We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something to see even if you aren't a hunter/fisherman/camper.”
Review of Cabela's

Cabela's
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Something to see even if you aren't a hunter/fisherman/camper.”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We drove out at the request of my son who wanted to show his girlfriend the mounted animals and the aquarium at the store. She was somewhat impressed. The stock in this store is pretty comprehensive for anything you want to do outside but heavy on the hunting part of sportsmanship. Not really my thing. They have a lot of cold weather clothing at this time of year, but prices were on the high side. Not many sales. It will be another 5 yrs. til I go there again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank 1976RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    81
    22
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Vacationed in Lancaster and decided to drive up. WOW this place is huge. Anything you need is here! So many people, can't imagine what it's like at Christmas. All the stuffed animals are so neat to see, like a museum.

Helpful?
Thank Rhjones69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cannot believe people drive from everywhere to come here.”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Cabela's is a very good outdoors store, but if you know what you want just hit their website. This is not worth more than a day trip drive.

The Food
I've gone there a few times over the course of several years and tried to give the food a shot. The restaruant on top does not even have the quality of a mall food court. Theres another store on top that has really decent jerky, but its sold at a premium.

Attractions
Great for families with little ones, it has a large aquarium tunnel with native species, the mountain of taxidermy in the middle, and a small coin op electronic shooting range upstairs. Adults can checkout the firearms gallery, which also can be found online.

Shopping
They do have a large bargain cave at this location, which is cool, but like I said above some of the stuff in the bargain cave is available on the website.

Reason to make a long trip?
If you go on some weekends they have seminars.

Helpful?
Thank Tacticalgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Huge store !!”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a great store ! The scenery alone is worth the trip. Good deals in the bargain cave.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA,USA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Huge Sportsman's Emporium & Wildlife Displays”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Although we are not in the "sportsmen" category, this is the third time we have brought folks to Cabela's. Regardless of background, all have been impressed by this extraordinary retailer with a penchant for educating, to a certain extent, about wildlife. There is easy access to this giant, yet welcoming and attractive, enterprise along Pennsylvania's Route 61 where it intersects Route 78. It is also a beautiful drive in the countryside. The staff members we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. Skye at Reception really went out of her way to be of help. A shooting gallery is part of the fun. They have a fudge shop as well as an amazing array of hunting and camping supplies, footwear and clothing. This list would become too long. You really should visit for yourself. Cabela's could be part of a mini vacation or just a very pleasant Sunday afternoon and a successful shopping trip, as it was for us.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank HaveANiceStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabela's also viewed

 

Been to Cabela's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing