We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new hotel great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantville
Blandon PA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“new hotel great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

this is a new hotel. The rooms was clean. Bed was very soft. Sparse on shampoo and lotion. Only 2 bars of soap and 1 bottle shampoo. Would advise to bring your own. If you have no children might want to request a room at the end of the hall to avoid the kids running back and forth to the rec area on the second floor. Continental breakfast was ok. Nothing special. Would stay here again . Great location for Hollywood Casino and Hershey Attractions.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    84
    56
    23
    26
See reviews for
176
33
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

I stayed here with some friends on New Year's Eve 2008 so that we could attend the New Year's Eve Party at the Hollywood Casino. The hotel is nice, the rooms are well-appointed, and it is really quiet. I have a few concerns though:

1. The front-desk staff (especially the young man) really need to learn social structure and drink some caffeine. He was very low key and really didn't care if I was there or not. He is not the best person to have as your first impression when walking into the hotel.

2. The breakfast was a joke. No selection and what was there was very sparse.

All-in-all, the place is new and nice, but could go downhill quickly if they do not train the staff on greetings and hospitality.

  • Liked — nice rooms, quiet location
  • Disliked — check-in/front desk staff, heavy chlorine smell in elevator
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ripcurled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

Just got back from a weekend stay in Hershey and was very pleased with this new facility. Large rooms with kitchenette featuring a full-sized fridge and microwave, 4-burner range and a dishwasher (first time I've seen one of those in a hotel kitchen). I particularly liked the anteroom between bathroom and main room which had plenty of hangers, suitcase storage space, ironing board/iron, and a 4-bin storage cart. Very nice for dressing without disturbing anyone else. We didn't explore the indoor swimming pool or "entertainment room" but noticed several kids who were making use of these places. Breakfast area is spacious with basic, but adequate, offerings. They also have coffee and cocoa available 24 hours. Front desk staff was friendly and check-in/out went smoothly. This hotel is only about 5 miles from HersheyPark and I think it will become popular with families visiting the area.

  • Liked — Large, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Hikers2Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Recently (last night) stayed at Mainstay Suites Grantville while on a business trip to Lancaster. Due to proximity to Hershey Park and Candy Lane, I brought my wife and two sons, ages 11 months and 6 years, and we selected a hotel near the park, as opposed to Lancaster to allow us some family time in the evening.
We were very happy with this hotel. Hotel is very new, very clean, and has a very friendly and helpful staff. Another party with four children arrived, and when they realized that they did not bring enough milk, they inquired at the front desk as to where the nearest supermarket was. The staff promptly provided the woman with a gallon of milk that was to be used as part of the continental breakfast.
Hotel is only 9 minutes to Hershey park, yet far enough away to avoid insane traffic.
Our 6 year old LOVED the pool with two story slide and the miniature golf. We loved the family and business friendly atmosphere. Also, the lobby contained two computers with internet service that were accessiblt to all.
If you are traveling with small children or on business, I recommend this hotel strongly.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BizTrvlrPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

The property was new and very clean, if a bit spartan. Having the suite makes it easier to travel with kids, and the kitchenette would have been nicer for a longer stay. Sadly, there were almost no utensils or plates to use. There was coffee, but no creamer, and only one cup. Breakfast was free, but very poorly handled. Again, cups and utensils missing, the only hot component (sausage) was cold, english muffins and bread provided, but no jelly or jam, one rickety toaster with a group of people hovering around; overall, scant. The pool area was clean, but the bathroom was flooded and dirty.
In short, the property could be much better if the staff and management put out some effort. As it is, its a bit sketchy.

  • Liked — the fact that each room was a suite
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greatgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 9 in Grantville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#3 of 9 in Grantville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg/Hershey
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 105 Kelley Court, Grantville, PA 17028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are brand new, all rooms are SUITES, we offer a large indoor swimming pool with a 2 story water slide, indoor basketball and 9 hole mini golf, free hot breakfast, All rooms have a pull-out-sofa bed, 2 room suites, free wireless and wired internet and all of our rooms have full kitchens. Hershey is only 5 miles, Harrisburg is also only 10 miles, Penn National Casino & Race Track is 1/4 mile and Fort Indian Town Military Gap is only 5 miles. We have a mixture of 2 queen bed suites, king bed suites and 2 room suites. We have a meeting room which we will not charge. Any questions please feel free to contact us Each room bed type can be arranged individually later. We have 385 sq. feet of meeting space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Grantville
Grantville Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing