We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first B & B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
After Eight Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Gordonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great first B & B experience”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

. This was the first B & B my wife and I had ever stayed at. Our stay at After Eight was a great first experience. Our room was very nice and the breakfasts were great. The flowers were blooming and we had a great evening playing Yahtzee in the gazebo with friends. Robert had some very funny stories and was a great host. If we make it back to PA Dutch Country, we will book again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    24
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
202
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband found this place on the internet. He wanted us to stop in the Amish country on our way home from Carrboro, NC to Rome, PA. It is a gorgeous place--a real treat for the eyes. Guy used the Jacuzzi, which may have helped with his cold. There was only one other guest at the time whom we didn't meet until our delicious breakfast. She was equally impressed, having come from her home near the Equator to attend her son' s graduation from Syracuse. The only drawback is the location--right on the heavily travelled Lincoln Highway. Despite that, we got a good night's rest.

Room Tip: Not having to climb stairs is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiAbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Beautiful facility. My sisters and I were in the cottage and it was more than adequate, but I would definitely stay in the house next time. The rooms are beautifully appointed and just invite you to stay in them.

Breakfast was good--we definitely did not go away hungry. You can always get a cup of coffee, tea, or hot chocolate. Water, soda, snacks available at all times. (Fresh baked cookies!!!!) Robert is very knowledgeable about the area and goes out of his way to make sure you are armed with maps and brochures.

This B&B is a great place to call home base while exploring beautiful Lancaster, PA.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RannJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardyville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We started staying at After eight. Bed and breakfast in 2010. We love going to Lancaster pa. And would not consider staying anywhere else. The service is perfect as are the breakfast, Robert is a great host helping in any way he can. My son has celiac disease and Robert has never insinuated that it is a problem fixing him special meals.Thanks Robert for another great stay.

Room Tip: For couples the porch room. For family cottage east
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I find that staying at B&B's is more comfortable and welcoming than any hotel. This was a great choice, even if we only stayed one night. Robert, the host, was awesome and boy can he whip up a wonderful breakfast - Breakfast pizza, fresh baked scones, with homemade whipped cream and fresh fruit! Our room was a nice size and nicely appointed. Robert was very informed about all the places to eat and where to park while attending the American Music Theatre. Thanks to his bit of information we were out of the theatre and back to the B&B in minutes, relaxing and enjoying a beer while working on the jigsaw puzzle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I consider ourselves B&B enthusiasts. We have been to over 15 different bed and breakfasts - many we have stayed at multiple times. For our 10th anniversary (as a couple), we decided to spend the weekend near Lancaster, PA. After doing research, I decided that After Eight B&B would be a good fit for us. Overall, I would highly recommend staying at After Eight B&B.

Favorable Points:
+ Clean, comfortable accommodations
+ Quality body wash, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, make-up remover, mouthwash, feminine product disposal bags, and shower cap provided
+Free, reliable Wi-fi with public computer available
+ A very delicious, homemade breakfast
+ Helpful, kind, entertaining host who can easily help with suggestions and town information
+ Free snacks and drinks available along with cups, glasses, and popcorn bowls to use.
+ A public, mini fridge to store food in (equipped with labeling material)
+ A good selection of board games, puzzles, and DVDs
+ Outdoor sitting area the backs to a farm
+ In a location close to many attractions in the area
+Easy access, available parking
+Many rooms with private entrances
+In-suite phone with numbers to access the innkeeper
+Deluxe Suite - In bathroom blow-dryer, large tub, and separate shower
+Deluxe Suite - two TVs (sitting area and in bedroom)
+Deluxe Suite - separate sitting area and dresser/desk to set up a laptop
+Deluxe Suite - dark curtains to block sun (if needed) and backs to the farm
+Deluxe Suite - a small closet and drawer space provided

Unfavorable:
- The B&B is off a highway that can be somewhat loud and difficult to turn left onto
- The alarm clock already present in our room was previously set woke us up too early (I would encourage you and the innkeeper to check it to see if it needs to be disabled).
- Deluxe Suite - Both TVs are small. Only the one in the sitting area has cable. The one in the bedroom is above the closet to the side of the bed.
- Deluxe Suite - While it is considered a "two-person tub", two normal-sized people cannot comfortably sit in it at the same time due to the design of the tub. A large portion inside of the tub is elevated above water level.
Personal Preferences
- Deluxe Suite - There was a lack of counter space in the bathroom for "primping materials" (makeup, straightener, etc.) BUT there was space on top of a mirrored dresser close the bathroom
-No full length mirror
-Bathroom was nice but outdated (I knew this, however, looking at the pictures)
-Room doors lock automatically so you risk locking yourself out if you forget your keys. This can be a positive or negative thing based on what you prefer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INFPerseverance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was our first time staying at After Eight Bed and Breakfast for the weekend. The house is very warm and cozy, Robert the host and innkeeper was very helpful and always on call. For a quick getaway After Eight is the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeEric2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonville
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Revere Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,919 reviews
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
470 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
8.9 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to After Eight Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Eight Bed & Breakfast

Property: After Eight Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2942 Lincoln Hwy E, Gordonville, PA 17529-9525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Gordonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — After Eight Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, elegant and tastefully decorated, circa 1809 colonial brick home, excellently located in Lancaster County Pennsylvania Amish farm region, minutes away from many Amish attractions and other points of interest. Rooms are filled with antiques and have private baths. Enjoy our gardens, fountains and gazebo all year long. Two cottages with two bedrooms and a kitchen are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your After Eight Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing