent for the price and was a typical HI Express. There isn't a lot to choose from in this town and the Hampton Inn is consistently booked solid. So, after 16 hours on the road we were happy to arrive at the HI Express and find an available room. That was until we started the check in process and the front desk person treated us like criminals. My husband usually takes care of the check in process but I decided to accompany him. The front desk manager insisted we both show our identification since we were paying cash. I didn't realize that was a crime and didn't appreciate the way we were treated. It seemed like an interrogation. I couldn't find my Priority Club card so he reluctantly looked up the number and wrote it down for me. Needless to say, we were never credited any points for the stay. We will certainly not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishiniwastravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly area, PA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed here twice in two weeks in late July 2010. Hotel is a typical, fairly new Holiday Inn Express situated well off the main road and behind several restaurants - you won't see a big sign for it and you can easily go right past it. It's address is Wilson Ave but you can get to it from Eisenhower Ave if you turn in at the Texas Roadhouse restaurant.
Check in/check out were about as fast and smooth as they could be. Beds were great - bathrooms were clean and well stocked. A/C worked very well but in one room it was a bit noisy with a vibration. Elevator was slow with a loud annoying tone as the doors opened/closed - guests in rooms near the elevator must hate that sound! Free breakfast had good variety and was frequently re-stocked. Easy to walk to Texas Roadhouse or Ruby Tuesday restaurants. Many other restaurants within 1/2 mile along Eisenhower Ave. Movie theater and lots of shopping within 1/2 mile of the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PASkyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

The room was ok . In the morning when I went to get a shower there was hair all over the tub . Didnt exactly feel comfortable after that. They refunded a portion of the stay and gave me bonus priority club points. nice gesture but still unhappy

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsupportRonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I were visiting friends in the area and needed a place to stay for the night. I chose the Holiday Inn and was very happy with my choice. Check-in was a bit slow, but staff was very friendly and attentive. The room we received was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. It was very quiet and the only time I heard other guests was in the morning when the showers starting running. Even then, it was not enough to wake us up (and I am a very light sleeper). Check-out was quick and easy. The only negative I do have is that I didn't feel there was enough bedding. I would have liked to have an extra blanket, or at least one in the closet. Despite the very minor complaint, if I am staying in the area again I will definately choose the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scootscoot926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

The location was excellent! If you couldn't find a place to eat or shop, it doesn't exist! The hotel had a feel good atmosphere, as soon as you drove into the parking lot. The people at the front desk were very personal, and suggested places to eat and the best sights, to visit. About 14 miles from Gettysburg, it gave you the closeness, without the high price tourist traps and traffic congestion of Gettysburg's narrow streets. The manager told me the best way to get to Gettysburg and by past the town to get to the battlefield tourist center. (rt.116- rt.15) The hotel was built in 2002, but was constantly updated since. (new beds in May) 80% of the rooms has refrigerators and microwaves, for extended stay vacationers. We had a room on the second floor, with a king size bed, for our 4 day stay. The room was in very good condition, and didn't have that creepy feeling that you sometimes get in some hotels. All of the smoking rooms were located on the third floor, and they have a strict "No Pets" policy. The only place that had a slight smell of smoke was the elevator. Security cameras was seen in various places in and outside the hotel. The free continental breakfast was great, and was constantly replenished, and tables cleaned. It had a different hot items each day, but always the hot cinnamon buns. They had various flavors of coffee and tea, 24/7. They also had free Internet, with a printer, for your use. Would I recommend this place to someone else? Regretfully yes. My wife and I had a wonderful experience here! ( You have to check out the "Texas Road House Restaurant" next door to the hotel. Great food, @ a great price and atmosphere, plus10% off coupon at hotel front desk)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
406 reviews
10.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,469 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
10.8 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#16 of 27 in Gettysburg
561 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hanover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hanover

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hanover
Address: 305 Wilson Ave, Hanover, PA 17331-5228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hanover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express, the newest hotel in Hanover. We are conveniently located between York & Historic Gettysburg. Our upscale limited service hotel offers free high speed Internet, guest laundry, fitness center, express start breakfast, local phone calls, USA Today newspaper & 24 hour guest service. With the Hospitality Promise program you are sure to be satisfied. The Holiday Inn Express Hanover is the place to stay, we have value pricing and friendly service for the business, leisure, or group travelers. We are less than 1 mile from the UTZ potato chip factory, and less than 2 miles from the Synder's Of Hanover factory. Other attractions include the Harley Davidson plant (16 miles), York Fairgrounds (15 miles), Baltimore Inner Harbor (45 miles), and Gettysburg National Park (14 miles). Remember to stay smart when visiting Hanover stay at Holiday Inn Express! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hanover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hanover Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing