We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, much more bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Mountainview
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Greensburg
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The good - great breakfast buffet and nice fenced in area for pets for a reasonable price. The bad was just about everything else. The room, large by any measure, was worn, tired and bleak. A prior visitor must have left his dog untended despite the rules against this practice as everything with wood was scratched or chewed.
The bathroom had a new vanity but no place to place your toilet articles. The tub fixtures were old with little water pressure. The bed was adequate but the pillows were old and the comfortor was thin without warmth or charm. The heater/air conditioner produced more noise than either heat or air, to the point that sleep was impossible. And as big as the room was, the TV was an old tube type, maybe 26 inches. Then, there was the noise from the smokers who used the patio next to our room all night, one deciding to call someone at 445AM.
There might be better rooms

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 313.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dicw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Mountainview
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was really surprised how nice the place was for the rate asked. The hallways could have the carpets cleaned, but the rooms were spacious. We had a (2 queen beds) room which included a fridge, microwave, coffee pot in room, Tv was the big older style TV in an attractive cabinet, desk, WIFI innernet connection. Nice comfy beds. The breakfast was very nicely arranged with an area that had the open concept. Oh and they also had 24/7 Juice and coffee, tea, etc available at the breakfast area!! Nice patio area in front of building to relax. It was not a fancy patio but was very nice to sit out on to eat breakfast in the morning sunshine.

Room Tip: Be sure you don't get a room with one of the spotlights that shine on the building that is right...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beans40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I read many of the reviews on Greensburg hotels and due to limited hotel choices ended up at the Inn. It was much better than I expected. The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable. The rooms were a good size. The grounds are beautiful and the entrance was decorated for October with pumpkins and corn stalks and flowers. There are fenced in areas for pets to run and various outdoor smoking areas. The room had a fridge and a microwave. Yes, the TVs are not flat screen but that did not matter to us. There is good internet and it is free. There is a nice breakfast and eating area. We had a couple minor housekeeping issues and I recommended to the manager that housekeeping needs a few tips. Manager was very open to those suggestions. I also think our room could have had better lighting available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaypang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

There is nothing special about this place, price is not bad. My friend and I went for Ligonier Days this year. When we asked the desk manager to split the bill in half, she grimaced like we were asking her to something difficult. The young lady at the front desk in the evening was very pleasant and accommodating. It was clean but the hall carpet could use a good cleaning. And there is no swimming pool - a minus in my opinion. Would I stay there again? Only if there were no other options.

Room Tip: The hotel does allow dogs so if you don't want to be on that floor, ask.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were leaving my nephew at Penn State Greater Allegheny and we wanted a clean place with great value and service. Since we love dogs, we did not mind that this was a pet friendly hotel. The breakfast is awesome, it is a great value!! On the down side, our room was on the 3rd floor and it had flees. My husband and I chose the right bed and we had many, many flees on us. We went down to change rooms, the attendant was not there, we had to yell and fetch him. Of course, the answer was "this has never happened before" and we were okay about it... we know flees come with the territory... but did not expect if from such a high rating hotel.
The guy gave us a room in the 4th floor. The ac did not work properly. We did not complain, we were just going to be there to sleep, but then, the carpet in front of the very old ac unit was SOAKED. The ac kept freezing and leaking and it was just not working properly.
The beds were okay, but the tv is very small. The bathrooms are big, but no counter space. I will not stay here again and I will not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I left our Steelers Season Tickets on the desk in our room, upon return the Ornate tickets were missing. We contacted hotel management and informed them of the missing items, as expected the response was test book.."This type of thing has never happened here. Our staff is trained not to remove items from guests rooms." The tickets were from the previous weekends game, so no dollar value could be attached to the item. However, season tickets are desirable collectables due to colorful graphics printed on the stub. We never received resolution with our issue, only excuses why a theft would not happen.
Also this is a pet friendly establishment of which I have no issue. The 3rd and 4th floors are pet level rooms. Our 3rd floor room and bed linen were "Hair apparent", we were unable to move to a lower floor due to availability. Barking dogs are also a treat throughout the night... Don't stay with this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel is nice enough just ok when it comes to extras. No HBO or any other premium channels on TV (which are very old no flat screens). Asked front desk to have toilet fixed, it never got repaired for week we stayed. For price better options in the area. Great if you are traveling with dog.

Breakfast only open till 9am then they chase you out by Attendent.

The carpets in halls and elevator need cleaning bad, smell of dogs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensburg
2.8 mi away
Ramada Greensburg Hotel and Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Greensburg
Hampton Inn Greensburg
#1 of 10 in Greensburg
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Latrobe
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greensburg
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Greensburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mountainview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mountainview

Address: 300 Scenery Ln, Greensburg, PA 15601-6914
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Greensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Greensburg
Price Range: $74 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Mountainview 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mountainview is your gateway to the many attractions of the Laurel Mountains. Within minutes of the inn are family amusement parks, numerous recreational parks for hiking, biking, fishing and boating, additional nearby attractions include: golf clubs, wineries, white water rafting and a variety of shopping venues for antique lovers, furniture seekers and mall style shoppers. The Inn at Mountainview has over 50 guest rooms including king and queen hotel style rooms, suites and long-term stay accommodations with kitchen and dining areas. Separate pet friendly floor is also available. Meeting room and large conference area can be reserved to accommodate your business or family group needs. All rooms are non-smoking. Complimentary breakfast is always included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Mountainview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing