We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Super 8 Hanover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Hanover
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Ocala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel in 3 months. The most important first, it is clean, clean, clean! We stayed a week the 1st time and we are staying a week this time and the service is great. Clean towels, Clean room, Clean sheets and the beds are great, nice new mattresses. The hotel is newly remodeled and done very well. The people are excellent! They are so nice and so friendly it is like coming home. The room is spacious and it is easy for my husband to watch TV will I play with the computer at the desk. The wifi connection is great. We have already decided this our place to stay when we return this summer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martybill44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8HanoverMgmt, Manager at Super 8 Hanover, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Martybill44,
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Super 8 Motel. We take utmost pride in the cleanliness and upkeep of our property and we're happy you noticed! Our hotel should feel like your home away from home and our staff does go the extra step to make our guests feel that way. We're also glad that our guestroom was spacious and comfortable for you and your husband's needs. We can't wait to welcome you back when the weather is warmer! Please mention this review and we'll be happy to provide you with a discount upon your return, take care.

Warmest Regards,
Super 8 Hanover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    146
    89
    42
    29
See reviews for
168
111
49
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This hotel had been completely renovated and tastefully decorated. The standard rooms are a good size and everything was spotless. My first room had a faint smell of mildew but the owner gladly moved me to another room and gave me an upgrade for the trouble. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonlhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8HanoverMgmt, Manager at Super 8 Hanover, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Hello Alisonlhamilton,
Thank you for your review and kind words of our Super 8 property in Hanover, PA. When we renovated our property we wanted to ensure that all of our rooms, including the standard rooms, were spacious. Thank you for noticing that and our standards for cleanliness. We're sorry for the trouble of moving you to another room, thank you for being so understanding. Please visit us for another stay and we'll be happy to provide you with a discount for writing a review.

Warmest Regards,
Super 8 Hanover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
253 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We normally stay at the Hampton Inn when in Hanover, but because it was Family Weekend at Gettysburg College and there was a reenactment going on at the battlefield, it was booked up and we found the Super 8. Easy in and out of Hanover to Gettysburg via PA-116. Check-in was quick and friendly, however, please check your invoice thoroughly because when signing and initialing your rate, as they tried to throw in a charge for "safe usage," which which they indicate would have been removed upon request at checkout. I questioned them about it and told them we would not be using the safe, so the charge did not appear on our credit card. It was a very minimal amount, but I did not appreciate it being shuffled in the mix. We did not have breakfast, but it was in the lobby and we saw cereal, toast, coffee and juice. One request, however, would be that hotel management should move the smoking rooms from the same floor as the non-smoking rooms, as the stench of cigarettes filled the entire hallway of the second floor, so coming and going from the room was not pleasant at times. The room, however, did not smell of smoke. For the price, a decent stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyLimeLover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8HanoverMgmt, Manager at Super 8 Hanover, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Hello Melb33,
Thank you for your review of our property. We'd like to apologize for the safe usage fee of $1. Most guests do choose to use the safe and it costs us to provide that service which is why the fee is applied. We are happy to remove it if guests choose not to use the safe so we appreciate that you were vocal about that. Also, thank you for your suggestion on the hallways. We do have our smoking rooms on a different floor but unfortunately it is inevitable if the smoking guests walk through the non-smoking floor. We have been seeking a product that will help us with the hallways so hopefully if you come to visit us again you'll notice a difference. For your next trip to the area please do stay with us again and we'd love to provide you with a discount on your stay. Take care.

Warmest Regards,
Super 8 Hanover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Because my past experience with Super 8 wasn't great, it's been years since I've stayed at a one. Based on Tripadvisor reviews, I gave them another shot. The property must have gone through a recent renovation, because everything about the place was clean, tidy, well maintained, and in good repair. My room was immaculately clean and the decor was very pleasing. Ordinarily, the mattress is the weakest link for any hotel I stay at, but the bed at the Super 8 was excellent.
Although the hotel was fully booked, I didn't hear a peep out of any of the neighbors, nor was there any street noise.
The property is in a good location for anything you want or need. A new Target is within walking distance, and a bevy of chain restaurants are within a 1/2 mile.
This isn't the Ritz, but for the money, it cannot be beat.
Total cost for my one night stay was $65.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterblutarsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8HanoverMgmt, Manager at Super 8 Hanover, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Hello Misterblutarsky,
Thank you so much for your review. We especially thank you for trying out the Super 8 brand again, we're happy it was a pleasant surprise! We did go through a recent renovation, due to water and fire damage, and we're relieved to be reopen. Thank you for noticing! We take a lot of pride in keeping our property as clean as possible and our beds are brand new as well. Please return for another stay and we'll be happy to provide you with a discount. Take care.

Warmest Regards,
Super 8 Hanover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Friendly staff, good value. I stayed on a stormy night, all they had left were smoking rooms, the room was clean and didn't smell of smoke at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8HanoverMgmt, Manager at Super 8 Hanover, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Hello Dave Z,
Thank you for your positive review of our Super 8 in Hanover, PA. We hope that you didn't have any trouble on the stormy night that you stayed with us. Thank you for also noticing that our smoking rooms don't start off smelling like smoke. We have our staff clean them very thoroughly and we have a special machine that removes the smoke from the rooms. Please come and stay with us again and reference your review - we'll be happy to provide you with a discount on your next stay. Take care.

Warmest Regards,
Super 8 Hanover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

After reading mixed reviews, we were a little leery about reserving a room, but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was nice and clean, and comfortable. Had an issue with the wi-fi, but we changed rooms & it was fine. I really liked the artwork in the rooms.

Unfortunately there is a lot of road construction in the area which makes it a bit of a pain to get in and out of the place, but this is temporary and no fault of the hotel. It is located on a busy road with lots of traffic, but the room must have been well-soundproofed as it was very quiet.

All in all, I would have no problem at all staying here again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoSteelersPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8HanoverMgmt, Manager at Super 8 Hanover, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Hello GoSteelersPgh,
Thank you so much for your review of our property in Hanover, PA. We're glad that you took a chance with our property after reading some negative reviews - those reviews were from before we had our full renovation of our property. Thank you for your comment on the artwork! The pictures are actually of different areas and cities in Pennsylvania, including Pittsburgh (Go Steelers!). We agree that It is unfortunate that it isn't so easy to get to our hotel at times because of the construction. However, the construction is due to the new Target and Olive Garden that are being built nearby so thankfully there is a benefit to our guests. We're glad that you still had a restful and peaceful night. Please do recommend our property as there is still little awareness that we have reopened. Thank you again for your comments, please come back and stay with us again and we'll provide you with a discount on your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Super 8 Hanover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This hotel was very clean, the atmosphere of the room is modern but homey, and the staff is friendly. The beds were clean, new, and very comfortable; the shower was wonderful! I have never stayed at a hotel this nice for the price I paid. There was free wi-fi that worked perfectly in my room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alyssa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8HanoverMgmt, Manager at Super 8 Hanover, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Hello Alyssa222,
Thank you for your great review of our Super 8 in Hanover, PA. We feel good to know that not only did you find our property to be modern but homey as well - this is difficult to achieve! Our beds are brand new, thank you for noticing. Finally, we are so happy to know that you found value in the rates that we provided for you stay. Please come back and stay with us again and we'll be glad to provide you with a discount on your rate. Take care.

Warmest Regards,
Super 8 Hanover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
399 reviews
10.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#22 of 27 in Gettysburg
112 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
543 reviews
11.8 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Gettysburg
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hanover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hanover

Property: Super 8 Hanover
Address: 40 Wetzel Dr, Hanover, PA 17331-1128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hanover 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUPER 8 HANOVER PA IS NOW OPEN AFTER A COMPLETE RENOVATION. THE GUEST ROOMS ARE NEW AND FRESH. COME EXPERIENCE OUR NEW HOTEL.The Super 8 in Hanover PA is in great proximity to many attractions and corporations. Enjoy Superior service when choosing either room with King or Queen size beds, we also feature suites with whirlpool tubs. All rooms are equipped with hairdryers, alarm clocks, and 32 inch LCD TVs with over 70 cable channels for your viewing pleasure. You can enjoy Free Superstart breakfast daily and access Free high speed internet from anywhere in the Property. No Pets Allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Hanover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hanover Hotel Hanover
Super Eight Hanover
Hanover Super Eight
Hanover Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing