We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Outdoor Patio - Tons of MicroBrews!”
Review of The Headkeeper

The Headkeeper
Ranked #2 of 175 Restaurants in Greensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Outdoor Patio - Tons of MicroBrews!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really, what is there more to say! It's a little cramped in their and hot in the winter time, but in the summer you can't beat this place. Also, their food is amazing. Tapas place so bring your friends!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    45
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paciano, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A young woman greeted us as we entered the bar and was helpful in making our selections from the extensive craft beer cooler.

We ate outdoors. The tiki-type bar was sort of tacky and seemed out of place. Overall, the place is suffering from a lack of identity. The bar is straight up beer. The tiki bar outside is odd with all the concrete and fencing and no menu or decor reference to islands. A tapas menu that is really not a tapas menu. I think it would be best if they focused on their large beer offering and maybe a few outstanding dishes...anyway...

We ordered several plates for the table to share. The food was good...not great, and expensive for what was offered. Generally, when you have a tapas-like menu, the dishes are much more reasonable in price so that you can try many things...like dim sum. We ordered only 4 plates to share and the total for the food was over $60.

Were I to go back, it would be to enjoy a couple of unusual beers and I'd probably go elsewhere to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paciano12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best beer selection in town”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. Awesome tapas style food, but expect to pay. They must have over 100 beers to select from. Usually bar & grills serve deep fried crap with a pub or sports bar theme, but this joint has style and class. I remember when this place was Beenie's, then Lonzo's. But the current management turned it into one of the best spots in town. It has its own signature and made Gbg night life better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bartender was an [--] food was great.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The bartender with piercings and plugs dont know his name was rude and didnt do much. Everyone else was great. The food was delicious huge selection of beers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dudusdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belle vernon, pa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun evening with family”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Recently my 3 children and I went to this tapas bar for a snack....it turned into a feast with several appetizers and 3 meals...food was excellent....and uniquely prepared by "Chef Volpe". Our waiter was fast, funny and super attentive without being obtrusive. (I loved having the bottles of beer opened for me.) Don't miss an opportunity to try this delightful restaurant in South Greensburg.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darBelleVernon_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Headkeeper also viewed

 

Been to The Headkeeper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing