We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"After Eight Bed and Breakfast" with Robert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
After Eight Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Gordonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“"After Eight Bed and Breakfast" with Robert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were a family group of ten, celebrating a 65th wedding anniversary. We were: the happy couple,their three offspring and their spouses and my husband and me. We occupied five of the rooms, one more beautiful than the other. Robert was a most gracious host who prepared delicious breakfasts beautifully presented. He was very helpful in recommending things to do in the area. Each of the rooms had a private bath which was spotlessly clean. This bed and breakfast is conveniently located close to everything. We had never been in such a beautifully decorated place. We loved everything about it and would certainly go there again. Rose E

Room Tip: We were in room number eight which was called the Sunrise Bay Window room. We woke up to beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    22
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
199
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sagamore Hills, OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Recommend 100%. Went there for my in-law's 65th wedding anniversary with my husband's 2 sisters, their spouses and his aunt and uncle. We spent 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend. The accommodations were very tasteful and spotlessly clean. I felt like I was part of the community staying there. The rooms were each different, all with their own bathroom. There is a common area, living room with an adjacent parlor that were great for gathering with our group of 10. There is also a very large eat in area for breakfast next to the kitchen. The food was delicious and we all enjoyed it. Beverages were always available-hot and cold. The best part about staying there was the host, Robert. He was courteous and knowledgeble of the area. He made some wonderful recommendations of what to see in the area, and we all enjoyed it. Best of all, we felt at home there. Robert felt like part of the family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

After Eight was a beautiful B&B. Very nice house and loved the dining area and parlor and grounds. The flowers were beautiful and enjoyed the Amish farm lands behind the B&B. Enjoyed the puzzle in the parlor and we were given coupons to use for dinner and tips from Robert as to where to dine.

Room Tip: The cottage is quint and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

On May 10, 2013, my father in law passed away after a month long illness. My fiancé and I had planned a weekend away at After Eight on May 17th. However due to the circumstances, neither of us felt we could enjoy a weekend away at that time. We were too busy making funeral arrangements and dealing with the emotions of losing a beloved father. I contacted After Eight through Expedia (I had booked our room through Expedia). Expedia contacted the owner Robert to explain the situation. Robert unfortunately refused to refund our money or allow us to choose another date. If we did not use it that weekend, we would lose our money. We were not able, in our state of mind to pick another date. In an effort to not completely loose all of our money, I sent my daughter instead. It is incomprehensible to me that any hospitality business owner would be so uncaring and unwilling to work with a customer to make the best of a very emotionally stressful time. I, for one, will never do business with this company.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank suesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
After8bnb, Owner at After Eight Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am very sorry about the loss of your father-in-law. However, when you made the reservation through Expedia you are bound by the terms that you agreed upon when making the reservation. When Expedia called about your emergency, they verified that you had agreed to the cancellation policy at the time of your reservation. As a courtesy, I told the Expedia representative that I would reopen the room (it was only five days till the arrival date) and hope that the room would be taken by another guest, and we would then refund the reservation amount, less a cancellation fee. Expedia never called back and I was obligated to keep the room blocked from others making a reservation. Your daughter Stephanie called on Thursday to say that she would be coming in your place. Again, I am sorry for your loss and the miscommunication but as a small business our income relies on reservations being honored by guests. When a room has been blocked out for weeks no other guests can reserve that room and we are not able overbook, since we have committed to having that room available to that guest. This is probably a good reason to consider purchasing traveler’s insurance for unexpected situations as you experienced. I am sorry that your daughter missed the funeral of her grandfather but she and her boyfriend seemed to have a good time and were very friendly and left a nice note in our guest book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the After Eight B & B. Our room was charming and very comfortable. The innkeeper is friendly and makes everyone feel welcomed. Breakfast was excellent. Lots to do in the Lancaster area. The gardens on the property are lovely also. We are already looking to plan another visit to this Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first experience at a B&B and we absolutely loved it. Everything was pristine - room was great - food was tasty. Robert did a great job ensuring our stay was a memorable one. We will definitely be back and hope to bring friends this time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody5756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and i enjoyed staying at the "After eight" very much, i must say we wore the only ones there at the time and maybe that had a lot to do with our pleasant stay. Robert is a terrific host, very attentive to our needs. The pros, the rooms are excellent, overall cleanness and comfort, nice porch in the back with nice view, beautiful grounds. We felt at home. The cons, on a busy road, traffic noise. If you get there a little earlier then 3 pm don't expect to get in, there's a note above the door bell to confirm that. When we came back, after ringing the door bell, we waited for a while before the host came to meet us, maybe because it was slow at the time. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonville
2.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revere Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
8.9 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
10.2 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to After Eight Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Eight Bed & Breakfast

Property: After Eight Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2942 Lincoln Hwy E, Gordonville, PA 17529-9525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Gordonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — After Eight Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, elegant and tastefully decorated, circa 1809 colonial brick home, excellently located in Lancaster County Pennsylvania Amish farm region, minutes away from many Amish attractions and other points of interest. Rooms are filled with antiques and have private baths. Enjoy our gardens, fountains and gazebo all year long. Two cottages with two bedrooms and a kitchen are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your After Eight Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing