We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shakedown BBQ

Shakedown BBQ
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Grantville
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Real. Applewood Smoked. BBQ. Follow the Smoke...
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit won't be our last - food was unbelievably delicious! I ordered the pulled pork sandwich which was on a huge roll & piled up with meat. It was perfectly smoked, tender & juicy. My husband had the brisket which was perfectly cooked. We ordered a small order of French fries (seasoned), which was more than enough for 2 people. We wanted to try the smoky fresh cut corn chowder so we ordered it to go. It was probably the best corn chowder we ever had - full of corn, potatoes, carrots, celery, bacon & sausage. Our only complaint was that we did not appreciate the music which was too loud.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
621 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Well worth getting off the Interstate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

As my wife and I were traveling east, we were looking for a spot for lunch. As we both refuse to dine at fast-food places along the highway, she spotted this on TA and we decided to seek it out. Only about 5 minutes off the interstate, Shakedown is in a small building with abundant parking, with a few indoor and outdoor tables. The weather was nice, so we sat outside.

Since we were just passing through, we ordered the 3-meat/2-sides sampler plate. We opted for brisket, chicken and pulled pork along with the cole slaw and creamed corn. The staff recommended the corn, and they were right. All the meats were delicious, smoky and moist.

If you love BBQ, definitely seek this spot out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Casual and great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Awesome casual place for lunch or dinner. We had great ribs, brisket and pulled pork and very good baked beans. I loved the spicy sauce but one person at our table thought it was too hot. The hot sausage was very hot. We dined outside on picnic table where the people were very friendly. Be sure to BYO if you must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

You always hear, "They have the best barbecue!" but in this case I think they do. The menu is small but they absolutely hit on what they do best. Barbecue!!! I was in a small group so I saw a nice assortment of what they had to offer. Great smoked wings, ribs, and enormous sized sandwiches. Not to forget the over sized natural seasoned french fries. We finished it up with a great piece of peanut butter pie. The atmosphere was also neat as we sat outside on a picnic table listening to the band playing in the back. Just a real neat place. Will be going back hopefully sooner than later. They offer a 10% military discount.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hedge252003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Only BBQ in town deserving of the name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Split a sampler with husband as first time at Shakedown. Hubby gave big thumbs up to baby back ribs; I liked the chicken. Service is excellent; music terrific. A joint, nuthin' but a joint. But whadda joint!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LVinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakedown BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Shakedown BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing