We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
After Eight Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Gordonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Really enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Great service great food and very clean. Balcony room was great. Great view of farm behind hotel. Breakfast was delicious. When we were there it consisted of a Dutch pancake and fruit and another morning a breakfast pizza, scone, and fruit. I really likes that we didn't have a share a table with others. The house is gorgeous and the grounds are magnificent.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We've been coming here for years and you won't be disappointed. The rooms are great and Robert is the consumate host. Don't go anywhere else. Robert is a great cook and is knowlegeable about the area as well as providing maps and brochures. Some rooms are connecting which is great for families and the two efficiency apartments have been very useful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were Just staying one night with my parents. We went to see a show at sight & sound and the next day we were going to do a few things then head home. We arrived around 4 pm and Robert checked us in, gave us a quick tour and then gave us a wonderful map that he highlighted some things to do/see/eat. He asked if we had an agenda and I told him my ideas and he went off of that with some great suggestions and tips. After that he showed us the rooms and we relaxed for awhile. After dinner we came
Back and he was on the back porch and we chatted for a few minutes. He had a good sense of humor & has many good/funny stories. We went in and we had to finish the puzzle in the common room( my mom loves puzzles) Robert told us if we finished the puzzle he would flip it and we could sign the back of it- my mom & I and another female guest finished it by 11pm and then we went to bed. The beds & bedding were very comfortable and the bathroom towels were so soft. The places was VERY clean as well. The breakfast in the morning was delicious! A cheddar & sausage breakfast pizza and a cranberry & walnut scone with fresh whipped cream on top and the best cantaloupe I think I have ever had with a cluster of grapes. Juice/coffee / tea. Very good- and just the right amount of food- then he went into his morning jokes/stories- hillarious and of course he did talk about his cookbook - which actually is not a bad price- only $10 and it does have a lot of good recipes in it- including the scones! YUM!
My husband and I wished we could have stayed a few more nights! We will definitely be back! There is so much to do in Lancaster! My in-laws have been going there for 30 years and they just started staying at after eight and Robert has told them about places they have never heard of! He has a lot of knowledge about the area and seems to really enjoy what he does! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was by far the best B&B we have visited. My family of 4, including 2 little kids (3 and 2) stayed in one of the cabins. Robert brought our breakfast out to the cabin, which was a blessing so we wouldn't disturb the guests on a romantic getaway in the main house. The 2 room cabin with a kitchen, was a welcome escape from a hotel stay. We are anxious to go back and highly recommend this B&B for families (staying in one of the 2 cabins), or as a romantic escape in the main house. Many thanks to Robert for the wonderful hospitality and service! Breakfast was amazing! :-)

Room Tip: The 2 cabins are wonderful for families, especially with little kids. It is separate from the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

If your in Lancaster, you owe it to yourself to stay here. Robert is a great host, very entertaining not to mention what a great cook he is. The rooms very charming and comfortable and the rest of the Inn is simply beautiful. Thank you Robert for making our stay very memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our first B&B experience, and I must say that our stay was absolutely delightful. The house is immaculate and the rooms are very comfortable and nicely furnished. There is a nice balance of old-world charm and modern conveniences. Breakfast was prepared with lots of TLC was delicious. I’ve done a fair amount of traveling and this B&B was better than any hotel that I’ve ever stayed in. The games and puzzles in the common area made for great family time.
Our host, Robert Hall, is friendly and has a nice sense of humor, which adds to the homey atmosphere. This is a place where you can really relax and enjoy yourself. If you’ve never experience a B&B, start here – you’ll have a great experience. I highly recommend it and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a nice sitting area and a very large bathroom. It also faces the front, so you'll ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a very comfortable, restful stay at After Eight and would have loved to stay longer. Robert made us feel at home and is a great host! His cooking skills are wonderful, As are his entertaining stories! Many thanks Robert!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GA Buttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonville
2.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,973 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Osceola Mill House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Gordonville
Motel 6 Gordonville
#1 of 1 in Gordonville
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to After Eight Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Eight Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2942 Lincoln Hwy E, Gordonville, PA 17529-9525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Gordonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonville
Price Range: $129 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — After Eight Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, elegant and tastefully decorated, circa 1809 colonial brick home, excellently located in Lancaster County Pennsylvania Amish farm region, minutes away from many Amish attractions and other points of interest. Rooms are filled with antiques and have private baths. Enjoy our gardens, fountains and gazebo all year long. Two cottages with two bedrooms and a kitchen are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your After Eight Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing