We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Grantville B&B and Inns
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Find”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Red Umbrella in January 2012 for an overnight getaway close to home. Anna was friendly, personable, and hospitable and her made-to-order breakfast was fresh and delicious. Our room was immaculately clean, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. The fireplace in the living room was a beautiful and warm welcome on a cold winter night. I had been an assistant innkeeper at a 12-room Select Registry Inn in Central PA for several years and am oftentimes a bit skeptical about staying at another Inn/B&B. The Red Umbrella is definitely a recommendation of mine and I look forward to visiting again in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davenjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
67
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend to visit Hershey, PA. We stayed in the largest room. I highly recommend it. The bathroom was incredible. The shower had a radio, 6 different heads and a steam option and the tub with jets was very soothing. Anna made us feel welcome immediately upon entering and was very flexible with our late check in. The breakfasts were incredible. This was my first time at a bed and breakfast and I was very pleased. Kelci and Vinnie.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Red Umbrella 5/12/12. It was a joy.
Anna the Innkeeper is an excellent host and should be proud of the fine job her family has done in restoring this historic building. Attention has been made to those little details in the Inn that really round out a job well done.
We stayed in the larger bedroom with the very large shower and bubble bath which proved to be very enjoyable. The Inn is very clean and decorated very well. We had a tasty breakfast that was very ample in portions and in selections. Anna is a good cook and tries to use local homemade products. Our banana bread and blueberry lime jam were great.
We were sorry our stay time was a bit rushed due to our personal schedule and wished we could of stayed longer. Great Inn, Great food, Great Inn keeper.
We truly enjoyed meeting Anna and her great Inn.
We will return.
Allen and Marie

Room Tip: All rooms looked great. They just varied as to sizes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My first time at this beautiful B&B...feels just like home. Every detail is covered, the rooms are lovely, clean and well-appointed. The Innkeeper, Anna, made me feel completely welcome and special. I'm a bit of a lodging "snob" and this facility gets my highest recommendation. Don't look any further, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewisburg_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Point , PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the Red Umbrella last year for our 25th anniversary and had such a wonderful time that I felt that I had to surprise my wife with another trip for her birthday. Anna is such a wonderful person and has the best personality to own this bed and breakfast that it is an absolute treat to stay here. She makes you feel so welcome and makes you feel like you are not just a guest but like you are a good friend . We have stayed in the large room both times and have loved it . Definitely worth the extra for the tub and shower. The whole place is so relaxing , from the gas fireplace in the living room which was awesome on a cold snowy February night, to the tub and shower to the fabulous comfy bed. Breakfast and the wonderful conversation was the icing on the (birthday) cake. I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone who needs a very nice place to stay for a getaway or to rent out the whole place for a group or family trip to Hershey Park or Harrisburg or a gambling trip to Hollywood casino ..I wouldn't consider a big chain motel even close to the atmosphere of a b and b for the same if not higher price. This is a great place and will definitely be back . Thanks Anna for another great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffandKim15942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here the week after Valentines day. We ended up with the place to ourselves Friday night, in the large suite. It was wonderful! The bathroom does not disappoint. We hooked our phone up to internet and listened to our Pandora radio stations throught he shower radio all evening. Everything was thought of, and we didn't wish for anything else. We were so relaxed, it was so peaceful and quiet. Anna was a great breakfast cook, the welcome board with our name on it was a special touch, as well as our parting card to thank us for coming. Make sure you play pool down stairs too, I didn't even see that in the ammenities when we booked.

We'll definetely be back, by far the best value of any stay away from home we've ever had.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is our second time staying at this majestic B&B nestled just 10 minutes north of Hershey. Inside the inn it remained first-rate and magnificent, while the outside was landscaped beautifully in the back since the first time we were there. We miss seeing Ray from when we here before, but enjoyed a great evening with Tim and Anna along with their son and daughter who happened to stop by. We had enjoyed getting some good laughs in after hearing some stories both recent and in the past. The large bedroom was quite charming, contrasted to the attached high-tech bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and filling. Keep the Red Umbrella B&B in mind when traveling to or through the Hershey/Harrisburg area as a wonderful alternative to your standard hotel/motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammersspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#4 of 9 in Grantville
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#3 of 9 in Grantville
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 9 in Grantville
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg/Hershey
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast

Property: Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9866 Jonestown Rd, Grantville, PA 17028-8752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast is a renovated 1845 brick Federal-style home offering three comfortable rooms, spacious living room and dining room for visiting plus various serene areas on the grounds, all for you to enjoy. The Red Umbrella is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, family fun or a reunion of friends. We do our best to create sweet memories for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing