We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bang for your Dollar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Mountainview
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Greensburg
Flat Rock, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Bang for your Dollar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Traveled to the area recently on business. Was shocked at the hotel prices in the whole Southern PA, Northern WV area. Found this Gem of a hotel through Choice Hotels. This hotel was half of the bigger name hotel down the block. And traveling as much as I do, I know this one was nicer.

The hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were great. the hotel was very quiet, the beds extremely comfortable, the showers had good water pressure, hand held shower heads,very hot water, and premium soaps and shampoos. Breakfast was better then the typical hotel fair. I'll be staying here every time I'm in the area.

Only negative was tube TV's. Pictures show Flat screens in some of the rooms, they must be in the process of upgrading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
26
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Greensburg isn't a big place so there aren't too many hotels in town to choose from. We stayed here for five days and couldn't have been happier with the cleanliness and price point. Large room with nice views of the mountain, comfortable. They allow pets which is a nice bonus. My (relatively minor) criticisms:
- The shower we had had one of those hand-held showerheads. Not ideal.
- The walls are PAPER thin, you can hear everything. However, this is generally a very quiet hotel.
- Our king size bed came with 3 small pillows, seemed like a weird number, no extras in the room.

Despite this, it has got to be the nicest place in town. When we visit his relatives again we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxycape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at the Inn. The room was very nice. The staff was helpful in finding an eating establishment which delivered. Their recommendation was helpful. The hotel served a more upscale breakfast. The staff cooked fresh eggs for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revsward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our room was on the third floor and had a great view of the town and mountains. Room was very spacious but obviously had been redone from a much earlier time. The bathroom had a linen closet but no counter space. There was a large TV cabinet with no TV, just drawers. The TV was older, not a flat screen sitting on a table. Very comfortable bed and clean. Enjoyed our 4 night stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are on the front. This hotel is very pet friendly with a large fenced in yard for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Fallon, MO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

For those who may have moved through this area of Western PA in years gone by, The Inn at Mountain View is not to be confused with the former Mountain View Inn... a long-time high end hotel in the old days. The IAMV is a 1985-1990 creation on the grounds of the former Mountain View Inn. More like an old style Hampton Inn than anything else but with a much more reasonable price tag. With breakfast included, it is one of the better buys along Route 30. Nicely appointed but beginning to show some wear and tear. Clean and a staff that is certainly friendly. A small fenced area on the north end of the 3rd floor level is a dog exercise and "deposit" area...congrats to the hotel for being progressive. The free breakfast is OK but not worth bragging about unless you like scrambled egg dried to the point where it has become pellitized. Great bacon! The small omlets are a tad better but a real cheese (e.g., cheddar) needs to be used...not sliced yellow american. 24/7 free coffee and juice was avialble in the Lobby Breakfast Bar...but unlike another reviewer...I did not see any cookies...believe me...if they were there I would have found them.
The "overabundance" of handicap parking at the hotel entrance means that most visitors will be parking in the lower lot and walking up the steps to gain access to the lobby. A television set in the room required an obligatory manual setting (using the buttons on the television) to channel 3 before the remote would allow the user to surf the varied options provided. Turning off the set means you start the process all over again. A photocopied list of channels was in the room...listing a lot more channels than what the hotel actually offered...Can we just have the available options please? I am not interested in the varied packages that the Hotel opted not to purchase.

After four nights in the hotel's bed, this weary old back did not ache...which is uncommon these days. THANKS for the good night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bowhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colliers, West Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We've been wanting to stay here for years and finally had an opportunity. Just as nice as we expected. Spacious, clean room, big bathroom, refrigerator and microwave. Great breakfast. The shower in the bathroom had a detachable shower head. Nice and quiet and the beds were comfortable. Loved the colors of the room and the big windows. I'll be looking for an opportunity to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whisperingnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojave Desert
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our stay at “The Inn at Mountain View” was exemplary and very much worth repeating. The “Inn” accommodated a group of us that were gathering from around the country for the annual Scottish games at nearby Ligonier, PA. Very quiet and very clean was our 1st impression when we checked-in on a Thursday. The continuity of quiet and clean was maintained throughout our extended weekend. We enjoyed a refreshing amount of natural light in our guest room vis-à-vis the dark artificially illuminate rooms that we’re accustomed to elsewhere.

The breakfast meals included with the cost of the room were far better than what we’ve been accustomed to at other hotels.

The staff to paraphrase Professor Harold Hill from The Music Man "knew their territory," like no other hotel staff that I’ve ever encountered. Sheri was full of sightseeing locations suggestions. Sharon could read a map and plot a course like a sailor. Nathan stood watch over his nocturnal domain like a sentry.

We'd be very pleased for an opportunity to return for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desert-Reiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensburg
2.8 mi away
Ramada Greensburg Hotel and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Greensburg
Hampton Inn Greensburg
#1 of 10 in Greensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Greensburg
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greensburg
3.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Latrobe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mountainview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mountainview

Property: Inn at Mountainview
Address: 300 Scenery Ln, Greensburg, PA 15601-6914
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Greensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Greensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Mountainview 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mountainview is your gateway to the many attractions of the Laurel Mountains. Within minutes of the inn are family amusement parks, numerous recreational parks for hiking, biking, fishing and boating, additional nearby attractions include: golf clubs, wineries, white water rafting and a variety of shopping venues for antique lovers, furniture seekers and mall style shoppers. The Inn at Mountainview has over 50 guest rooms including king and queen hotel style rooms, suites and long-term stay accommodations with kitchen and dining areas. Separate pet friendly floor is also available. Meeting room and large conference area can be reserved to accommodate your business or family group needs. All rooms are non-smoking. Complimentary breakfast is always included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Mountainview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing