We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a reunion with old friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Grantville B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“great place for a reunion with old friends!”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Got together with some friends for New Years Eve. We came up from Virginia, heard about the bed and breakfast through a friend in the area. There were six of us and we rented out the whole house for the evening. We had a GREAT time! We were served an amazing hot breakfast in the morning. Each room has unique features but all very cozy and everyone of us got a great night's sleep!! I HIGHLY recommend checking this hidden gem out! I know we will definitely be making another trip up soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clm5325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Everything was Perfect!!! from the room to the Kohler computer controled shower to the Breakfast to the Location... just perfect... and Anna, the owner makes sure it is so... we stayed at the Red Umbrella for two nights in late December... loved every minute, very close to Hersery... Shopping, Resturants... and Attractions... we could have not picked a better place to stay... highlight of my trip!!

Thank You Anna!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbarfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We really loved the Red Umbrella. The innkeeper was so friendly I thought I knew her my whole life. Rooms are immaculate! We will definitely be back. So close to Hershey Park we are planning a trip this summer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkm1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This Bed & Breakfast was the BEST! I have never felt more at home before yesterday. The Service was EXCELLENT! The Breakfast WAS AWESOME! I would totally recommend this to anyone and everyone! EVERYTHING WAS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lparmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.John's
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This is a beautiful B&B not far from Hershey and its attractions.The place itself is lovely with a combination of old and new decor.The owner Anna and groundskeeper Ray were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.They were open to suggestions as to what could be improved,since this is a fairly recently opened B&B.The rooms are well designed and are spacious with all the amenities you could want and more.They served a very tasty breakfast both mornings we were there.This is a very comfortable B&B,it felt very much like a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luuvbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed at the Red Umbrella with a group of friends for New Years and couldn't have asked for a better experience. The place was beautiful and the service was top-notch. The innkeepers made sure we were welcome and provided a terrific interaction that could not have been matched anywhere else. I strongly recommend a stay at the Red Umbrella when you're in the area as it offers the convenience of being a short drive from the Hershey attractions and Hollywood Casino and the peacefulness of a small town to get away for a relaxing vacation. I am already planning a trip back for the summer!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twc5160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at the Red Umbrella for New Years and I can honestly say it was a great choice to stay there. The Goss's made us feel at home with their welcoming attitude, exceptional customer service and their fantastic professionalism. They cooked dinner and breakfast for us and it was amazing. My girlfriend really likes to eat healthy and they served freshly cut fruit cups with breakfast. We already booked a room for next year at New Years and we are also planning a trip in the summer so we can enjoy the lounge area outside with the fire pit and play golf the Hershey golf collection. I went to the Red Umbrella a customer of the Goss's and left a friend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#3 of 9 in Grantville
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#4 of 9 in Grantville
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg/Hershey
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 9 in Grantville
346 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast

Property: Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9866 Jonestown Rd, Grantville, PA 17028-8752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast is a renovated 1845 brick Federal-style home offering three comfortable rooms, spacious living room and dining room for visiting plus various serene areas on the grounds, all for you to enjoy. The Red Umbrella is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, family fun or a reunion of friends. We do our best to create sweet memories for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing