We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bargain for the price”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantville
Sandy, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great bargain for the price”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A great deal in Grantville PA, near Hershey Park, the Hollywood Casino, and the Amish country. The suites are spacious, clean, just when we need when we visit family in the area. Perfect for families headed for Hershey Park and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPA547, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks so much for the positive review on your stay at the MainStay Suites Grantville/Hershey. We appreciate the comment and are grateful for your business. Thanks again and we look forward to having you return to stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    91
    57
    23
    26
See reviews for
184
35
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I always stay here when I am in the Hershey area. This new hotel is priced right, especially with AAA. It is clean with 24/7 coffee and tea. The staff is always helpful. The rooms are big with a fridge and microwave. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good: Perfect location for Hershey attractions, outlets, and Troegs Brewery (all about 5 miles away). Hotel is just off highway, easy to find. Friendly staff, smooth check-in. Nice main lobby, clean and tidy. Gym has 4 or 5 machines, small but at least there is something. Pool is small, has a slide, but is really just for kids to play in. King size bed in suite, very comfortable (we were surprised just how comfy). Suite has kitchenette, large bathroom with separate dressing area, iron/ironing board, TVs, pull-out sleeper, small 4 person dining table and chairs. Kitchenette has microwave, dishwasher, large fridge, toaster, cutlery.
Bad: Kitchenette was only stocked for 2 people (2 sets of cutlery, 1 pot), one sachet of dishwasher powder, no kitchen towels, tiny 2 burner electric stove, very small sink. TVs are 27" with no HD. Breakfast downstairs in dining area is not healthy or nutritious at all. Guests like to go to breakfast wearing their nightclothes and slippers. We found that strange.
We stayed here because of the location to Hershey - perfect choice for a 2 night stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus-Maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Scheduled as a last minute Christmas trip, we booked it because of the pool, and entertainment area.for the children. Pool was freezing cold and couldn't be used, work out equipment was broken and the room heater was not working correctly. The room had a tempature of high 80's but thermostat had 60 on it. Needless to say the little ones were very unhappy! Fellow traveler complained about a very cold room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The value for your money isn't bad. We stayed in a suite that slept 6. Both beds were comfortable, however, the pull out sofa-bed was horrible. The "so called" mattress provided on that was awful. You could feel springs all over, the bed didn't open up flat so there was a tilt on the bed the entire night. I honestly felt horrible asking my 20 and 23 year old to even sleep on it. I would never again book a room where the sofa-bed was one of the sleeping options. However, the room itself was clean and the pool, game room, and mini golf were all decent. Breakfast the next morning was enough to get you going. Some hot and some cold options. The hotel is about 6 miles from Hershey Park and not really near anything else other than a little Italian restaurant right across the parking lot which was good and it was a byob which we liked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanetta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

rooms were clean and everyone who worked there were very nice and pleasent. every room is a suite with a small kitchenette. the indoor pool was nice and it has a 20' slide. there is also a small indoor mini-golf which keeps the kids busy. when we go back to hershey park we will definitly stay here again since its only a 5 minute drive and half the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelc341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My sister and I stayed for two nights and found the hotel and the staff to be great. We enjoyed the size of the room and how comfortable the beds were. Also enjoyed the pool after shopping at the outlets all day! We found the room to be clean and looking forward to our return next year!
Kathy Manassas Va.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 9 in Grantville
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#3 of 9 in Grantville
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg/Hershey
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 105 Kelley Ct, Grantville, PA 17028-8741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are brand new, all rooms are SUITES, we offer a large indoor swimming pool with a 2 story water slide, indoor basketball and 9 hole mini golf, free hot breakfast, All rooms have a pull-out-sofa bed, 2 room suites, free wireless and wired internet and all of our rooms have full kitchens. Hershey is only 5 miles, Harrisburg is also only 10 miles, Penn National Casino & Race Track is 1/4 mile and Fort Indian Town Military Gap is only 5 miles. We have a mixture of 2 queen bed suites, king bed suites and 2 room suites. We have a meeting room which we will not charge. Any questions please feel free to contact us Each room bed type can be arranged individually later. We have 385 sq. feet of meeting space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Grantville
Grantville Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing