We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a lovely time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildwoods Inn Hershey Road
Ranked #2 of 2 Grantville B&B and Inns
State College PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We had a lovely time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went to the Harrisburg Hershey area for a conference and shared this house with friends of ours. There was lots of room for our two families and conveniently located. It was so nice to relax here after two busy days at a conference.
Great place for larger families.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scottaenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Wildwoods Inn with our 4 kids. House was perfect! What a great alternative to renting hotel rooms! The house was spacious and bedrooms were clean and comfy! Kitchen was stocked with dishes, pots and pans, etc. Nice to have a dishwasher and not have to worry about handwashing dishes on vacation! Living room is large with cable TV. And it was great to have the second TV, so the kids could watch videos. Great yard and deck out back. Hershey Park is right down the street. Outlet mall, supermarket and gas station right down the road too. We can't wait to go back to Hershey Park and stay at Wildwoods Inn again! Prem, thanks for your awesome service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family stayed here while visiting Hershey July 14-16, 2012. The house was old but roomy and was generally clean except for the sunroom, which had an odor, so we ended up not using it. The house was close to all of the Hershey attractions but was on a very busy road with a lot of traffic. There was only one TV in the living room, and the house was not stocked with enough towels or toilet paper in the bathrooms or dish cloths or towels in the kitchen. We had to go out and buy all of these before our stay was up. Some of the dishes in the cabinet were dirty, and we could not get the dishwasher to work so we had to hand wash them. All in all, not a horrible experience but compared to the house we rented after we left here (in Niagara, Canada) it was way overpriced for what we got. The property manager, Prem, was very nice and available when we needed to contact him.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PGFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was there this past weekend. This place was awful to stay in. There are many issues and things I have found: the tub had soap scum and mold, hair ALL OVER THE PLACE (bathroom, bedrooms, living areas), the microwave had food, dishes were sparse to cook with and we had to purchase paper places and silverware to eat; I didn’t even want to cook- we ate out except for a cereal in the morning; ceiling fan had thick dust; windows and walls had dirty finger prints; dust balls everywhere; crusty substance on couches; alive and dead bugs everywhere; carpet dirty; air conditioning upstairs not working that kids slept on dirty couches to keep in the cool; dirt and dust on ceilings and walls; not to mention the lack of amenities such as TV’s outdated décor; lack of utensils and such in kitchen; etc. Plus this house is situated on a very busy road, use caution getting out of driveway, and you can hear cars and trucks passing by all night. The "peaceful" and comfortable "Sun room" and deck are not very peaceful at all due to noise and filth.
Concerned about trying to find accommodations at 5pm on a Friday, we made a "deal" with the manager that we would clean the place, with poorly discounted rate. Our first night in Hershey was cleaning. We went to Giant and purchased appropriate cleaning supplies so we could clean the place: Windex, buckets, rags, Lysol, gloves, bleach. We cleaned for about 3.5 hours: it took me 1.5 hours to clean the bathroom alone downstairs and upstairs, and my husband was scrubbing kitchen counters, refrigerators, floors all the way through the bedrooms. The house still is filthy despite our efforts; we just cleaned basically what we could. While we were cleaning, remember we have all three kids standing by doing nothing when they should be getting away to have fun. I was very disappointed. Price may be lower than local hotels, but beware of what you are getting into, especially if you have small children who crawl around. I see all positive reviews and I'm not certain how anyone could have enjoyed the home in the condition we had experienced; because this ruined our trip to Hershey. Beware!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GNCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Lots of room and a good location if you are visiting Hershey Park. However, the inn is in desperate need of a deep clean! Do not count on anyone sleeping (or even sitting in) the closed in porch. We thought it would be a fun place for the kids, but it was filled with bugs. The tub was very dirty and I refused to bathe the kids in it. The kitchen is fully equiped, but again everything was very old and dirty, to the point where we went out an bought paper plates and silverwear. It could be a great place with some deep cleaning and updating!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ktesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

We all thought of a single word to describe the accommodations at Wildwoods Inn, and sparse, dated, and dirty were the winners. While it might be adequate for college students or people on a very limited budget, we were upset with the amenities and cleanliness. There were no bedside lamps, only overhead lamps. There was one pot, and three yucky (non-stick, peeling) frying pans. No serving dishes, bakeware, strainers, measuring cups, soup pots, etc. If you want to cook, be prepared to improvise. The decor is mostly from the 80s, such as moldy oak cabinets in the bathroom, and fake marble in the other. Vertical blinds, dirty blue carpet upstairs, thin sheet sets with no blankets -- you get the idea? The sofa and dining table look newer, but don't be fooled by the photos. It has only one shower, and for a "five" bedroom place it isn't adequate.
Pro is location and size for price, but it is in desperate need of a thorough cleaning, painting, and updating.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allforthekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2006

We travelled during Hershey Car Show (Antique Show) and were shocked to get the competitive rates for full house.

Very clean and pleasant setup.

  • Liked — Clean accessible
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
4.1 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#4 of 9 in Grantville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwoods Inn Hershey Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwoods Inn Hershey Road

Property: Wildwoods Inn Hershey Road
Address: 118 S Hershey Rd, (Route 39 East), Grantville, PA 17112-9737
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grantville
Hotel Class:2 star — Wildwoods Inn Hershey Road 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wildwoods Inn Hershey Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing