We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantville
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here in 2010 and again last week. The Hotel is very nice and clean. I did notice they cut back on the continental breakfast. I guess the economy is effecting everyone. They had coffee/tea bagels, sausage, cereal and fruit. Still overall good, as it was free. I booked 2 rooms. 1 was 2 double beds and the other was a king, 1 bdrm. suite. (This had a separate bdrm with another TV). Great for privacy. Both rooms had a pull out sofa . The mattress on them were pretty bad. Fine for the kids though. The small kitchen was very convenient. Had a good size frig., stove with pots, and a small sink. The TV had a lot of cable channels including 2 HBO's. I was looking forward to renting in room movies, but they do not have them anymore. The restaurant Fabio's next door was good. We did take out and ate on the outside porch of Hotel. The Prk was about 5 miles away. The drive is very easy to get to. Not much in the nearby area. Kinda in the middle of know where. Overall we had a nice 4 day stay. The Hotel front desk staff were very nice and accommodating. The maids were very nice as well.. If you needed anything they were always available. They do not clean the rooms everyday or change sheets. If you request it, its not a problem. Just remember to tip them as they work very hard. I would stay here again. Another satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catrine111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your recent stay at the MainStay Suites Grantville/Hershey. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here Sunday through Friday in June 2013. Though I rated it Average, I would definitely stay here again. Here are things I noticed:

Room:

Pros: Decorated nicely; air conditioner worked fine; kitchen had a full sized fridge, microwave, and dishwasher; 2-burner stove; pillow-top bed was comfortable; pillows were soft faux-feather; decent-sized flat screen TV; full tub/shower with place to put toiletries.

Cons: Kitchen poorly stocked (2 plates, 2 bowls, 2 forks - not enough for a family of 4); dirty, dingy couch with some tears (did not use the sleeper couch; can't comment on comfort); TV remote only worked occasionally, and when it wasn't working, we could only get 5 channels by changing them manually on the TB (a change of batteries did not help; the guy at the front desk said it was probably due to a problem with the receiver, so we had to live with it); no guide channel on TV, so we could not view current and upcoming programs, we just had to flip through with the remote when it was working; bathroom smelled mildewy and the shower curtain really smelled (I requested that it be changed, but it wasn't); grubby corners on the floor of the bathroom; stained toilet bowl; only 1 room for tub, toilet, and sink, making it difficult for 4 of us to get ready; small, square bed pillows; one wand missing from window curtain; light cover missing in the kitchen.

Service:

Pros: Check-in was very quick; nice, friendly, easy-to-understand guys working at front desk (one let me use his computer to check my e-mail); front desk guys always said hello as we walked into the lobby.

Cons: Housekeeping didn't replenish our towels on one day; Housekeeping made the beds in a very strange way - the bottom of the sheet was folded, not tucked into the bed - I had to redo it so we could sleep in it and have our feet covered by the sheet; Housekeeping didn't replenish supplies - we had to ask for dishwasher detergent 3 times, and we ran out of paper towels, tissues, and toilet paper on the last day of our stay.

Amenities:

Pros: Our kids loved the decent-sized pool with the 2-story twisting tube slide; the girls played indoor basketball every day; there was also a small game room and indoor mini-golf, neither of which we used; free popcorn in the lobby.

Cons: Computer center had only one computer, and it was unusable the entire time we were there due to a virus; Fitness room was small and had no wipes to sanitize the equipment; only 3 machines (treadmill, bike, elliptical), and the elliptical was broken.

Breakfast:

Pros: Did not run out of food; had plenty of tables available to sit at; decent variety of hot and cold beverages.

Cons: Sign outside of hotel said "Hot breakfast", but the only hot item was sausage. And of course, your bread or bagel if you put it in the toaster! Very limited food choices: plain bagel, wheat toast, 3 or less varieties of nonfat yogurt, 3 cereal choices, 1 or 2 varieties of small muffins, tasteless apples and/or oranges.

Location:

Pros: The location was perfect for us - right between Hershey and Harrisburg - since we did daytrips to each. Hershey is 17 minutes away; Harrisburg is 20 minutes away. Many good restaurants within 15 minutes or less, with an Italian restaurant next door that delivers to your room. This hotel is right off of Rt 81 - 1 mile away.

Cons: Not right next to a town; surrounded by fields. (Not a con for us, really, but I thought I'd mention it.)

Overall, this hotel has great potential. I would rate it a 4 if only they paid attention to the small details: keep it clean, and keep rooms in good repair. I would definitely stay here again, but I worry that it will continue to go downhill if someone doesn't put more care into it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayneco52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Upkeep is one of our top priorities and we strive to do all we can to keep the hotel above where it needs to be. Again thanks and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while going to Hershey Park. Arrived at noon and was able to check into a room. Front desk person allowed me to use the computer to print out park tickets. Free breakfast was handy (cereal, yogurt, bagels, toast, mini muffins, juice, coffee). Beds and pillows were OK. Couch had a pullout which helped since we are a family of 5.

Didn't use the pool. Fitness center has one treadmill, one bike, one stair machine. Elevator needs new carpeting. Room seemed to be clean. You are on your own to make the beds each day. Maid will only empty trash and bring new towels.

If you have young kids, this is a bit better than average hotel to stay at, especially with the kitchenettes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonDotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel! When we arrived our room wasn't ready, but we were given a default key to open the doors to the pool and game area! Kids swam, played basketball and mini golf! Can't ask for much more! They came and found us when our room was ready and we checked in immediately! Room was nice for 2 adults and 3 big kids!! We used the refrigerator, as we had packed sandwiches and snacks! We were on the 3rd floor and were not disturbed by any noise that other posters had mentioned. Breakfast in the morning was fine with sausage, bagels, cereal etc. and plenty to drink. In fact the nice manager, who greeted us when we arrived, told us the cold milk and hot chocolate machines were on 24 hours!! Speaking of the manager, he was very "down to earth", friendly and approachable. Offered his assistance and informed us as to the location of ammenities inside and outside the hotel! We have been going to Hershey every year for 4 years and stayed at a different hotel every time. Next year, we will be returning to this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jryno28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the MainStay Suites Grantville/Hershey. We sure do appreciate all of the positive feedback and are glad that we could accommodate you. Hope we can meet your future needs whenever you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very family friendly hotel with lots to do right at the hotel: pool with slide, miniature golf and basketball. We had a two room suite which gave us nice separation. I felt like the location was great and close enough to Hershey attractions.

Complaint: too noisy.

Room Tip: I liked the two room suite but you have to ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenm3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at the MainStay Suites Grantville/Hershey. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Checked out this hotel many times on Tripadvisor and noticed that most of the negative reviews were about the pool so we decided to give it a try. It was a little cheaper than hotel right next door and most of the reviews were positive.

Checked in around 7:00pm. little slow upon check in as there was only 1 person on duty and the person in front of us was asking so many questions. Finally got to room.

Room was fairly spacious. We reserved the 1 bedroom suite and the bed was in a separate room, which is usually nice. This one had a door to a balcony right next to the bed and it was a little chilly due to the door.

Room was a little outdated but fairly clean. Bathroom was the same but have been in other local hotels that were much worse.
Noticed all of these rules on the table. Warnings about noise levels and only allowed 1 infraction per visit or else.... Also, breakfast was served from 7:00am - 9:00am, daily??
Excuse me, no later hours on the weekends? You were also not allowed to take food, from the breakfast area up to your room. HMMM. I typically get up before my Wife and bring her some coffee and maybe a yogurt or a muffin but not here? While I understand your reasons for this, I do not agree with them. Because of a few bad apples, you are preventing other guests from partaking in the breakfast. As to how it was, I don't know. Got up at 9:20am and breakfast, as stated was cleared out.

As for the warnings about the noise??? There was so much noise, from people (kids) running up and down the halls on our floor and from floors and rooms above, that I was able to use that as my alarm clock. We were out late the night before (2:00am) and figured we had until noon to check out so why not sleep in?? Because of all of the noise, that's why...

May just pay the extra few bucks next time for the hotel up the street but still not sure.

Room Tip: Stay on the roof so nobody is above you running around and waking you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to a comment regarding your recent stay at MainStay Suites. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the breakfast time and noise on your recent visit. We do have a noise policy that we strictly follow, I have shared your feedback with staff to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future. Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Grantville/Hershey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was close to Hollywood Casino & it was (2 miles away, but other than that, very ordinary. Room was nice, with microwave/fridge but had a funny smell. The toilet "howled" when flushed which was ok except at night. However, except for the casino, there is absolutely nothing to do in the area except go back into Hershey & we weren't interested. Unless you go several miles back out on the highway, there was only two places to eat, both Italian (ok, but not for several meals). No fast food etc at all. Just breakfast at the hotel (average, but served the purpose - free). Staff was friendly - saw the manager when we were leaving & he asked how much we paid online. When I told him, he remarked that he could have given us a better deal. Kind of made me feel crappy. There was a children's area & pool but obviously for little kids.

Room Tip: If you want to use the kitchen, bring your own pots/pans
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingrandma64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at the MainStay Suites Grantville/Hershey. While be located so close to Hershey/the park & attractions, many of our guests do stay here for that specific reason. In addition, the nearby casino also brings us some travelers who are looking for a close place to spend the night. If you do venture back to this area we hope to meet your lodging needs again. Again thanks for the comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 9 in Grantville
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#4 of 9 in Grantville
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg/Hershey
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 105 Kelley Ct, Grantville, PA 17028-8741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantville
Price Range: $61 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are brand new, all rooms are SUITES, we offer a large indoor swimming pool with a 2 story water slide, indoor basketball and 9 hole mini golf, free hot breakfast, All rooms have a pull-out-sofa bed, 2 room suites, free wireless and wired internet and all of our rooms have full kitchens. Hershey is only 5 miles, Harrisburg is also only 10 miles, Penn National Casino & Race Track is 1/4 mile and Fort Indian Town Military Gap is only 5 miles. We have a mixture of 2 queen bed suites, king bed suites and 2 room suites. We have a meeting room which we will not charge. Any questions please feel free to contact us Each room bed type can be arranged individually later. We have 385 sq. feet of meeting space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Grantville
Grantville Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing