We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fabios

Fabios
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Grantville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place has great Italian food. Everything from pizza to full Italian dishes to salads and more. I personally have never had their subs or pizza but I can tell you about their pasta dishes. I had their linguini with ham and mushrooms and alfredo sauce. Their salads as crisp and fresh and their garlic bread in a perfect compliment to any pasta dish. The only problem with this restaurant is they won't seat you until your entire party has arrived. We were dining with a party of 8 one evening and six of us were there but the last 2 people with our party had not arrived yet. We waited approximately 10 to 15 minutes until they arrived. We could have been seated and received our drinks and when they got there they could have just joined us. There is not much space to sit and wait so a few of us had to stand outside under a porch area while it was raining. The food is great but it is a very small restaurant with limited seating and they are very busy. Prices are very comparable with other Italian restaurants. My family love's Fabio's and we'll definitely continue to keep them on the top of our list when dining Italian.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    70
    30
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Still giving lots of value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Have reviewed Fabios in the past and want to update - menu is somewhat limited and the owner will not allow for any substitutions (want to swap the pasta for some other side? NO!) That being said, if you are perfectly happy with the menu "as is" or willing to pay an upcharge, the food is cooked very well and the portions are very large. As with most restaurants, you will do best by sticking to the "genre" - this is an Italian restaurant so order Italian food. If you are in the mood for authentic Italian "comfort" food then make sure you eat at Fabios!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EJBaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Takeout This Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I've been a Fabio's fan since I discovered it 10 years ago. This is my second review, we stayed next door in the Mainstay and utilized takeout this time.

Service was fast (20 minutes order to food-in-hand). Service as usual was beyond friendly. I've never known if I spoke to the owner, because everyone in there seems to be trained to make people feel at home. The restaurant was almost full on a Thursday night.

Looking at it strictly from a food perspective this time: taken back to the hotel and eaten in the room, which means the pizza cooled down a bit, it was above average take-out pizza. Also added onion rings and they were good (even a half hour later out of the bag), but the serving size was a bit skimpy for three bucks. At $15 for a large 1 item and an onion ring, this was pretty much what I'd pay for my local, satisfactory pizzeria.

Based on that assessment, if I was at the Mainstay or other motel and didn't feel like sitting in a restaurant, I'd go to Fabios again and again. Very happy with the takeout. But if you're in the area and want to experience Fabios, GO TO THE RESTAURANT, experience the atmosphere, and order more than just pizza. Different experience entirely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 111buckhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overall Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great food, great prices, outstanding service, reasonably priced. Very friendly staff from Fabio & Joe down to all the waitresses and the cooks. Great experience every time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nswalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just a quick take out.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Was staying nearby and noticed they had take out so we ordered 2 Mediterranean Chicken Salads to go.
Went to the restaurant to pick it up and the place was hopping. I was met by Joe the pizza maker(and maybe the Owner) and he was very friendly. Salads were ready when promised and reasonably priced.
Got back to hotel and there was not that much of a salad.
On the smaller side and the chicken was cooked on a flattop grill so it was a little tough.
While the salad was just OK, and the joint was a jumping, since I do not eat and bread or pasta type food, Paleo Diet, I probably will not be going back but it may be worth a try if your diet is less strict.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabios also viewed

 

Been to Fabios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing