We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Mountainview
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Greensburg
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I read many of the reviews on Greensburg hotels and due to limited hotel choices ended up at the Inn. It was much better than I expected. The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable. The rooms were a good size. The grounds are beautiful and the entrance was decorated for October with pumpkins and corn stalks and flowers. There are fenced in areas for pets to run and various outdoor smoking areas. The room had a fridge and a microwave. Yes, the TVs are not flat screen but that did not matter to us. There is good internet and it is free. There is a nice breakfast and eating area. We had a couple minor housekeeping issues and I recommended to the manager that housekeeping needs a few tips. Manager was very open to those suggestions. I also think our room could have had better lighting available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaypang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 108 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

There is nothing special about this place, price is not bad. My friend and I went for Ligonier Days this year. When we asked the desk manager to split the bill in half, she grimaced like we were asking her to something difficult. The young lady at the front desk in the evening was very pleasant and accommodating. It was clean but the hall carpet could use a good cleaning. And there is no swimming pool - a minus in my opinion. Would I stay there again? Only if there were no other options.

Room Tip: The hotel does allow dogs so if you don't want to be on that floor, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were leaving my nephew at Penn State Greater Allegheny and we wanted a clean place with great value and service. Since we love dogs, we did not mind that this was a pet friendly hotel. The breakfast is awesome, it is a great value!! On the down side, our room was on the 3rd floor and it had flees. My husband and I chose the right bed and we had many, many flees on us. We went down to change rooms, the attendant was not there, we had to yell and fetch him. Of course, the answer was "this has never happened before" and we were okay about it... we know flees come with the territory... but did not expect if from such a high rating hotel.
The guy gave us a room in the 4th floor. The ac did not work properly. We did not complain, we were just going to be there to sleep, but then, the carpet in front of the very old ac unit was SOAKED. The ac kept freezing and leaking and it was just not working properly.
The beds were okay, but the tv is very small. The bathrooms are big, but no counter space. I will not stay here again and I will not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I left our Steelers Season Tickets on the desk in our room, upon return the Ornate tickets were missing. We contacted hotel management and informed them of the missing items, as expected the response was test book.."This type of thing has never happened here. Our staff is trained not to remove items from guests rooms." The tickets were from the previous weekends game, so no dollar value could be attached to the item. However, season tickets are desirable collectables due to colorful graphics printed on the stub. We never received resolution with our issue, only excuses why a theft would not happen.
Also this is a pet friendly establishment of which I have no issue. The 3rd and 4th floors are pet level rooms. Our 3rd floor room and bed linen were "Hair apparent", we were unable to move to a lower floor due to availability. Barking dogs are also a treat throughout the night... Don't stay with this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel is nice enough just ok when it comes to extras. No HBO or any other premium channels on TV (which are very old no flat screens). Asked front desk to have toilet fixed, it never got repaired for week we stayed. For price better options in the area. Great if you are traveling with dog.

Breakfast only open till 9am then they chase you out by Attendent.

The carpets in halls and elevator need cleaning bad, smell of dogs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Inn at Mountain View is a homy hotel nestled on a hillside in Greensburg Pa. We have visited it twice; once in 2012 and once in September of 2013. We noticed a general decline in the hotel. it was not as clean as in 2012, but passable in most areas, The carpets in the hall, the elevator and rooms were in need of a good shampooing. this would have improved the overall appearance of the hotel.
Om the plus side, the staff, particularly Helen who does the breakfast and Nathan, the night front desk attendant were more then willing to do anything to make your stay pleasant. Helen was pleasant, accommodating and outgoing. she was eager to do anything to make your morning start a worthy experience. Nathan was the same, pleasant, accommodating and very friendly.

this hotel has a beautiful view of the Laurel Mountains.

overall it was good value for the dollar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanG43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband, baby, dog and I stayed here while visiting family. If you are familiar with The Mountain View Inn, formerly located this site, be aware, this is nothing like that. It offers basic, clean accommodations and a decent breakfast at a good value. We love that it accepts dogs but would stay here anyway for the price and location. The rooms are huge and include a microwave and fridge. the tv we had was old and didnt work very well, they might want to upgrade. Bring your own pillow if you can, theirs are small (3 for a king) and thin. a pool would really make this place perfect for us. I was also disappointed that we had a view of an unused parking lot and route 30, because their truly is a mountain view from here and it's very pretty. Even at the most dog friendly places I have stayed, there hasn't been a dog run of this size. It's fenced in and quite big,,I'd say adequate for any size yard. Caution though- very often the outside gate is open, so if you have a dog that notices it before you do you might have a problem.
It is somewhat understaffed. The employees who staff the front desk seem responsible for many other things including breakfast and even doing laundry. It can be a wait to check in, check out or ask a question. The fact that they are working makes it less irksome than if they were chatting on the phone or something.
Our family members all wanted to know how it was since the renovation, and we do recommend it.i tend to stay at a Hampton Inn, and this compares favorably at half the price and dog friendly. Note to those who are dog fans, the entire second floor is dog free.

Room Tip: Third floor if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensburg
2.8 mi away
Ramada Greensburg Hotel and Conference Center
3.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Latrobe
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Greensburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Greensburg
Hampton Inn Greensburg
#1 of 10 in Greensburg
552 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greensburg
10.4 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mountainview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mountainview

Address: 300 Scenery Ln, Greensburg, PA 15601-6914
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Greensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Greensburg
Price Range: $70 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Mountainview 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mountainview is your gateway to the many attractions of the Laurel Mountains. Within minutes of the inn are family amusement parks, numerous recreational parks for hiking, biking, fishing and boating, additional nearby attractions include: golf clubs, wineries, white water rafting and a variety of shopping venues for antique lovers, furniture seekers and mall style shoppers. The Inn at Mountainview has over 50 guest rooms including king and queen hotel style rooms, suites and long-term stay accommodations with kitchen and dining areas. Separate pet friendly floor is also available. Meeting room and large conference area can be reserved to accommodate your business or family group needs. All rooms are non-smoking. Complimentary breakfast is always included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Mountainview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing