We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope the cleaning lady enjoys her new Tablet!!!”
Review of Super 8 Hanover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Hanover
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Hope the cleaning lady enjoys her new Tablet!!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and daughter stayed there recently and left their tablet in the room .....called several times but no one turned it in.....gee I wonder where it went!!!! Still waiting for the manager who sometimes stops by but not always to call me....thanks Chrissy!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SmokinJoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8HanoverMgmt, Manager at Super 8 Hanover, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello SmokinJoe J,
Thank you for your review of our Super 8 in Hanover, PA. We are very sorry that you are upset about your Android tablet - we of course have been informed of the situation and will ensure that we reach out to you if it shows up. We are very proud of our staff, their morals, and their excellent customer service, which is evident in our other reviews. Guests often leave behind cell phones, lap tops, jewelry, and all other valuables that we return to them every single time. We know that our Manager, Crissy, was apologetic and tried to help as much as she could. We know that you came with a large group for a volleyball tournament, perhaps it was misplaced somehow. We hope you find your tablet, please let us know if there is anything else that we can do.

Warmest Regards,
Super 8 Hanover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    150
    91
    43
    33
See reviews for
177
113
49
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fulks Run, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Booked based on reviews, but was very disappointed. The lobby and first floor hallways smelled very strongly of smoke. We asked about this and mentioned it numerous times to the front desk and they said that it filtered from the one smoking/handicapped room that was located centrally in the first floor hallway and that there wasn't anything they could do about it. We had to stuff towels under and around our room door at night. Our room was skipped and not cleaned the first day. When we left the room that morning, the 'do not disturb' sign was layed on the bathroom sink by my wife and was not on the door. When we arrived at the hotel that evening, after being gone most of the day, the housekeeper was at the end of the hall working on a room and there was a gentleman who appeared to be a manager/owner also in the hallway. I asked the gentleman why our room was not cleaned and he, in return, asked the housekeeper, who stated she must have 'just skipped' it. These were his words. He offered to clean it right then, but we were tired and just requested new towels. There is also not much noise buffering between rooms and floors, as we were kept awake one night past midnight with overhead noise of children jumping and running. We called the front office and that was handled quickly by Mitch (I think was his name). Upon leaving, we found that we were automatically charged for the safe in the room even though we didn't use it. I phoned the hotel the following day to voice my concerns and after a short conversation, the front office person disconnected me. I then called the headquarters and filed a complaint and they told me that the hotel had five days to respond. Seven days later, with no response, I called headquarters again and they looked up the hotel and stated that they had taken the safe charge off of our bill, they said the 'Do Not Disturb' sign was on our door and that is why is didn't clean the room. That is not true! The smoke issue was just glazed over as before. Noise level was not addressed. We were offered a 25% discount on our next stay, but there won't be one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank statuemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked my room in advance, it would have been nice to have had the heat turned on to at least 60. The room was 54. I understand saving electricity, but not at the expense of customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Kris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked a room for our anniversary trip based on reviews on tripadvisor and requested a non-smoking room. The room was nice, but as soon as you entered the lobby from outside, there was an overwhelming smell of cigarette smoke and it carried throughout the hallway to our room and got stronger. When we asked about where it was coming from, the desk clerk informed us that the handicapped room was a smoking room and it was three doors away from us, and in the summer they left the outside doors open to filter it out. I was just recovering from surgery and it was very irritating too me. At night, I had to stuff towels around and underneath the door to lesson the smell. Also, there was excessive overhead noise from the second floor. Our room didn't get cleaned the first day and we had to ask for new towels. We will not stay here again despite the affordability.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoolnrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
10.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Cross Keys Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in New Oxford
13 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
558 reviews
11.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 27 in Gettysburg
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hanover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hanover

Property: Super 8 Hanover
Address: 40 Wetzel Dr, Hanover, PA 17331-1128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hanover 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUPER 8 HANOVER PA IS NOW OPEN AFTER A COMPLETE RENOVATION. THE GUEST ROOMS ARE NEW AND FRESH. COME EXPERIENCE OUR NEW HOTEL.The Super 8 in Hanover PA is in great proximity to many attractions and corporations. Enjoy Superior service when choosing either room with King or Queen size beds, we also feature suites with whirlpool tubs. All rooms are equipped with hairdryers, alarm clocks, and 32 inch LCD TVs with over 70 cable channels for your viewing pleasure. You can enjoy Free Superstart breakfast daily and access Free high speed internet from anywhere in the Property. No Pets Allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Hanover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hanover Hotel Hanover
Super Eight Hanover
Hanover Super Eight
Hanover Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing