We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Stay at the Main Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grantville
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. First night, too many children running through the halls. The bed was comfortable and the room was well equipped. They do not change bedding every day, but they do replace the dirty towels. The toiletries are lacking. One bottle of shampoo for 2 days for 2 people. No lotion or conditioner. Come on. Other choice hotels provide that. Also the breakfast is only dough. Bagels and white bread. Sausage and no eggs. No waffles. Breakfast needs a little upgrading. Since this is not a big deal for me, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room upper level and they put me next to the ice machine and elevator. So ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kps2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the MainStay Suites in Grantville/Hershey. We take into account all feedback from our guests to help ensure that we are meeting their needs. We are currently in the process of overhauling our breakfast items and overall presentations so hopefully they will be far above par the next time you are in the area. Again thank you for the comment and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 291 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Driving down to Fl. Stopped in Hershey. Mainstay was more than we expected. Great room. 2 queens. Kitchen with full ref. & 2 burner stove. Comfortable couch. Desk/work area. Very clean & well appointed. Wonderful breakfast. VERY reasonably priced. Have paid much more for a lot less. Fabrio's Italian Restaurant is a 2 minute walk to an outstanding meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Manager at MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill out out a comment with such positive feedback about your recent stay here at the MainStay Suites Grantville/Hershey! We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comment/have shared your words with the entire staff. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Got a reservation here at the last minute after my grandsons clamored to go to Hershey. This was a great location for Hershey...for the kids, with an added bonus of a 24 hour casino 5 minutes away for my husband and son ....after wearing out the kids. The pool with slide, the small arcade golf and basketball, kept the kids busy mornings while the poker players slept a little longer. The free breakfast was satisfying. The rooms were very clean. Restaurant delivered pizza to the room. .. very reasonable. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Manager at MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We here at the MainStay Suites Grantville/Hershey would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out out a comment with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Overall a nice, clean place. We enjoyed the pool and slide. I liked they had over sized rooms with a kitchen. You need to ask for full maid service at check in if you want your bed made daily. Coffee, hot chocolate & Cappuccino was available all the time. The guys at the desk were always nice and accommodating! I didn't mind the tee shirts that other reviewers complained about. They had the company logo on them. The location was not the best. Although it was only 10-15 mins. from Hershey, there was no convenience store around that I saw. We drove about 5-10 mins. to a McDonald's one day. The breakfast is the one big downfall to this hotel! It does advertise "hot breakfast" on it's sign. (Ok, my DD pointed out that they had hot sausage, oatmeal and you can make toast). I personally do not think that is considered a hot breakfast! I have been to hotels, they advertise "Continental Breakfast" and have had much more than this hotel. If they step it up and do a better job with the breakfast, I would stay here again. If not, I can find other places for the same pricing and amenities and more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Manager at MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment on your recent stay at the MainStay Suites Grantville/Hershey. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We continually make changes to our continental breakfast so we hope to have you back in the future for the opportunity to ensure we meet your needs. Again thanks for the comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

When the only thing I can give a decent rating to is the comfort of the king bed were on a loosing streak. What no eggs? Every other hotel we stayed at during our journey thru Pennsylvania at least had pre packaged powdered eggs in the steam table. Here there were none. No pastry what? At 7:30 am I feel I'm not late getting to breakfast so shouldn't there be a muffin somewhere? If you like a good breakfast to start your day don't do it.... Don't stay here. Also did I mention the sleep sofa was the worst piece of garbage to sleep on. So sorry Nana. And why was there no mattress cover on it? I think my daughter is still trying to remove a spring from her back. The hotel has a lot of entertainment features with the basketball court and pool, great for kids. The Italian restaurant across the street best veal I've had in a long time. And so what I have learned from this stay. Bring sleeping bags the floor would have been better than the sleeper sofa. Buy your own food and cook it in the mini kitchen then you would have at least had eggs. And last but not least when your bored like most people are in Hershey take advantage of the amenities, you paid enough for them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueline2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, General Manager at MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online comment regarding your recent stay at MainStay Suites.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the breakfast on your recent visit. We are required to have a continental breakfast by Choice Hotels and we provide much more. For example we carry two hot items (which is not required) that being sausage and oatmeal. In addition, we also carry a variety of yogurt, fruits and muffins (all of which is in addition to the basic continental).

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Grantville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is very nice, and it's close to Hershey Park. There are lots of things for kids to do, such as indoor mini-golf, a basketball court, and a pool. Clearly this hotel is geared to families. We did not have any kids with us, but we still enjoyed our stay here. We originally booked the hotel for one night, but it was such a pleasant stay that we extended it for another night. You should be aware that it is an "extended stay" hotel, so don't expect that same daily maid service you get at other hotels.

Worried about the noise from a family friendly hotel? We found the room to be very quite and peaceful. We had a suite that had a separate bedroom, which likely helped keep the room quite.

The front desk people was great, friendly, and very helpful. I would definitely recommend you consider this hotel - especially if you have children.

Room Tip: The suite facing the parking lot was a good location for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kantw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Manager at MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill out an online comment with such positive feedback about your stay with us! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

After being checked in by unprofessional staff in t-shirts and being a shown a list of things the hotel does not do or provide (e.g., full maid service on weekends), our room was not ready when we checked in well after check-in time. We waited in the lobby and purposely put ourselves in front of the manager's office. When someone came out of the manager office (dressed in a t-shirt and shorts) overheard our conversation, he asked the front desk if the room was ready. We still had to wait and this 'manager' never said a word to us. The room was clean but rules were posted everywhere. This hotel seemed to have a philosophy that the guest was the enemy who could only do wrong. No this, no that, be advised, etc... and if you break these rules we'll evict you. Even the toilet in the room had an awful large sign glued to it warning of what not to flush down. Good grief....had the hotel turned the messaging upside down the entire experience would have been better. For example, instead of saying "If you make noise after 11:00 pm, we'll evict you." they could have said, "For the comfort of our guests, please keep noise to a mininum after 11:00 pm." Pool was clean and the kids enjoyed the slide. Breakfast was lame but enough to get us started.

Major room complaint was the towels. Again, assuming the worst of guests, towels were rationed. They took our 'dirty' towels, but didn't replace them until after 4:00 pm in the afternoon. Apparently, they don't have enough towels to stock the hotel rooms properly without morning laundry. This was done across the board in all rooms, not just ours. They gave only a precise number of towels and threatened to charge if one was missing (another rule!).

Stay if you must, but if rooms are available elsewhere go there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Manager at MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a comment regarding your recent stay at MainStay Suites

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations. We take customer service very seriously as you can read the other positive reviews on this site concerning that area and am sorry you felt otherwise. Being near Hershey Park and the Hollywood Casino we have a variety of different visitors staying with us, to ensure all our guests get a good night sleep we have a Good Neighbor Policy. It reads 'For the comfort and safety of all our guests, our hotel maintains a Good Neighbor Policy. We take pride in the hotel and believe all our guests should enjoy a quiet and relaxing environment. The purpose of this document is to help everyone be Good Neighbor'. It also states guests with legitimate noise complaints after 11PM will be given 2 warning. We apologize if this message got misconstrued.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Grantville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 8 in Grantville
354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg-Hershey
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#4 of 8 in Grantville
642 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North

Address: 105 Kelley Ct, Grantville, PA 17028-8741 (Formerly MainStay Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grantville
Price Range: $62 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are brand new, all rooms are SUITES, we offer a large indoor swimming pool with a 2 story water slide, indoor basketball and 9 hole mini golf, free hot breakfast, All rooms have a pull-out-sofa bed, 2 room suites, free wireless and wired internet and all of our rooms have full kitchens. Hershey is only 5 miles, Harrisburg is also only 10 miles, Penn National Casino & Race Track is 1/4 mile and Fort Indian Town Military Gap is only 5 miles. We have a mixture of 2 queen bed suites, king bed suites and 2 room suites. We have a meeting room which we will not charge. Any questions please feel free to contact us Each room bed type can be arranged individually later. We have 385 sq. feet of meeting space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MainStay Suites Grantville - Hershey North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Grantville
Grantville Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing