We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but expensive”

Pure and Simple Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Greencastle
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I love the quality of the food but get sticker shock every time I go for lunch. Also it is always always so hot inside. I don't understand why they don't care that the temp is uncomfortable for their patrons.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smoo_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great variety and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Met a couple friends who live in the area for lunch. Interior is decorated nicely with calm music. The staff was friendly and patient. Lots of healthy organic foods. I ordered the daily special, which was white bean hummus in a freshly baked pita and a small side salad. Delicious and so fresh. Lots of desserts available as well, organic items and gluten free. Looking forward to going back.
There is free and metered on street parking, but also a lot directly behind the building.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SubaruTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit that I hesitated to try this place because healthy food doesn't always translate into "delicious" food. However, that was the case at Pure and Simple. The shrimp wrap was absolutely the best! It was served with a tasty salad. The portions are generous too. Try the hot spiced cider for a seasonal treat! Can't wait to go back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank a1trvlagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was nice to get off the interstate and find this cafe. They had very good, healthy food which was such a nice break from all the junk you often end up eating when you're traveling. No cookie cutter menu items here. The kind of place that causes you to stop and think about what you want to eat. Nice relaxed atmosphere, although the tables aren't the most comfortable thing, and great baked goods. My husband had ordered a specialty coffee to take with us when we left and they had forgotten to prepare it. We insisted it was no big deal -- it was ready in a few minutes! -- but they insisted on throwing in a free brownie for not having remembered. What more can you ask for?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesleyLaramie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yuuummmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a place my husband and I love to visit for breakfast and lunch. It's listed as vegetarian, but its actually better described as healthy. Plenty of gluten free and grain free choices for baked goods and a great selection of organic salads, smoothies, wraps, etc. I love the salmon salad.

It's also got such a relaxed atmosphere, a nice place to visit with friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure and Simple Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pure and Simple Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing