We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Help Staff”
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Grove City
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Poor Help Staff”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The resturant was very conveniently located near the Premium Oulets and the food portions was pretty awesome for the price! The only thing with this place is the wait-staff isn't very friendly nor "customer service" focused. The wait-staff needs more training especially when talking and dealing with customers. The girl who served us didn't really seem accomodating nor pleasing in doing her job. She cared more about her tips than doing her job!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    203
    94
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Springs, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place, close to outlet mall”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Daughter & several of her fellow job trainees ate here quite a few times for the 3 weeks they were out there for training. Good value for the money, nice selection of drinks & food. Walking distance of several hotels & the outlet mall.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with huge portions”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I've been eating here for the past 6 years during our yearly shopping trip to Grove City. Every year the food is excellent and reasonably priced. Fast service and friendly staff. Was given a 15% off coupon by our hotel.
See you next year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewGrove80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“English Style Pub”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stay in Grove City a couple of times a year and always eat at the pub. It has very good food and ambiance - excellent service. It stands way above the local competition. Burgers are cooked true med-rare is red center. Chicken and leek soup and the crab dip are personal favorites. The Brit/Irish fare is supplemented by conventional American pub chow with a touch of Mexican.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Tasty with a Few Minor Flaws”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I live nearby Grove City and have been to Elephant & Castle a few times, for work luncheons, date nights, and to grab drinks with girlfriends. It's mostly good but has a few minor flaws. On my most recent visit with my husband, we waited over 45 minutes for a table, and when we started to realize people who had come in long after us were being sat before us, I went and asked about our table and discovered the hostess had forgotten to record our buzzer altogether. The time before last, I was meeting a girlfriend who arrived before me, and the hostess wouldn't even consider seating her before I arrived. So they need to improve their host station and processes. However, I will say that the manager on duty did speak with us when we asked to notify him of the oversight, and he ended up offering to make it up to us with a small discount on our bill, which we were happy with when we weren't really looking for any kind of comp. In addition, the way the building is designed, there is a wind tunnel along the perimeter seating, so plan on wearing a coat during dinner! Otherwise, the waitstaff is usually friendly and the food has always been delicious and reasonably priced. I recommend drinks on the comfortable patio during the summer, but dress very warm if you're heading there this winter. (It is extremely close to a lovely outlet mall if you're planning some holiday shopping....)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

 

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing